Skyscrapers and Wifi signals

Privacy by design in smart cities

How to build smart cities in a privacy and security-friendly way, when more and more movements and human actions are tracked by means of public WiFi and camera systems? How to develop the right infrastructure in smart cities? In particular, how to make employees aware of privacy and security risks handling personal data in businesses, which provide applications for smart cities? How to combine state-of-the-art privacy and security strategies and creative thinking?

The interdisciplinary research project Privacy by design in smart cities (GAMEaTHON) seeks to answer those questions. The Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society runs a one-year research project exploring the adequate governance of data-driven innovation.

Research and development goal

Data protection and privacy laws require data controllers to implement technical and organizational measures in order to comply with the law (privacy and security by design). With respect to the development of future technologies, like the Internet of Things (IoT) or the latest evolutions in the automotive industry, it is an open question of how to implement these requirements in practice.

The relevance and consequences for companies and data protection

The provision of widespread public WiFi access in urban environments makes it principally possible to create social heatmaps about how many people, whose personal devices are set to connect with available WiFi spots, are or will be at which places at what time. The municipality, private companies and/or public-private partnerships can use this information, for example, in order to organize more efficiently local transport facilities.

However, the information can also be misused by surveilling urban society at large. The police could, for example, use it for police investigation (“who was present at sites of crime?”) or companies could trace their customers and/or employees at every public place they are (except they have switched off the function of their mobile devices to connect with public WiFi spots). The question therefore is how to implement privacy and security by design measures in such an urban WiFi system, i.e. in all public and/or private entities connected to the system, in order to enable, on the one hand, more efficient traffic management and avoid, on the other hand, the potential misuse of the information retrieved. This question shall be answered by this research project.

Events within the project

Date/Time Event
07.10.2017 - 08.10.2017
All Day
Game Jam – Unveil the privacy threat
Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, Berlin
13.09.2017
All Day
Disrupted! The Automotive Roundtable
Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, Berlin
05.10.2016
14:00 - 17:30
#pre-AoIR: Legal Hackathon
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin | Seminar Building, Berlin
Duration 06/2017 – 03/2018
Supporter The research project »Privacy by Design in smart cities« is supported by Cisco.

A research project by the Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, supported by Cisco, and in collaboration with INNOVATION AND LAW, Booster Space and iRights.Law.

 

 

Research Team
Publications
Conference contribution and other activities
Research Team

Publications

Conference contribution and other activities

Lectures and Presentations:

Datenschutz als Wettbewerbsvorteil? Die Zertifizierung von Privacy-by-Design und der Stand der Technik
Interdisziplinäre Konferenz des "Forum Privatheit": Die Fortentwicklung des Datenschutzes (Session: Innovationen). Forum Privatheit. Tagungswerk, Berlin, Germany: 02.11.2017

Max von Grafenstein

Wie konstruiert und erbaut man zukünftige Smart Cities und behält gleichzeitig die persönliche Privatsphäre und Sicherheit im Blick, wenn immer mehr Bewegungen und menschliche Reaktionen mittels öffentlich zugänglichem WiFi und modernen Kamerasystemen aufgenommen und verarbeitet werden können? Wie entwickelt man die richtige Infrastruktur dieser Smart Cities? Und, höchst relevant für jedes Unternehmen, wie erhöht man das Bewusstsein von MitarbeiterInnen, die mit persönlichen Daten hantieren und sich damit der Risiken für Sicherheit und Privatsphäre bewusst sein müssen? Lassen sich modernste Privacy & Security-Strategien eigentlich mit kreativen Lösungen verbinden?

Das Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft hat nun ein einjähriges Forschungsprojekt ins Leben gerufen um sich adäquater Lenkungsformen und Steuerungen datengetriebener Innovationen zu widmen: das interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekt „Privacy by design in smart cities (GAMEaTHON)“.

Die Bedeutung und Konsequenzen für Unternehmen und dem Datenschutz

Breit verfügbares, öffentliches WiFi in städtischem Umfeld machen es prinzipiell möglich Wärmebilder ganzer sozialer Räume zu erstellen und zu messen, wie viele Menschen sich an bestimmten Plätzen befinden – alleine nur aufgrund der Einwahldaten in öffentliche Netze. Gemeinden, Unternehmen und/oder private und öffentliche Partnerschaften können diese Informationen nutzen und, zum Beispiel, damit effiziente lokale Lösungen für den Personennahverkehr schaffen.

Doch ebenso ist ein Missbrauch diese Informationen und eine Überwachung städtischer Gemeinden im großen Maßstab möglich („wer war wann zu einer Straftat vor Ort?“) oder Unternehmen können ihre KundInnen und MitarbeiterInnen an jedem öffentlichen Ort verfolgen und ihrem Verhalten nachspüren.

Die Frage zu beantworten, wie sich Privacy- und Security-by-Design Maßnahmen in urbane WiFi-Systeme implementieren lassen und damit gleichzeitig auf alle öffentlichen und/oder privaten Subjekte, die mit dem System verbunden sind, Privacy -und Security-Strategien anzuwenden, ermöglicht einerseits effizientes und modernes Verkehrsmanagement und andererseits die gleichzeitige Vermeidung des potentiellen Missbrauch der erhaltenen Daten. Diese Frage wird von dem Forschungsprojekt eingehend betrachtet und beantwortet.

Dazugehörige Veranstaltungen

Date/Time Event
07.10.2017 - 08.10.2017
All Day
Game Jam – Unveil the privacy threat
Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft, Berlin
13.09.2017
All Day
Disrupted! The Automotive Roundtable
Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft, Berlin
05.10.2016
14:00 - 17:30
#pre-AoIR: Legal Hackathon
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin | Seminargebäude, Berlin
Laufzeit 06/2017 – 03/2018
Förderer Das Projekt »Privacy by design in smart cities« wird durch Cisco gefördert.

 

Ein Forschungsprojekt des Alexander von Humboldt Instituts für Internet und Gesellschaft, unterstützt durch Cisco und in Zusammenarbeit mit INNOVATION AND LAW, Booster Space und iRights.Law.