Astrid Mager, Dr.

Astrid Mager is a senior post-doc at the Institute of Technology Assessment, Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW). Since April 2018 she is a research fellow at HIIG in the research program Internet Policy and Governance.

Astrid´s reserach is concerned with the Internet and society – including search engine politics, algorithms and aspects of privacy, internet governance, alternative technology, critical theory, as well as digital methods against the background of science and technology studies and technology assessment.

Astrid studied sociology and communication studies at the University of Vienna. From 2004 to 2009 she worked and lectured at the Department of Social Studies of Science and Technology (University of Vienna). There she graduated with a PhD on the Internet as a health information source. From 2010 to 2012 she worked as a postdoctoral fellow at HUMlab, Umeå University, in Sweden, where she analyzed search engines and algorithmic ideologies. Since 2012 she works as a post-doc at the Institute of Technology Assessment (ÖAW), leading the project „Glocal Search. Search technology at the intersection of global capitalism and local socio-political cultures” at first (funded by the OeNB). Since November 2016 she is leader of the habilitation project “Algorithmic Imaginaries. Visions and values in the shaping of search engines“ (funded by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF), project number V511-G29). Additionally, she teaches at the Department of Social Studies of Science and Technology and is co-editor of the peer-reviewed, open-access journal „Momentum Quarterly – journal for social progress“. Since May 2018 Astrid is member of the Young Academy of the ÖAW, consisting of excellent young researchers of all disciplines.

Astrid Mager

Position

Former Visiting Researcher: The evolving digital society

Relevant Publications
Conference contributions and other activities
Relevant Publications

Conference contributions and other activities

Organisation of Events:

“We Are on a Mission”. Exploring the Role of Future Imaginaries in the Governing and Making of Digital Technology
27.04.2018. Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, Berlin, Germany (International)

Astrid Mager, Dr., Christian Katzenbach, Prof. Dr.

Astrid Mager, Dr.

Astrid Mager arbeitet als Senior Post-Doc am Institut für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung an der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (ÖAW). Seit April 2018 ist sie Research Fellow am HIIG im Forschungsbereich Internet Policy und Governance.

Astrids Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich Internet und Gesellschaft – dazu gehören Suchmaschinenpolitik, Algorithmen und Privacy-Aspekte, Internet Governance, alternative Technologien, kritische Theorie, sowie digitale Methoden vor dem Hintergrund der Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung und der Technikfolgenabschätzung.

Astrid studierte Soziologie und Kommunikationswissenschaften an der Universität Wien. Von 2004 bis 2009 arbeitete und lehrte sie am Institut für Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung an der Universität Wien. 2010 schloss sie dort ihr Doktorat zum Thema Internet als Quelle für Gesundheitsinformationen ab. Von 2010 bis 2012 forschte sie im Rahmen eines Post-Doc Stipendiums zu Suchmaschinen und Ideologien des Algorithmus am HUMlab, Umeå University, in Schweden. Seit März 2012 ist sie Post-Doc am Institut für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung (ÖAW). Dort leitete sie zunächst das Projekt „Glokale Suche. Suchtechnologie an der Schnittstelle von globalem Kapitalismus und lokalen sozio-politischen Kulturen“ (finanziert durch die OeNB). Seit November 2016 arbeitet sie an ihrem Habilitationsprojekt „Algorithmic Imaginaries. Visions and values in the shaping of search engines (finanziert durch den Österreichischen Wissenschaftsfonds (FWF), Projektnr. V511-G29). Darüber hinaus unterrichtet sie am Institut für Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung und ist Mitherausgeberin des referierten open-access journals „Momentum Quarterly – Zeitschrift für Sozialen Fortschritt“. Seit Mai 2018 ist Astrid Mitglied der Jungen Akademie der ÖAW, bestehend aus exzellenten NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen aller Fachrichtungen.

Astrid Mager

Position

Ehem. Gastforscherin: Die Entwicklung der digitalen Gesellschaft

Relevante Publikationen
Konferenzbeiträge und andere Aktivitäten
Relevante Publikationen

Konferenzbeiträge und andere Aktivitäten

Organisation von Veranstaltungen

Algorithmic Imaginaries
Algorithmic Imaginaries – Lunch talk with Astrid Mager. From 16.05.2018 to 16.05.2018. Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft, Berlin, Deutschland (International) Weitere Informationen

Astrid Mager

“We Are on a Mission”. Exploring the Role of Future Imaginaries in the Governing and Making of Digital Technology
27.04.2018. Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, Berlin, Germany (International)

Astrid Mager, Christian Katzenbach