telemedicine

The Futures of Telemedicine: Knowledge, Policy, Regulation

Digital health card, electronic health record, medical telematics infrastructure – these are the terms dominating the public and political debates on the digitalization of the health care system in Germany. At EU level, electronic health services (eHealth) are also seen as a great opportunity. As part of its digital health and care strategy, the European Commission expects to improve public health by facilitating greater cross-border healthcare access, enabling citizens to access their health data and researchers to share patient data and medical expertise across the EU. Digital tools are expected to provide efficient, user-friendly and widely accepted electronic health services.

At the same time, eHealth applications and services have become an important market within the digital economy, with an estimated global turnover of around 18 billion euros. Well-known applications range from medical patient counselling and consultations or self-monitoring devices to virtual expert networks. Technological paradigms such as the “Internet of Things”, “Artificial Intelligence” or “Smart Devices” are increasingly integrated into research and development goals of eHealth applications, also promoting medical (self-)surveillance and control.

The diagnostic or therapeutic use of digital technologies has a strong effect on doctor-patient relationships and therefore affects the level of acceptance of these new technological solutions. In addition, eHealth applications and practices produce, store and evaluate highly sensitive data on individuals, resulting in a particular need for legal and regulatory frameworks.

In this context, the project “The Futures of Telemedicine: Knowledge, Policy, Regulation” focuses on two closely interwoven research perspectives:

1. Social norms, standards and acceptance

The project looks at how and to what extent political institutions or companies define the development targets in the field of telemedicine and eHealth. It focuses on country-specific cultural and social differences in order to gain insight into which practices of medical surveillance are considered either acceptable or a violation of personal privacy. With eHealth applications, a comprehensive knowledge of individuals is produced that extends beyond medical contexts and allows for far-reaching conclusions about behavioural patterns, personality traits or psychological dispositions. Therefore, it is necessary to critically assess the data that is collected and to what extent individuals are subjected to evaluative and normative processes.

2. Challenges for regulation and legislation

Globally operating digital networks pose particular challenges for the regulation of eHealth services and practices. The project examines existing problems in the fields of patient data protection, cybersecurity or liability in national and transnational contexts. In concrete terms, for example, the regulation of data protection or liability often remains vague with “therapeutic service providers” operating from abroad. At the same time, another research objective is to analyse how the culturally specific levels of social acceptance can be taken into account in legislation and regulation. This includes knowledge about individuals that extends beyond medical contexts and is in need of special protection.

The project is funded by the Silicon Valley Community Foundation through a research fund provided by Cisco Systems.

Duration 07/2018 – 06/2019
Supporters Silicon Valley Community Foundation/Cisco Systems

Kontakt

Thomas Christian Bächle, Dr.

Co-Head of research programme: The evolving digital society

Support us with a PayPal donation

To support the Internet & Society Foundation's work, click the donate-button below.

Donate with PayPall

Research Team
Publications
Conference contribution and other activities
Research Team

Publications

Conference contribution and other activities

telemedicine

Die Zukunft der Telemedizin: Wissen, Politik, Regulierung

Digitale Gesundheitskarte, elektronische Patientenakte, medizinische Telematik-Infrastruktur – so lauten die Themen, die in Deutschland im Zusammenhang mit der Digitalisierung des Gesundheitswesens oft diskutiert werden. Auch auf EU-Ebene wird in den elektronischen Gesundheitsdiensten (eHealth) eine große Chance gesehen. So verspricht sich die Europäische Kommission etwa eine Verbesserung der Gesundheit der Bevölkerung durch die Bereitstellung lebenswichtiger Informationen, die Verbesserung von Qualität und Zugänglichkeit der medizinischen Versorgung und die Schaffung effizienter, benutzerfreundlicher und umfassend akzeptierter elektronischer Gesundheitsdienste.

Hinter den Begriffen Telemedizin und eHealth verbirgt sich zugleich ein großer Markt der Digitalwirtschaft, dessen Umsatz international derzeit auf etwa 18 Milliarden Euro geschätzt wird. Bekannte Anwendungen reichen von ärztlicher Patientenberatung und Konsultationen, über am Körper getragene Messgeräte bis hin zu virtuellen Expertennetzwerken. Technologische Paradigmen wie das „Internet der Dinge“, „Künstliche Intelligenz“ oder „Smart Devices“ werden immer stärker in medizinische Entwicklungs- und Praxisziele integriert, wodurch sich auch die medizinische (Selbst-) Überwachung und Kontrolle vereinfachen.

Der Einsatz digitaler Technologien in der Diagnose oder Therapie berührt dabei stets das besondere Vertrauensverhältnis zwischen Arzt und Patient und daher auch die Frage nach der Akzeptanz der neuen technologischen Möglichkeiten. Darüber hinaus werden in eHealth-Anwendungen hochsensible Daten über Individuen produziert, gespeichert und ausgewertet, wodurch sich eine besondere Notwendigkeit für rechtliche und regulatorische Rahmenbedingungen ergibt.

In diesem Zusammenhang befasst sich das Projekt „The Futures of Telemedicine: Knowledge, Policy, Regulation“ insbesondere mit zwei eng verflochtenen Forschungsperspektiven:

1. Soziale Normierungs- und Akzeptanzprozesse

Mit telemedizinischen Praktiken und Anwendungen werden seitens der Politik und der Wirtschaft bestimmte Entwicklungsziele verbunden, die Gegenstand des Forschungsprojekts sind. In einem nächsten Schritt stehen die länderspezifischen kulturellen und sozialen Unterschiede bei der Akzeptanz von eHealth-Anwendungen im Vordergrund, um z. B. Erkenntnisse darüber zu gewinnen, welche Praktiken medizinischer Überwachung als akzeptabel oder als Verletzung persönlicher Privatheit gelten. Mit eHealth-Anwendungen wird ein umfassendes Wissen über Einzelpersonen erhoben, das über medizinische Kontexte hinausreicht und weitreichende Rückschlüsse auf individuelle Verhaltensmuster, Persönlichkeitsmerkmale oder psychologische Dispositionen zulässt. Es soll daher kritisch eingeordnet werden, welches Wissen eHealth-Anwendungen über Krankheit und Gesundheit produzieren und inwiefern in (medizinische) Daten übersetzte Individuen dadurch evaluativen und normierenden Prozessen unterworfen sind.

2. Herausforderungen für Regulation und Gesetzgebung

Insbesondere die globale digitale Vernetzung stellt die Regulation von eHealth-Diensten und Praktiken vor besondere Herausforderungen. Im Projekt werden einerseits bestehende Problemfelder in den Bereichen Datenschutz und Umgang mit Patientendaten, Cybersecurity und Haftung in nationalen und transnationalen Kontexten betrachtet. Konkret bleibt etwa mit aus dem Ausland operierenden „therapeutischen Dienstleistern“ die Regulation von Datenschutz oder Haftung oft unbestimmt. Zugleich wird die Frage adressiert, wie die kulturell spezifischen Akzeptanzprozesse von telemedizinischen Anwendungen auch in Gesetzgebung und Regulation berücksichtigt werden können. Darunter fällt auch das über medizinische Kontexte hinausreichende Daten-Wissen über einzelne Individuen, dem ein besonderer Schutz zuteil werden muss.

Das Projekt wird von der Silicon Valley Community Foundation über einen Forschungsfonds von Cisco Systems gefördert.

Laufzeit07/2018 – 06/2019
FördererSilicon Valley Community Foundation/Cisco Systems
Forschungsteam
Publikationen
Konferenzbeiträge und andere Aktivitäten
Forschungsteam

Publikationen

Konferenzbeiträge und andere Aktivitäten

Vorträge

Smart Health? Zur Ästhetik medizinischer Arbeitsmedien und der ‚Gig Economy‘ digitaler Gesundheitsindustrie
Jahrestagung der Gesellschaft für Medienwissenschaft zum Thema „Industrie“. Universität Siegen, Siegen, Germany: 28.09.2018

Thomas Christian Bächle