Skip to content

Sami Nenno

Sami Nenno works at the HIIG as a student assistant in the research project Public Interest AI. He is studying Data Science in the master’s program at Beuth University in Berlin. The master is focused on “Urban Technologies” and “Intelligent Machines”. His personal focus of interest is on the interface between society and digital transformation or artificial intelligence.

He studied philosophy at the University of Vienna (B.A.) and at the Humboldt University Berlin (M.A.). In his master thesis he developed an approach to describe temporal perception and experience by means of mathematical logic using the example of movies.

Before studying Data Science, he worked as an analyst for a media surveillance company for more than a year and studied computer science and mathematics at the Humboldt University for a few semesters.

staff dummy

Position

Student Assistant: AI & Society Lab

Other publications

Nenno, S. (2021). Siri’s evil sister. When the Dutch public service steals your data. Digital society blog. Publication details

Zum Inhalt springen

Sami Nenno

Sami Nenno ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Forschungsprojekt Public Interest AI am HIIG. In seiner Forschung befasst er sich auf verschiedene Weisen mit Desinformation. Samis Promotionsvorhaben besteht zum einen darin die Rolle von Desinformation im öffentlichen Diskurs näher zu beleuchten. Zum anderen untersucht er welche Prozesse des Faktenprüfens automatisiert werden können, um die Arbeit von Fact-Checking Organisationen zu unterstützen.

Neben der Promotion studiert Sami Data Science im Master an der Berliner Hochschule für Technik. Zuvor hat er Philosophie an der Universität Wien (B.A.) und an der Humboldt Universität Berlin (M.A.) studiert. In seiner Masterarbeit arbeitete er am Beispiel von Filmen einen Ansatz aus, zeitliche Wahrnehmung und Erfahrung mittels formallogischer Methoden zu beschreiben.

Zuvor arbeitete er über ein Jahr als Analyst für ein Medienbeobachtungsunternehmen und studierte einige Semester Informatik und Mathematik an der Humboldt Universität.

Porträt von Sami Neno, mit schwarzer Brille, lächelt in die Kamera.

Position

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter: AI & Society Lab

Andere Publikationen

Nenno, S. (2021). Siri’s evil sister. When the Dutch public service steals your data. Digital society blog. Weitere Informationen

Hewett, F., & Nenno, S. (2021). How to identify bias in Natural Language Processing. Digital society blog. Weitere Informationen

Nenno, S. (2021). How to find the right survey tool:problems and proposals. Elephant in the Lab. Weitere Informationen

Organisation von Veranstaltungen

AI & Society Lab
Lecture in the course of the study week of the ZHAW: "Der Mensch im digitalen Zeitalter". 05.05.2022. Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, Berlin, Germany. Co-Organised by: ZHAW (International)

Sami Nenno, Judith Faßbender, Theresa Züger

Sustainable AI
with attending Vip: Friederike Rohde. 29.04.2022. Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, Berlin, Germany (National)

Sami Nenno, Theresa Züger