Ilana Ullman is the Policy and Communications Analyst with the Ranking Digital Rights project, which evaluates the world’s leading internet, mobile, and telecommunications companies’ disclosed policies and practices affecting users’ freedom of expression and privacy.

Before joining RDR, Ilana was a Google Policy Fellow at the Center on Privacy & Technology at Georgetown Law, where she contributed research to the first-ever report surveying US law enforcement’s use of facial recognition technology. Previously, Ilana worked in the Global Internet Freedom program at Freedom House, where she implemented internet governance initiatives, led digital security trainings, and provided support for projects promoting and protecting human rights online.

Ilana graduated with distinction from Central European University, where she earned an MA in Public Policy with a specialization in Media, Information, and Communications Policy. She wrote her thesis on law enforcement surveillance of the 2015 Baltimore protests after the death of Freddie Gray. She also holds a BA in Government & Politics from the University of Maryland, College Park.

Ilana Ullman

Ilana Ullman ist Policy and Communications Analyst beim Ranking Digital Rights Projekt, welches die Policies der führenden Internet-, Mobilfunk- und Telefonunternehmen und ihre Auswirkungen auf die Privatsphäre und Meinungsfreiheit bewertet.

Vorher war Ilana Google Policy Fellow am Center on Privacy & Technology an Georgetown Law, an dem Sie Forschung zum ersten Bericht seiner Art beitrug, der die Nutzung von Gesichtserkennungstechnologie der US-amerikanischen Regierung überwacht hat. Davor arbeitete Sie für das Global Internet Freedom Program bei Freedom House. Dort hat sie Initiativen implementiert, digitale Sicherheitstrainings geführt und Projekte unterstützt, die Menschenrechte im Internet schützen.

Ilana hat einen MA mit Auszeichnung in Public Policy von der Central European University mit Fokus auf Medien, Information und Kommunikationspolicies. Ihre Abschlussarbeit schrieb sie über die Überwachung der Proteste 2015 in Baltimore nach dem Tod von Freddie Gray. Sie hat außerdem einen BA in Government & Politics von der University of Maryland, College Park.

Ilana Ullman

Position

Gastforscherin: Die Beziehung zwischen Akteuren, Daten und Infrastrukturen

Relevante Publikationen
Konferenzbeiträge und andere Aktivitäten
Relevante Publikationen

Konferenzbeiträge und andere Aktivitäten