Shlomi Hod

Shlomi is a Visiting Researcher at HIIG’s AI & Society Lab. He is a first-year computer science Ph.D. student at Boston University, and he is interested in responsible AI, particularly, (1) the societal impact of algorithms and machine learning systems and (2) interpretable machine learning.

In Spring 2020 Shlomi co-taught a course in Responsible AI, Law & Society with Prof. Dr. Niva Elkin-Koren and others. Occasionally, he is consulting for startups and companies with data science projects.

In his previous life, Shlomi was a social entrepreneur – co-founder of the Israeli Cyber Education Center. There he led the development of nationwide educational programs in computing for kids and teens. The center aims to increase the social mobility of underrepresented groups in tech, such as women, minorities, and individuals from the suburbs of Israel. He co-authored a Computer Network textbook in a tutorial approach (in Hebrew).

Before that, he was an algorithmic research team leader in cybersecurity.

staff dummy

Position

Visiting Researcher: AI & Society Lab

Shlomi Hod

Shlomi ist Gastforscher am AI & Society Lab des HIIG. Er ist Doktorand der Informatik im ersten Jahr an der Boston University und interessiert sich für verantwortliche KI, insbesondere (1) die gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen von Algorithmen und maschinellen Lernsystemen und (2) interpretierbares maschinelles Lernen.

Im Frühjahr 2020 unterrichtete Shlomi zusammen mit Prof. Dr. Niva Elkin-Koren und anderen einen Kurs über verantwortliche KI, Recht & Gesellschaft. Gelegentlich berät er Start-ups und Unternehmen mit datenwissenschaftlichen Projekten.

In seinem früheren Leben war Shlomi ein sozialer Unternehmer – Mitbegründer des israelischen Cyber Education Centers. Dort leitete er die Entwicklung von landesweiten Bildungsprogrammen im Bereich Computer für Kinder und Jugendliche. Ziel des Zentrums ist es, die soziale Mobilität unterrepräsentierter Gruppen im Technologiebereich, wie Frauen, Minderheiten und Einzelpersonen aus den Vororten Israels, zu erhöhen. Er war Mitautor eines Lehrbuchs über Computernetzwerke in einem tutoriellen Ansatz (auf Hebräisch).

Davor war er Leiter eines algorithmischen Forschungsteams für Cybersicherheit.

staff dummy

Position

Gastforscher: AI & Society Lab

Organisation von Veranstaltungen

1st Pop-Up Lab: Inclusive AI? The challenges of automated tools in HR
From 24.08.2020 to 26.08.2020. Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft, Berlin, Germany (International) Weitere Informationen

Shlomi Hod, Georg von Richthofen, Daniela Dicks, Deniz Erden, Juliane Henn, Sonja Köhne, Alexander Pirang, Matthias Spielkamp, Marcel Hebing, Kai Gärtner, Wolfgang Schulz, Theresa Züger