Skip to content
andrew-ridley-jR4Zf-riEjI-unsplash

Jung. Digital. Engagiert.


Digitalisation is changing the framework conditions of social life and thus also civic engagement in many ways. New, digital forms of engagement are emerging and digital technologies make it easier for us to communicate and organize activities for a good cause. Digital forms of engagement in particular are little known to the public and therefore receive less attention. The portrait series Jung. Digital. Engagiert. Freiwillige im Potrait. starts right here and presents examples of the new digital engagement. Individual portraits focus on the (often) young actors and their diverse civic engagement. We look over the shoulders of those involved, conduct interviews and talk about what motivates them to volunteer and what role digitalisation plays in this. 

Arranged in six thematic areas, the engagement portraits are supplemented with scientific contributions: from Citizen Science to digital interfaces between state, politics and civil society, civic tech, digital discourse and social change, digitalisation itself as the main field of activity, and platforms for civic engagement, new forms of digital engagement are thus considered across a broad spectrum.

The project Jung. Digital. Engagiert. ties in thematically with the Third Engagement Report, in which civic engagement is examined with a focus on the opportunities and challenges for youth and young adult engagement in the digital age. It was published in summer 2020. 

Publication

The print publication written in the course of this project can be read here (German only). It is also available for download here. If you want a printed version of it, feel free to contact Claudia Haas or Moritz Timm.

 

FundingFederal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth (BMFSFJ)
Duration1. Dezember 2019 – 31. Dezember 2020

Contact

Claudia Haas

Project lead: Jung. Digital. Engagiert. and Third Engagement Report events

More Informations

Press release: So engagiert sind junge Ehrenamtliche.

Visit our Homepage!

  • claudia Haas Claudia Haas
    Project lead: Jung. Digital. Engagiert. and Third Engagement Report events
  • Moritz Timm | HIIG Moritz Timm
    Researcher: Knowledge & Society | Press & Communication

Journal articles and conference proceedings

Haas, C. (2021). Digital rights activists are not luddites – an interview with Benjamin Bergemann. encore - The annual Magazine on Internet and Society Research, 2020/2021, 137-140. Publication details

Book contributions and chapters

Emmer, M., Grunert, C., Reinders, H., & Haas, C. (2020). Engagement junger Menschen im digitalen Zeitalter. In Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend, Dritter Engagementbericht - Zukunft Zivilgesellschaft: Junges Engagement im digitalen Zeitalter. Bundestagsdrucksache 19/19320. (pp. 51-74). Berlin: Bundesanzeiger Verlag GmbH. Publication details

Bieber, C., Dickel, S., Grunert, C., Hofmann, J., Riekmann, W., & Haas, C. (2020). Engagement im Wandel: Perspektiven auf demokratisches Zusammenleben. In Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend, Dritter Engagementbericht - Zukunft Zivilgesellschaft: Junges Engagement im digitalen Zeitalter. Bundestagsdrucksache 19/19320. (pp. 132-140). Berlin: Bundesanzeiger Verlag GmbH. Publication details

Other publications

Fisse, T., & Haas, C. (2020). COVID-19 und die gelebte Solidarität im Netz. Digital society blog. Publication details

Haas, C., & Grünewald-Schukalla, L. (2020). Getting Involved. The Impact of Digitalisation on Civic Engagement. Digital society blog. Publication details

Grünewald-Schukalla, L., & Haas, C. (2020). Getting Involved: Data science for good. Digital society blog. Publication details

Grünewald-Schukalla, L., & Haas, C. (2020). Getting Involved: Civic engagement platforms – Where volunteering begins. Digital society blog. Publication details

Timm, M. (2020). Entwicklung und Vermittlung von Technologien. Digital society blog. Publication details

Timm, M. (2020). Digitalisierung als Thema des Engagements. Digital society blog. Publication details

Timm, M. (2020). Digitale Diskurskultur und politische Meinungsbildung. Digital society blog. Publication details

Lectures and presentations

Impulsvortrag zu Jung. Digital. Engagiert
Online-Fachtagung: #freiraumnetz21 – Jugendarbeit und Jugendpolitik im digitalen Raum. Online, Rostock, Germany: 11.03.2021 Further information

Claudia Haas

andrew-ridley-jR4Zf-riEjI-unsplash

Jung. Digital. Engagiert.


Die Digitalisierung verändert die Rahmenbedingungen des gesellschaftlichen Lebens und damit auch das zivilgesellschaftliche Engagement in vielschichtiger Weise. Neue, digitale Formen des Engagements entstehen und digitale Technologien erleichtern uns die Kommunikation und Organisation der Tätigkeiten für den guten Zweck. Gerade digitale Formen des Engagements sind in der Öffentlichkeit wenig bekannt und erfahren daher seltener Aufmerksamkeit. Die Portraitreihe Jung. Digital. Engagiert. Freiwillige im Portrait. setzt genau hier an und stellt Beispiele des neuen digitalen Engagements vor. In individuellen Portraits wird der Blick auf die (oft) jungen Akteure*innen und ihr vielfältiges, digitales Engagement gerichtet. Mit der Kamera schauen wir den Engagierten über die Schulter, führen Interviews und sprechen über das, was sie zu ihrem Engagement motiviert und welche Rolle die Digitalisierung dabei spielt. 

Eingeordnet in sechs Themenfelder, werden die Engagement-Portraits mit wissenschaftlichen Beiträgen ergänzt: Von Citizen Science über digitale Schnittstellen zwischen Staat, Politik und Zivilgesellschaft, zivile Technologieentwicklung, den digitalen Diskurs- und Gesellschaftswandel, Digitalisierung selbst als Hauptfeld der Tätigkeit bis hin zu Engagementplattformen, werden neue Formen des digitalen Engagements somit über ein breites Spektrum hinweg betrachtet.

Das Projekt Jung. Digital. Engagiert. knüpft thematisch an den Dritten Engagementbericht an, in dem bürgerschaftliches Engagement mit dem Schwerpunkt „Zukunft Zivilgesellschaft: Junges Engagement im digitalen Zeitalter“ beleuchtet wird und dessen Veröffentlichung voraussichtlich im Sommer 2020 erfolgt. 

FördererBundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend

Kontakt

Claudia Haas

Projektleitung: Jung. Digital. Engagiert.