Skip to content
mitchell-luo-1tK1Fkrn34A-unsplash

Scholar-led Plus

Sustainable journal financing through consortial support structures in small and interdisciplinary subjects

The project aims to improve the publication situation of scholar-led, non-APC open access gold journals through a consortial support structure. The thematic focus is on small, trans- and interdisciplinary subjects and communities, where already established funding options are not effective and the responsibilities are often unclear.

Project structure

We will develop a reliable concept for a thematic, consortial support structure for the funding of such journals, implement (i.e. setup and stabilization) this support structure, derive strategies from accompanying research for the provision of support structures in small and interdisciplinary subjects, and finally transfer the consortial measures as well as recommendations for follow-up use to small and interdisciplinary subjects and communities.

Thus the project pilots a model of sustainable support for scholar-led, quality-assured OA journals in small, trans/interdisciplinary subjects and communities. In addition, it improves communication between central actors in the OA ecosystem: funding and research institutions, research societies, OA journals, and new publication projects are activated and being involved in the design of a sustainable support structure. In this regard, the project increases the share of high-quality OA publications by supporting key publication projects and adds value for the OA community beyond the actual project framework.

Project partners

HIIG is collaborating on this project with Knowledge Unlatched (KU), an online marketplace for financing scholarly content in open access through institutional funding. This partnership enables us to explore and implement models of collaborative funding at the same time. Sven Fund and Philipp Hess form the project team at Knowledge Unlatched.

 

DurationApril 2021 – March 2023
FundingGerman Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Contact

Marcel Wrzesinski

Open Access Officer and project lead "Scholar-led Plus"

Support Scholar-led Plus

Help establish customised and transparent collaborative funding.

Register here.

Working paper

Wrzesinski, M., Riechert, P., Dubois, F. (2021). Working with publication technology to make open access journals sustainable. HIIG Discussion Paper Series, 2021(02). DOI: https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.4558781 Publication details

Other publications

scholar-led.network & Wrzesinski, M. (2021). Das scholar-led.network-Manifest, Fokusgruppe scholar-led.network. (2021) Das scholar-led.network-Manifest. DOI: 10.5281/zenodo.4925784. Publication details

Zum Inhalt springen
mitchell-luo-1tK1Fkrn34A-unsplash

Scholar-led Plus

Nachhaltige Zeitschriftenfinanzierung durch konsortiale Unterstützungsstrukturen in kleinen und interdisziplinären Fachzusammenhängen

Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, die Publikationssituation von verlagsunabhängigen, gebührenfreien Open-Access-Gold Zeitschriften durch eine konsortiale Unterstützungsstruktur zu verbessern. Der thematische Fokus liegt auf kleinen, trans- und interdisziplinären Fachzusammenhängen, da hier etablierte Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten nicht greifen und die Zuständigkeiten disziplinärer Fachcommunities oft unklar ist.

Projektstruktur

Es wird ein tragfähiges Konzept für eine thematische, konsortiale Unterstützungsstruktur zur Finanzierung von Fachzeitschriften entwickelt, die Umsetzung (d.h. Aufbau und Verstetigung) dieser Unterstützungsstruktur betreut, im Rahmen einer begleitenden Forschung Strategien für die Bereitstellung von Unterstützungsstrukturen in kleinen und interdisziplinären Fachzusammenhängen abgeleitet und zuletzt die konsortialen Maßnahmen sowie Empfehlungen zur Nachnutzung in kleine und interdisziplinäre Fachzusammenhänge transferiert.

Damit pilotiert das Projekt einerseits ein Modell nachhaltiger Unterstützung von verlagsunabhängigen, qualitätsgesicherten Open-Access-Zeitschriften in kleinen, trans-/interdisziplinären Fachzusammenhängen. Darüber hinaus verbessert es die Kommunikation zwischen zentralen Akteur*innen des Open-Access-Ökosystems: Fördernde und forschende Einrichtungen, Fachgesellschaften, Open-Access-Zeitschriften und neue qualitätsgesicherte Publikationsprojekte werden aktiviert und in die Gestaltung einer nachhaltigen Unterstützungsstruktur einbezogen. Das Projekt steigert damit den Anteil von qualitätsgesicherten Open-Access-Publikationen durch die Absicherung essentieller Publikationsprojekte im Wissenschaftssystem und hat durch die Verstetigung der Unterstützungsstruktur und die Förderempfehlungen einen Mehrwert für die Open-Access-Community über den eigentlichen Projektrahmen hinaus.

Projektpartner

Das HIIG kooperiert in diesem Projekt mit Knowledge Unlatched (KU), einem Online-Marktplatz zur Finanzierung wissenschaftlicher Inhalte im Open Access durch institutionelle Förderung. Diese Partnerschaft ermöglicht es, Modelle gemeinschaftlicher Finanzierung zu erforschen und umzusetzen. Sven Fund und Philipp Hess werden das Projekt von Seiten Knowledge Unlatched mit umsetzen.

 

LaufzeitApril 2021 – März 2023
FörderungBundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Kontakt

Marcel Wrzesinski

Open Access Officer: Digitale Gesellschaft

Arbeitspapiere

Wrzesinski, M., Riechert, P., Dubois, F. (2021). Working with publication technology to make open access journals sustainable. HIIG Discussion Paper Series, 2021(2). DOI: https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.4558781 Weitere Informationen

Waidlein, N., Wrzesinski, M., Dubois, F., Katzenbach, Ch. (2021). Working with budget and funding options to make open access journals sustainable. HIIG Discussion Paper Series, 2021(1). DOI: https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.4558790 Weitere Informationen