Knowledge-sharing

Open!

The meaning of Open Source Innovation for the future firm

Open Source Innovation (OSI) is an important topic for firms today. At present, most markets experience shorter development cycles due to digital innovation and transformation. Customers show increasing interest in individualized products. Put differently, customers and users become part of value creation processes. As a consequence, new services to integrate external knowledge are needed. What is more, firms need to increasingly open themselves through platforms. In addition, production changes due to smaller and more customer-oriented production units.

So-called hackers, focusing on open source software development, once initiated OSI. Motivated by the idea to freely and openly develop code on a shared basis, those hackers created entirely new markets (e.g., Linux). Essentially, their creative collaboration leveraged novel and disruptive ways of product development as well as new and complementary business models. 

Research team Open!

How will Open Source Hardware lead to the innovation of business models?

Until recently, research on Open Source Innovation has mostly focused on software. Yet, when firms like Local Motors expand their method of open hardware innovation by openly developing physical objects with a global community, new research questions arise: How can business models capture the opening of interfaces for developing OSI? How can the firm generate value through opening its business model? How will the customer—the central dimension of the business model—be integrated into the developmental process? Additionally, how does the customer profile change during the aforementioned process?

Open! – a DFG-research project with international partners

The research project Open! at HIIG tackles the aforementioned research questions. The team is headed by Prof. Dr. Hendrik Send. He is supported by Martina Dopfer, who investigated the business model development of early stage startups within the Berlin ecosystem during her doctoral dissertation. Jointly, the research team concentrates on OSI beyond software.

The research team has already conducted several interviews and workshops, including Renault with a special focus on the Renault Twizy and 20 more open source hardware projects. Based on the data, it derived first traits of the actors of OSI, which describe particular personas. The team also visualized processes of open product development.

Duration03/2016 – 02/2019
SponsorsDFG-Projekt

Contact

Hendrik Send, Prof. Dr.

Associated Researcher: Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Support us

Via the Internet & Society Foundation or with a donation.

Research Team
Publications
Conference contribution and other activities
Research Team

Publications

Working paper

Neumann, E.K., Send, H., Tech, R.P.G. (2017). Central components of open business models. What makes an open business model open? HIIG Discussion Paper Series. Publication details

Other publications

Dopfer, M., Weitzl, V. (2017). Die Entwicklung von Open Source und die Disruption der Hardware-Industrie. HIIG Blog. Publication details

Conference contribution and other activities

Die Bedeutung von Open Source Innovation für das Unternehmen der Zukunft

Open Source Innovation (OSI) ist ein wichtiges Thema für das moderne Unternehmen. Digitale Innovationen führen in fast allen Märkten zu verkürzten Entwicklungszyklen. Kunden zeigen ein zunehmendes Interesse an individualisierten und individualisierbaren Produkten; d.h. Kunden und Nutzer werden zunehmend mehr in Produktions- und Wertschöpfungsprozesse mit eingebunden. Als Folge entstehen neue Services zur Integration externen Wissens. In anderen Worten, Unternehmen müssen sich zunehmend durch die Arbeit mit integrierten Plattformen öffnen. Ihre Produktion verändert sich – Produktionseinheiten werden kleiner, die Produktion wird kundenorientierter gesteuert.

Initiiert wurde OSI von sogenannten Hackern aus dem Bereich des Open Source Software Development. Hier haben idealistisch motivierte Entwickler auf freier Code-Basis komplett neue Märkte in Billionenhöhe erschlossen (z.B. Linux). So hat die Softwareindustrie durch kreative Kollaboration disruptive Produktentwicklungen angetrieben und viele komplementäre Geschäftsmodelle ermöglicht.

Wie führt die Erweiterung von Open Source Hardware zu neuen Geschäftsmodellen?

Bislang ist Open Source Innovation vor allem im Bereich von Software bekannt und erforscht worden. Neue Forschungsfragen entstehen, wenn Hersteller wie Local Motors die Methode für Open Hardware Innovation erweitern und offen mit einer globalen Community neue physische Produkte für den Automobilmarkt entwickeln. Wie kann bspw. die Öffnung von Schnittstellen zur Entwicklung von OSI in neuen Geschäftsmodellen abgebildet werden? Wie generiert das Unternehmen durch sich zunehmend öffnende Geschäftsmodelle Wert? Oder: Wie wird der Kunde, der ja zentral für das Geschäftsmodell ist, in diesem Entwicklungsprozess mit eingebunden bzw. wie verändert sich das Kundenprofil?

Open! – ein DFG-Forschungsprojekt mit internationalen Partnern

Eben diese Forschungsfragen greift das HIIG im DFG-Projekt Open! unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Hendrik Send auf. Unterstützt wird er von Martina Dopfer, die sich in ihrer Doktorarbeit mit der Geschäftsmodellentwicklung von Startups des Berliner Ökosystems befasst hat. Gemeinsam konzentriert sich das Team nun auf OSI jenseits von Software.

Das Forschungsteam hat bereits erste Gespräche und Workshops mit Renault im Kontext des Renault Twizy durchgeführt und mehr als 20 Open Source Hardware Projekte befragt. Auf Basis dieser Forschung wurden erste Charakteristika der Akteure der OSI als Personas abgeleitet und offene Produktentwicklungsprozesse visualisiert.

Laufzeit: 03/2016 – 02/2019
Förderer: DFG-Projekt