Skip to content

Sarah Ciston

Sarah Ciston is a PhD Candidate in Media Arts + Practice at the University of Southern California, where she leads Creative Code Collective—a student community for co-learning programming using approachable, interdisciplinary strategies.

Her research investigates how to bring intersectionality to artificial intelligence by employing queer, feminist, and anti-racist theories, ethics, and tactics at every stage of development and implementation. She makes computational art and experimental writing that argue for embodied, embedded, and ethical approaches to technology; and her artistic research projects include a natural language processing interface that ‘rewrites’ the inner critic and a chatbot that explains feminism to online misogynists.

She completed a Master of Fine Arts in Literature at University of California San Diego and a Bachelor in English from University of Southern California, and she worked previously in open-access publishing at the Public Library of Science. While supporting the AI & Society Lab at HIIG, she is developing a library of digital-print hybrid zines on Intersectional AI.

Sarah Ciston, Fellow | HIIG

Position

Fellow: AI & Society Lab

Zum Inhalt springen

Sarah Ciston

Sarah Ciston ist Assoziierte Forscherin im AI & Society Lab am Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft.

Sarah Ciston ist Doktorandin in Media Arts + Practice an der University of Southern California, wo sie das Creative Code Collective leitet – eine studentische Gemeinschaft für Co-Learning-Programmierung unter Verwendung zugänglicher, interdisziplinärer Strategien.

Ihre Forschung untersucht, wie man Intersektionalität in die künstliche Intelligenz bringen kann, indem man queere, feministische und antirassistische Theorien, Ethik und Taktiken in jeder Phase der Entwicklung und Implementierung einsetzt. Sie macht Computerkunst und experimentelles Schreiben, die für verkörperte, eingebettete und ethische Ansätze zur Technologie argumentieren. Zu ihren künstlerischen Forschungsprojekten gehören eine Schnittstelle zur Verarbeitung natürlicher Sprache, die den inneren Kritiker “umschreibt” und ein Chatbot, der Online-Frauenfeinden Feminismus erklärt.

Sie absolvierte einen Master of Fine Arts in Literatur an der University of California San Diego und einen Bachelor in Englisch an der University of Southern California und arbeitete zuvor im Bereich Open-Access-Publishing an der Public Library of Science. Während sie das AI & Society Lab am HIIG unterstützt, entwickelt sie eine Bibliothek von Digital-Print-Hybrid-Zines zu intersektionaler KI.

Sarah Ciston, Fellow | HIIG

Position

Assoziierte Forscherin: AI & Society Lab