Nicolas Friederici, Dr.

Nicolas Friederici holds a dual appointment as Research Group Lead Innovation & Entrepreneurship at the Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG) and as Postdoctoral Researcher at the Oxford Internet Institute. Nicolas is interested in how economic development happens in the digital age, and how the opportunities of digital technologies unfold unevenly in different places and for different actors.

At HIIG, Nicolas coordinates our projects related to digital innovation and entrepreneurship. This includes work on digital business models, the digitization of small and medium-sized enterprises (Mittelstand), open and user-centric innovation, and startup collaborations. Nicolas’ own research consists of three streams: digital enterprise strategy, innovation intermediaries, and entrepreneurial ecosystems. He mostly focuses on Africa and Europe as empirical contexts.

Nicolas did his PhD at the Oxford Internet Institute, where he has studied digital entrepreneurship and innovation hubs in Africa. He was a visitor at SCANCOR in Stanford, a Clarendon Scholar, and grantee of the Skoll Centre for Social Entrepreneurship. Earlier, Nicolas was consultant for the Mobile Innovation for Development program at infoDev (World Bank). He was a Fulbright scholar at Michigan State University, where he did his MA in Telecommunications, Information Studies and Media. Nicolas also holds a Diplom in Media Management from the University of Cologne. Nicolas continues to be active as a consultant: for instance, he recently helped the World Bank assess the digital entrepreneurship ecosystems in Bangladesh and the Caribbean.

staff dummy

Position

Head of Research Group: Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Relevant Publications
Conference contributions and other activities
Relevant Publications

Conference contributions and other activities

Nicolas Friederici, Dr.

Nicolas Friederici ist Forschungsgruppenleiter am Humboldt Institute für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG) und Postdoctoral Researcher am Oxford Internet Institute. Nicolas erforscht, wie wirtschaftliche Entwicklung im digitalen Zeitalter passiert und wie sich die ökonomischen Chancen digitaler Technologie unterschiedlich auf bestimmte Standorte und Akteure verteilen.

Beim HIIG koordiniert Nicolas alle Projekte mit Bezug auf digitale Innovation und digitales Unternehmertum. Zu den Themen bestehender Projekte gehören digitale Geschäftsmodelle, die Digitalisierung des Mittelstands, offene und nutzerzentrierte Innovation sowie Startup-Kollaborationen. Nicolas‘ eigene Forschung besteht aus drei Teilen: Strategien digitaler Unternehmen, Innovationsintermediäre und unternehmerische Ökosysteme. Afrika und Europa sind empirische Schwerpunkte.

Nicolas hat seine Doktorat am Oxford Internet Institute abgeschlossen, wo er digitales Unternehmertum und Innovation Hubs in Afrika erforschte. Als Doktorand wurde er vom Clarendon Fund und dem Skoll Centre for Social Entrepreneurship in Oxford gefördert und war außerdem Visiting Scholar bei der SCANCOR-Gruppe in Stanford. Davor war Nicolas Berater beim Programm Mobile Innovation for Development bei infoDev, einer Weltbank-Einheit. Nicolas absolvierte sein Diplom in Medienwissenschaften/Medienmanagement an der Universität zu Köln und machte dann seinen Master in Telecommunications, Information Studies and Media als Fulbright Scholar an der Michigan State University. Er ist weiterhin als unabhängiger Berater tätig: zuletzt arbeitete er für die Weltbank und erstellte Analysen der digitalen Ökosysteme von Bangladesch und der Karibik.

staff dummy

Position

Forschungsgruppenleiter: Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Relevante Publikationen
Konferenzbeiträge und andere Aktivitäten
Relevante Publikationen

Konferenzbeiträge und andere Aktivitäten