Leonardo Martins, Prof. Dr.

Leonardo Martins, Professor of Constitutional Law and Fundamental Rights at the Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Norte – UFRN (Brazil) will come to the HIIG owing to an Alumni scholarship granted by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. His focus of research is on the analysis of data protection instruments, specifically with regard to their  constitutional compatibility at national level. At the HIIG, Professor Martins will take part in the research programme Data, Players, Infrastructures: Governance of Data-Driven Innovation and Cyber Security.

Martins (born in 1971) studied Law at the Universidade de São Paulo (USP). Following his Master degree (LL.M.) at Humboldt University (HUB), he did his doctorate also at HUB. In addition to his work as a university lecturer (2001-2005) and, thereafter, as a professor (from 2005) in Brazil, he stayed connected to Germany by a large number of research visits and teaching activities (Hans Bredow Institute, Erich Pommer Institute, HUB). Since 2005, Martins has been a  university professor, initially at the Universidade Federal do Mato Grosso do Sul (UFMS), and from 2008 at the UFRN. His publications include several monographs and a large number of jurisprudential articles. In 2008, his textbook “General Fundamental Rights Theory“, published together with Dimitri Dimoulis, received the highest Brazilian award for legal works (50th edition of the “Jabuti“ literature prize).

Martins’ research focus is on the role of national state authorities, legislation and case law in the IT era. Here, interests protected by fundamental rights, such as the media users’ rights to data protection and data security, collide with globally operating media enterprises. On the one hand, the challenges to legal policy for a harmonisation of the relevant fundamental rights positions are particularly great here, however, legal policy remains basically open to possible adjustments in the light of public opinion; on the other hand, a consolidation of false constitutional case-law would not result in such open-mindedness.

As late as on 14 August 2018, the Brazilian federal data protection act was promulgated,  becoming effective as from February 2020. In view of a networked world and the triumphant advance of artificial intelligence, Martins examines how a legal comparison can be handled on a methodical basis.

Leonardo Martins

Position

Fellow at Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung

Relevant Publications
Conference contributions and other activities
Relevant Publications

Conference contributions and other activities

Leonardo Martins, Prof. Dr.

Leonardo Martins, Professor für Verfassungsrecht und Grundrechte an der Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Norte – UFRN (Brasilien) kommt dank eines Alumni-Stipendiums der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung an das HIIG. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt wird dabei die Untersuchung datenschutzrechtlicher Instrumente sein, vor allem im Hinblick auf ihre Verfassungskompatibilität auf nationaler Ebene. Am HIIG nimmt er am Forschungsprogramm Daten, Akteure, Infrastrukturen: Governance datengetriebener Innovation und Cybersicherheit teil.

Martins (geb. 1971) studierte Rechtswissenschaften an der Universidade de São Paulo (USP). Nach seinem Master Studium (LL.M.) an der Humboldt-Universität (HUB) promovierte er anschließend ebenfalls an der HUB. Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Hochschuldozent (2001-2005) und später als Professor (ab 2005) in Brasilien blieb er Deutschland durch zahlreiche Forschungsaufenthalte und Lehrtätigkeiten (Hans-Bredow-Institut, Erich-Pommer-Institut, HUB) verbunden. Seit 2005 ist er Universitätsprofessor, zunächst an der Universidade Federal do Mato Grosso do Sul (UFMS), ab 2008 an der UFRN. Zu seinen Veröffentlichungen zählen mehrere Monografien und zahlreiche rechtswissenschaftliche Beiträge. Sein zusammen mit Dimitri Dimoulis herausgegebenes Lehrbuch „Allgemeine Grundrechtslehre“ erhielt 2008 die höchste brasilianische Auszeichnung für rechtswissenschaftliche Titel (50. Auflage des Literaturpreises „Jabuti“).

Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt ist die Rolle der nationalen Staatsgewalten Gesetzgebung und Rechtsprechung im IT-Zeitalter. Hier kollidieren grundrechtlich geschützten Interessen wie die der Mediennutzer an Datenschutz und Datensicherheit mit den der international agierenden Medienunternehmen. Auf der einen Seite sind die Herausforderungen an die Rechtspolitik um der Harmonisierung der betreffenden Grundrechtspositionen willen hier besonders groß, die Rechtspolitik bleibt aber der möglichen Korrektur im Lichte der Öffentlichkeit grundsätzlich offen; eine Verfestigung falscher Verfassungsrechtsprechung dagegen nicht.

Erst am 14. August 2018 wurde das brasilianische Bundesdatenschutzgesetz verkündet, im Februar 2020 wird es dann in Kraft treten. Angesichts einer vernetzten Welt und des sich anbahnenden Siegeszuges der künstlichen Intelligenz untersucht Martins, wie sich hier ein Rechtsvergleich rechtsmethodisch handhaben lässt.

Leonardo Martins

Position

Fellow der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung

Relevante Publikationen
Konferenzbeiträge und andere Aktivitäten
Relevante Publikationen

Konferenzbeiträge und andere Aktivitäten