Timo Seidl

Timo Seidl is a PhD researcher at the Department of Political and Social Science at the European University Institute in Florence, Italy, and a visiting researcher at the HIIG’s research programme: The evolving digital society: concepts, discourses, materialities.

Timo’s work focuses on the politics and political economy of digitalization; he is interested in why different countries react differently to the challenges posed by digitalization – such as the regulation of platform companies, the protection of personal data, or the changing nature of work. Methodologically, he uses a variety of both quantitative and qualitative methods, but is particularly interested in using novel text-as-data methods to understand how narratives, frames, and discourses affect the political responses to digitalization.

At the HIIG, he will work on several papers that investigate how such ideational elements shape the course and character of digitalization. You can find out more about his work at https://timoseidl.com/ or by writing him an email at timo.seidl@eui.eu

Foto_Seidl

Position

Fellow: Evolving digital society

Timo Seidl

Timo Seidl ist promovierter Wissenschaftler am Institut für Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften des Europäischen Hochschulinstituts in Florenz, Italien, und Gastforscher im Forschungsprogramm des HIIG: Die Entwicklung der digitalen Gesellschaft: Konzepte, Diskurse, Materialitäten.

Timos Arbeit konzentriert sich auf die Politik und die politische Ökonomie der Digitalisierung; er interessiert sich dafür, warum verschiedene Länder unterschiedlich auf die Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung reagieren – wie z.B. die Regulierung von Plattformfirmen, den Schutz persönlicher Daten oder die sich verändernde Natur der Arbeit. Methodisch bedient er sich einer Vielzahl von sowohl quantitativen als auch qualitativen Methoden, ist aber besonders daran interessiert, mit neuartigen Text-als-Daten-Methoden zu verstehen, wie Erzählungen, Rahmen und Diskurse die politischen Reaktionen auf die Digitalisierung beeinflussen.

Am HIIG wird er an mehreren Studien arbeiten, die untersuchen, wie solche ideellen Elemente den Verlauf und Charakter der Digitalisierung prägen. Mehr über seine Arbeit können Sie unter https://timoseidl.com/ oder per E-Mail an timo.seidl@eui.eu erfahren.

Foto_Seidl

Position

Gastforscher: Entwicklung der digitalen Gesellschaft