Skip to content
You see a platform in the ocean made out of wood. Below you can see three yellow stars. It symbolises the INCA project and the european approach on platform models.

INCA – INcrease Corporate political responsibility and Accountability of digital platforms

Digital platforms have become the fundamental strategic infrastructure for today's economy, politics, and society. Google, Amazon, Facebook, Apple, and Microsoft – the so-called GAFAM platforms – are key companies of capitalist economies that accumulate wealth and resources and influence political opinion and cultural content production. The “INcrease Corporate political responsibility and Accountability of digital platforms” (INCA) project examines the growing corporate power of platform capitalism and its hegemony on several spheres of European society: from labour to legislation to public opinion.

By studying the activity of digital firms, a network of 12 European partners will explain the vast implications of platforms for European society. The aim is to find alternative models of platform governance capable of combining technological innovations with social inclusion and citizens' participation in decision-making processes.

Alternative solutions for Europe

Within the INCA project, we will trace the historical lineage of the platform model and how it has emerged in response to broader changes in technological and societal developments. Using desk research, statistical data, and expert interviews with scholars and policy-makers, we will explore the origins of platforms as new organisational forms and investigate existing and novel platform governance models, not only from GAFAM but also from European platforms.

A Horizon Europe cooperation project

Within the project, we work closely with academic researchers from the University of Bologna, Tilburg, Barcelona, Wrocławski, Tartu, SUPSI.  We also cooperate with specialists in urban and media innovations from CoLABOR, Urbasofia, Elhuyar, and BIT HABITAT. You can find all partners on the joint INCA website.

 

Duration: 1/10/2022 - 30/03/26
Funding: European Union - Horizon 2020 Programm

  • staff dummy Alina Kontareva
    Postdoctoral Researcher: Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Society
  • Stephan Bohn | HIIG Stephan Bohn, Dr.
    Senior Researcher & Project Lead: Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Society

KONTAKT

Stephan Bohn, Dr.

Senior Researcher & Project Lead: Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Society

TEIL DER FORSCHUNGSGRUPPE

Zum Inhalt springen
You see a platform in the ocean made out of wood. Below you can see three yellow stars. It symbolises the INCA project and the european approach on platform models.

INCA – Stärkung der politischen Verantwortung und der Rechenschaftspflicht von digitalen Plattformen

Digitale Plattformen sind zur grundlegenden strategischen Infrastruktur für die heutige Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft geworden. Google, Amazon, Facebook, Apple und Microsoft — die sogenannten GAFAM-Plattformen – sind Schlüsselunternehmen der kapitalistischen Wirtschaft, die Reichtum und Ressourcen anhäufen und die politische Meinung und die Produktion kultureller Inhalte beeinflussen. Das Projekt "Stärkung der politischen Verantwortung und der Rechenschaftspflicht von digitalen Plattformen" (INCA) untersucht die wachsende unternehmerische Macht des Plattformkapitalismus und seine Hegemonie in verschiedenen Bereichen der europäischen Gesellschaft: von der Arbeit über die Gesetzgebung bis hin zur öffentlichen Meinung.

In dem Forschungsprojekt wird ein Netzwerk aus 12 europäischen Kooperationspartnern die Aktivitäten digitaler Firmen erforschen, um die weitreichenden Auswirkungen von Plattformen auf die europäische Gesellschaft zu erklären. Ziel ist es, alternative Modelle der Plattform-Governance zu finden, die die Verbindung zwischen technologischen Innovationen und sozialer Integration sowie der Beteiligung der Bürger*innen an Entscheidungsprozessen ermöglichen.

Alternative Lösungen für Europa

Im INCA-Projekt werden wir die Vorgeschichte des Plattform-Modells nachverfolgen und untersuchen, wie es als Reaktion auf die allgemeinen Veränderungen in der technologischen und gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung entstanden ist. Anhand von Sekundärforschung, statistischen Daten und Experten*inneninterviews mit Forschenden und politischen Entscheidungsträger*innen erforschen wir so die Ursprünge von Plattformen als neue Organisationsformen. Zudem werden bestehende sowie neuartige Plattform-Governance-Modelle untersucht, nicht nur von GAFAM, sondern auch von europäischen Plattformen.

Ein Kooperationsprojekt von Horizon Europe

Im Rahmen des Projekts arbeiten wir eng mit akademischen Forschenden der Universitäten von Bologna, Tilburg, Barcelona, Wrocławski, Tartu und SUPSI zusammen.  Außerdem kooperieren wir mit Spezialistinnen für urbane und mediale Innovationen von CoLABOR, Urbasofia, Elhuyar und BIT HABITAT. Alle Partner finden Sie auf der INCA-Website.

 

Laufzeit: 1/10/2022 - 30/03/26
Finanzierung: Europäische Union - Horizon 2020 Programm

  • staff dummy Alina Kontareva
    Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin: Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Gesellschaft
  • Stephan Bohn | HIIG Stephan Bohn, Dr.
    Senior Researcher & Projektleiter: Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Society

KONTAKT

Stephan Bohn, Dr.

Senior Researcher & Projektleiter: Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Society

TEIL DER FORSCHUNGSGRUPPE