projektbild_0010_Inno_lila

Gemeinsam Digital – Mittelstand 4.0

Small and Medium Enterprises (SME) are the backbone of the German economy but many struggle to define a digital strategy and leverage competitive advantages through digital technology. 94% of SME confirm that digitalisation highly influences their business but only one third consider the degree of digitalisation in their own business as high. Main reasons why digital transformation fails are a lack of clear objectives on management level as well as a lack of digital skills on an employee level.

The Mittelstand 4.0 Kompetenzzentrum Berlin _Gemeinsam Digital, initiated by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy aims to motivate and enable SMEs on their way to digital transformation. Official partners of the initiative are the Bundesverband mittelständische Wirtschaft as well as established academic institutions from Berlin and Brandenburg such as the Hasso Plattner Institute, University of Potsdam, Brandenburg University of Applied Sciences, Lernfabrik Adlershof and the Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG).

Within the project the HIIG focuses on researching the knowledge transfer between highly digitalised startups and SMEs from an academic perspective. Research questions that the HIIG will deal with in detail are:

  • How can SME learn from startups when it comes to digital transformation? How can startups profit from SME experience and tradition? What forms of collaboration are possible between the two?
  • How do learning and development processes for innovation and digitalisation in SME work? How do SME assimilate knowledge and transfer it into organisational structures?
  • What are supporting and hindering factors in the digital transformation of SME?
Duration 07/2016 – 07/2019
Sponsors
Research Team
Publications
Conference contribution and other activities
Research Team

Publications

Conference contribution and other activities

Jessica Schmeiss

Doctoral Researcher: Internet-enabled Innovation

Support our activities

Donate with PayPal or get further information on how to support us.

Der deutsche Mittelstand wird meist als das »Rückgrat der deutschen Wirtschaft” bezeichnet und ihm wird eine hohen Innovationskraft zugeschrieben. Im Gegensatz dazu ist »Digitalisierung” in vielen mittelständischen Unternehmen zwar ein relevantes, doch kaum umgesetztes Thema: So bestätigen zwar 94% der deutschen kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen (KMU), dass die Digitalisierung ihre Geschäfts- und Arbeitsprozesse beeinflusst, doch nur rund ein Drittel die Digitalisierung im eigenen Unternehmen als stark ausgeprägt einschätzen.

Das Mittelstand 4.0 Kompetenzzentrum Berlin _Gemeinsam Digital, ein Projekt im BMWi-Förderschwerpunkt «Mittelstand-Digital», setzt sich ab sofort mit den Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung für KMU auseinander. Neben dem Bundesverband mittelständische Wirtschaft sind etablierte Partner aus der Wissenschaft in Berlin und Brandenburg wie das Hasso PIattner Institut, die Universität Potsdam, die Technische Hochschule Brandenburg, die Lernfabrik und das Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet (HIIG) Teil des Projekts.

Das besondere Interesse des HIIG ForscherInnenteams liegt dabei in der wissenschaftlichen Begleitung des Wissenstransfers zwischen hoch digitalisierten Startups und KMU. Die Dokumentation und Auswertung der Aktivitäten im Rahmen dieses Forschungsverbundes werden hinsichtlich der folgenden Forschungsfragen analysiert:

  • Wie können KMU von Startups im Hinblick auf die Digitalisierung lernen? Wie können umgekehrt Startups von KMU profitieren? Welche Formen der Zusammenarbeit gibt es?
  • Wie funktioniert Lernen und Entwicklung in Bezug auf Innovations- und Digitalisierungsprozesse in KMU? Wie nehmen KMU neues Wissen auf und transformieren es in Organisations- und Geschäftsentwicklung?
  • Was sind fördernde und hindernde Faktoren im Prozess der Digitalisierung in KMU?

Die Forschungsergebnisse dieses Projektes werden fortlaufend veröffentlicht und soweit passend auf wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen vorgestellt.