Ranking Digital Rights

Ranking Digital Rights

Ranking Digital Rights (RDR) works to promote freedom of expression and privacy on the internet by creating global standards and incentives for companies to respect and protect users’ rights. The project does this by ranking the world’s most powerful internet, mobile, and telecommunications companies on relevant commitments and policies, based on international human rights standards.

The 2018 RDR Corporate Accountability Index ranked 22 companies. The 2019 RDR Index, released in May 2019, ranks 24 companies on their policies and disclosures affecting the freedom of expression and privacy of internet users across the world.

Additionally, the RDR methodology is published under a Creative Commons license. The raw data is available for others to adapt or present in different ways. We have an inclusive process for methodology development, and thus have built in both greater opportunities for supporting a much broader ecosystem of research and data on corporate disclosures related to digital rights.

Blog post

Scaling Research and Impacting Change

Related events

Ranking Digital Rights 2018 Corporate Accountability Index: European Launch

Contact

Lisa Gutermuth

Associated Researcher: The evolving digital society

Support us

Via the Internet & Society Foundation or with a donation.

Former employees

Ranking Digital Rights

Ranking Digital Rights

Ranking Digital Rights (RDR) setzt sich für die Förderung von Meinungsfreiheit und Datenschutz im Internet ein. Das Projekt entwickelt globale Standards und Anreize für Unternehmen, Nutzerrechte zu respektieren und zu schützen. Dafür werden die weltweit mächtigsten Internet-, Mobil- und Telekommunikationsunternehmen auf der Grundlage internationaler Menschenrechtsstandards nach relevanten Verpflichtungen und Richtlinien bewertet.

Im RDR Corporate Accountability Index 2018 wurden 22 Unternehmen bewertet. Der RDR-Index 2019, der im Mai 2019 veröffentlicht werden soll, wird 24 Unternehmen nach ihren Richtlinien und Veröffentlichungen bewerten, die Meinungsfreiheit und Datenschutz von Internetnutzern auf der ganzen Welt betreffen.

Darüber hinaus wird die RDR-Methodik unter einer Creative-Commons-Lizenz veröffentlicht. Die Rohdaten stehen offen zur Verfügung, um sie anzupassen oder auf unterschiedliche Weise darzustellen. Die Methodenentwicklung folgt einem inklusiven Prozess, wodurch sowohl größere Möglichkeiten zur Unterstützung durch ein breites Forschungs-Ökosystem ermöglicht wird als auch Daten über Unternehmensangaben im Zusammenhang mit digitalen Rechten geschaffen werden.

Blog Post

Scaling Research and Impacting Change

Veranstaltungen

Ranking Digital Rights 2018 Corporate Accountability Index: European Launch

Kontakt

Lisa Gutermuth

Assoziierte Forscherin: Entwicklung der digitalen Gesellschaft

Unterstützen Sie unsere Forschung

Hier erhalten Sie mehr Informationen, wie Sie uns fördern können.

  • Lisa Gutermuth Lisa Gutermuth
    Assoziierte Forscherin: Entwicklung der digitalen Gesellschaft

Ehemalige MitarbeiterInnen

  • staff dummy Gaby Walton
    Ehem. Praktikantin: Die Entwicklung der digitalen Gesellschaft
  • Ilja sperling Ilja Sperling
    Ehem. studentische Mitarbeiter: Die Entwicklung der digitalen Gesellschaft