Digital policy will be a focal point of the German federal elections in 2017. More than ever, the elections will deal with questions of the digital age: How do we use data purposefully and justly? How should we react to populism and social bots? How can we effectively protect ourselves against cyber attacks? In their attempt to gain electoral votes, the political parties must be prepared to answer these questions.

The Wahlkompass Digitales (digital election compass) creates transparency by opening up the political parties’ positions on these pressing issues. The HIIG research team analyzed the election programs of six German parties regarding their views on digital policy including work, education, security and health.

This tool illustrates the initiatives and positions of each party in the aforementioned areas of interest and how their positions differ: How do we support digital economy in Germany? Who is committed to more data protection, and who is not? Where do they want to improve digital infrastructure? Which parties commit themselves to the media competency of our children? With this scientific service, interested voters and journalists can better understand which actions the different parties plan to take to address digital policy. Moreover, the project also asks experts to explain the role of specific digital initiatives for these key topics.

Duration: 07/2017 – 09/2017
Sponsors: The Digitale Wahlkompass is a project of the Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society. Media partner of the project is the Süddeutsche Zeitung. Network partner is media:net Berlin Brandenburg.   

Foto: CC BY-NC 2.0 Alessandro | flickr.com

Digitalpolitik ist zentrales Thema des Bundestagswahlkampfs 2017. Mehr denn je steht diese Wahl im Zeichen des digitalen Wandels: Wie können Daten sinnvoll und gerecht genutzt werden? Auf welche Art sollen wir auf Populismus und Social Bots reagieren? Wie können wir uns vor Cyberangriffen effektiv schützen? Auf der Jagd nach Wählerstimmen müssen sich die politischen Parteien positionieren.

Der Wahlkompass Digitales schafft Transparenz im Wahlkampf und zeigt, welche Antworten die deutschen Parteien auf die dringenden Digitalfragen haben. Das HIIG-Forschungsteam hat die Programme von sechs deutschen Parteien auf deren Stellungnahmen zu Digitalpolitik in den Bereichen Arbeit, Bildung, Digitale Infrastruktur, Medien & Internet, Sicherheit und Gesundheit untersucht.

Das Tool verdeutlicht visuell, welche Initiativen und Positionen die Parteien in diesen Bereichen vertreten und wo sie sich unterscheiden: Wie kann digitale Wirtschaft in Deutschland gefördert werden? Wer setzt sich für mehr Datenschutz ein, wer nicht? Wo soll die digitale Infrastruktur ausgebaut werden? Welche Parteien setzen sich für die digitale Bildung unserer Kinder ein? Mit diesem Angebot können interessierte WählerInnen und JournalistInnen sehen, welche Schritte im Bereich Digitalpolitik geplant sind. Darüber hinaus erklären unabhängige ExpertInnen, welche Rolle digitale Initiativen für den einen oder anderen Bereich spielen können. 

Laufzeit: 07/2017 – 09/2017
Förderer: Der Wahlkompass Digitales ist ein Projekt des Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft. Die Süddeutsche Zeitung ist Medienpartner. media:net Berlin Brandenburg ist Netzwerkpartner des Wahlkompass Digitales. 

Foto: CC BY-NC 2.0 Alessandro | flickr.com