Natalie Pompe

Natalie Pompe is a PhD Candidate at the University of Zurich. In July 2018 she joined HIIG as a Fellow in the research field ‘Data, actors, infrastructures: The Governance of data-driven innovation and cyber security.’

Her PhD thesis investigates the concept of algorithmic information distribution and its effect on democratic will-building processes. She answers the question whether the current algorithmic information distribution in the digital public sphere is still in accordance with the constitutional framework of the Swiss Democracy.

She has a strong interest in new technologies shaping our society and the protection of human agency as it is a driver for innovation and societal progress. Information asymmetries, invisible profiling, filter bubbles and for instance recent development in ambient intelligence are being considered a threat to individual autonomy. The protection of individual self-determination is crucial for the collective development and democratic debates, as most societal progress derives from the private sphere. As legal instruments that protect individual agency such as informational self-determination, autonomy over information selection and the right to be forgotten find limited protection in the digital era, also the collective autonomy is affected. Her thesis aims at analysing how the requirements for a sustainable democratic debate can be fostered in the digital sphere. She has purposely grounded her thesis in a democracy where citizen have a historically a higher political responsibility and thus the role of a citizen in contrast to the role as a consumer has a long-standing tradition.

She is particularly interested in questions related to Global Governance and the obstacles within democratic debates on questions that affect the global as a whole. As her next research project she would like to analyse what we can learn from the direct-democratic system of Switzerland for a best practice of Global Governance aligning with fundamental values such as agency, inclusion and equality.

Natalie Pompe holds two Master’s degrees in law, one from the University of Zurich and one from King’s College London. Last year she has worked on research projects at the Berkman Klein Center at Harvard Law School within the field of artificial intelligence and automated processes in judiciary, global governance questions in the regulation of AI and the evolving role of law in the digital era. Her fellowship at the HIIG is funded by the Swiss National Fund Doc.Mobility.

Natalie Pompe

Position

Fellow: Data, actors, infrastructures

Contact

Natalie Pompe

natalie.pompe@rwi.uzh.ch

Relevant Publications
Conference contributions and other activities
Relevant Publications

Conference contributions and other activities

Natalie Pompe

Natalie Pompe ist eine Doktorandin an der Universität Zürich. Sie ist seit Juli 2018 Fellow am HIIG im Forschungsbereich ‘Daten, Akteure, Infrastrukturen: Governance datengetriebener Innovation und Cybersicherheit’.

Ihre Doktorarbeit untersucht die Auswirkungen algorithmischer Informationsverteilung auf die demokratische Willensbildung. Sie beantwortet insbesondere die Frage, ob die derzeitige Informationsverteilung in der digitalen Öffentlichkeit noch mit dem grundrechtlichen Rahmen der Schweizerischen Demokratie vereinbar ist.

Natalie hat ein starkes Interesse für neue Technologien und wie sie das individuelle Bewusstsein und die gesellschaftliche Dynamiken beeinflussen. Informationsasymmetrien, intransparentes Profiling oder auch neueste Entwicklungen im Bereich Ambient Intelligence stellen eine Gefahr für die individuelle Selbstbestimmung dar. Der Schutz individueller Autonomie ist essentiell für das Funktionieren der Demokratie und die kollektive Weiterentwicklung der Gesellschaft. Natalie’s Doktorarbeit untersucht wie die Voraussetzungen für eine Demokratie mit direktdemokratischen Instrumenten auch in der digitalen Öffentlichkeit genug geschützt sein können. Sie hat dabei bewusst die Schweizerische Demokratie als Untersuchungsgegenstand gewählt, da die Schweiz eine langjährige Tradition eines Bürgers mit einer erhöhten politischen Verantwortung im Vergleich zur Rolle als Privatperson und Konsument innehält.

Natalie interessiert sich insbesondere für den Bereich ‘Global Governance’ interessiert sowie den Hindernissen der Global Governance welche meist im Zusammenhang mit  der Fragmentierung von rechtlichen und sozialen Normen stehen. Als ihr nächstes Forschungsprojekt plant sie zu untersuchen, wie das Wissen und die Strukturen der direktdemokratischen Schweiz der Entwicklung einer ‘best practice’ der Global Governance dienen könnte.

Natalie Pompe hat zwei Masterabschlüsse in Rechtswissenschaften abgeschlossen, eines der Universität Zürich sowie ein Abschluss vom King’s College London. Letztes Jahr hat sie an Forschungsprojekten am Berkman Klein Center (Harvard Law School) gearbeitet, welche rechtliche Fragen der Entwicklung der künstlichen Intelligenz, der veränderten Rolle des Rechts durch die digitale Revolution sowie die Anwendung automatisierter Prozesse innerhalb des Justizwesens untersuchten. Natalie’s Fellowship ist durch den Schweizerischen Nationalfond Doc.Mobility finanziert.

Natalie Pompe

Position

Natalie Pompe, Fellow: Daten, Akteure, Infrastrukturen

Kontakt

Natalie Pompe

natalie.pompe@rwi.uzh.ch

Relevante Publikationen
Konferenzbeiträge und andere Aktivitäten
Relevante Publikationen

Konferenzbeiträge und andere Aktivitäten