platform-alternatives(1)

Platform Alternatives

How can Europe’s digital platform economy be governed to achieve fairer results for all stakeholders? The Platform Alternatives project analyses the structural effects of large American platforms, and the strategies of their European competitors. The project team will derive Corporate Governance Principles for digital platforms that seek to distribute collectively created value more fairly. The project is implemented jointly by HIIG and the Oxford Internet Institute (OII).

Global digitisation has enabled US platform companies to gain global reach and significant market power. This has also led to “platformisation” in Europe: European firms, employees and consumers are exposed to institutional settings, digital infrastructures and competitive conditions that are created and shaped by a few private transnational platforms. This leads to a structural transformation of economic value creation and capture: European platform users become co-producers of value but are not involved in the control of platforms and usually only seize a small portion of the collectively created value. Overall, platformisation thus appears to exacerbate economic and social inequalities.

The Platform Alternatives project addresses the question how platformisation can be governed in order to achieve fairer results for European stakeholders. Our goal is to ultimately formulate Platform Corporate Governance Principles as a normative synthesis of the research results. These principles will give practical advice for platform companies and their stakeholders, based on the ideas of worker co-determination of firm governance (Mitbestimmung).

We begin by assessing differences in platformisation across Europe. We then theorize to what extent these are based on constellations of institutions, infrastructures and competition that are determined by US platforms. Based on this analysis, we examine platform entrepreneurship in Europe to understand which platform alternatives European organisations are able to offer. We aim to understand why they do not achieve the same reach as US platforms, and whether they correspond more closely to European value systems than their American counterparts. We will carry out about 10 in-depth longitudinal case studies of European platform companies in 5 cities.

Platform stakeholders (especially users, employees and unions) and policymakers are involved through extensive knowledge transfer in the form of workshops and reviews, community building, blog posts and white papers.

Our highly practice-oriented research project deals holistically with platformisation, going beyond related work that focuses on the gig economy or competition law. The Platform Alternatives project is also unique in that it mediates between entrepreneurial and normative concerns from the perspective of platform companies. Ultimately, we hope to contribute to a closer alignment between the platform economy and the European social model.

Duration01/01/20 – 12/31/21
SponsorHans Böckler Foundation

Contact

Tina Krell

Researcher: Innovation and entrepreneurship

Nicolas Friederici, Dr.

Head of Research Group: Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Support us

Via the Internet & Society Foundation or with a donation.

platform-alternatives(1)

Platform Alternatives

Wie kann Europas digitale Plattform-Wirtschaft gesteuert werden, um fairere Ergebnisse für alle Stakeholder zu erzielen? Das Platform Alternatives Projekt analysiert das strukturgebende Marktverhalten großer amerikanischer Plattformen und die Strategien ihrer europäischen Wettbewerber. Auf dieser Basis leitet es Corporate-Governance-Regeln für digitale Plattformen ab, die kollektive Wertschöpfung gerechter verteilen. Das Projekt ist eine Kollaboration des HIIG und des Oxford Internet Institutes (OII).

Weltweite Digitalisierung hat es US-amerikanischen Plattform-Unternehmen ermöglicht, globale Reichweite sowie erhebliche Marktmacht zu erlangen. Auch in Europa hat dies zu „Plattformisierung“ geführt: Europäische Unternehmen, Arbeitnehmende und Konsumenten sehen sich Institutionen, digitalen Infrastrukturen und Wettbewerbsbedingungen ausgesetzt, die von wenigen privaten transnationalen Plattformen geschaffen und geformt werden. Dies bedeutet einen Strukturwandel: Europäische Plattform-Nutzende werden zu Koproduzenten von wirtschaftlichem Wert, sind aber nicht an der Steuerung von Plattformen beteiligt und vereinnahmen meist nur einen geringen Anteil der kollektiven Wertschöpfung. Insgesamt scheint Plattformisierung so wirtschaftliche und soziale Ungleichheiten zu verstärken.

Das Platform Alternatives Projekt bearbeitet die Frage, wie Plattformisierung gesteuert werden kann, um fairere Ergebnisse für europäische Stakeholder zu erzielen. Als normative Synthese der Forschungsergebnisse formulieren wir Plattform Corporate Governance Grundsätze, die umsetzbare Ratschläge für Plattformunternehmen und ihre Stakeholder darstellen und auf den Ideen der Mitbestimmung basieren.

Wir stellen zunächst deskriptiv Unterschiede der Plattformisierung in Europa fest und theoretisieren im Anschluss, inwieweit diese auf Konstellationen von US-Plattform-determinierten Institutionen, Infrastrukturen und Wettbewerbsbedingungen beruhen. Danach betrachten wir Plattform-Unternehmertum in Europa um zu analysieren, welche Alternativen europäische Firmen anbieten, warum diese bisher nicht die Reichweite von US-Plattformen erreichen und ob eher europäischen Wertesystemen entsprochen wird. Hierfür werden in etwa 10 vertiefte, longitudinale Fallstudien von europäischen Plattform-Unternehmen in 5 Städten durchgeführt.

Über umfassenden Wissenstransfer durch Workshops und Reviews, Netzwerk-Management, Blog-Posts und Impulspapiere werden Plattform-Stakeholder (insbes. Nutzende, Arbeitnehmende und Gewerkschaften) und Policymaker eingebunden.

Insgesamt befasst sich unser stark praxisorientiertes Forschungsprojekt ganzheitlich mit Plattformisierung, was eine Erweiterung bisheriger Studien mit Fokus auf die Gig-Wirtschaft oder Wettbewerbsrecht bedeutet. Das Platform Alternatives Projekt ist auch dahingehend einmalig, als dass es zwischen unternehmerischen und normativen Anliegen aus Perspektive von Plattform-Unternehmen vermittelt. Letztendlich wird so zur engeren Vereinbarung der Plattformwirtschaft mit dem europäischen Sozialmodell beigetragen.

Laufzeit01.01.2020 – 31.12.2021
FördererHans-Böckler-Stiftung

Kontakt

Asal Dardan

Projektkoordinatorin: Platform Alternatives

Nicolas Friederici, Dr.

Forschungsprojektleiter: Task Force: Europäische Plattformökonomie

  • Asal Dardan | HIIG Asal Dardan
    Projektkoordinatorin: Platform Alternatives
  • Lena Starke | HIIG Lena Starke
    Studentische Mitarbeiterin: Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Gesellschaft
  • Nicolas Friederici, Dr.
    Forschungsprojektleiter: Task Force: Europäische Plattformökonomie
  • Tina Krell | HIIG Tina Krell
    Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin: Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Gesellschaft

Arbeitspapiere

Lehdonvirta, V., Park, S., Krell, T. & Friederici, N. (2020). Platformization in Europe. Global and local digital intermediaries in the retail, taxi, and food delivery industries. /. Weitere Informationen

Vorträge

Varieties of Platform Strategy: An Exploratory Study of European Enterprises
Workshop Regulating work in the platform economy (Session: The effects of the platform economy: business models and value chains). Hertie School, Berlin (online), Germany: 27.05.2020

Nicolas Friederici

Organisation von Veranstaltungen

Platform Entrepreneurship in Europe: Which Business Models are Viable and Sustainable?
03.06.2020. Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, Berlin (online), Germany. Co-Organised by: Oxford Internet Institute (International) Weitere Informationen

Asal Dardan, Lena Starke, Tina Krell, Nicolas Friederici