Dewmystifying AI

Demystifying AI in entrepreneurship

Artificial intelligence (AI) has the potential to sustainably change how value is created in all sectors. In order to tab into this potential for Germany, it is essential to understand which types of AI are produced in Germany and what their actual contribution and impact is. On the one hand, AI can be used to support and optimise existing value creation processes, on the other hand, additional value can be created in the form of new products and services. AI startups play an important role in both areas, however, their main potential is to develop and market new AI-based products and services through innovative business models.

The AI production process is not a magic blackbox, but rather an entrepreneurial process designed and carried out by actors, such as entrepreneurs, with a certain motivation. In this context, HIIG researchers are examining the entrepreneurial process of AI production in Germany as part of the pilot project “Demystifying AI in entrepreneurship – What’s behind German AI production?”. First, we clarify the potential and main areas of development for the German economy by analysing the German startup landscape and interviewing experts in the field. Our analysis shows various types of AI business models in Germany with specific characteristics. Second, using case studies from three German AI startups, we will introduce their founders and business models in detail. We will publish our results through a blog series, several podcasts and a white paper. This will make Demystifying AI in entrepreneurship an accessible knowledge resource for the interested public, but also for the ever-growing group of decision-makers in politics and business, who are confronted with the topic of “AI – Made in Germany”.

Start01.01.2019

Contact

Jessica Schmeiss

Associate Researcher: Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Support us

Via the Internet & Society Foundation or with a donation.

Other publications

Schmeiss, J., & Friederici, N. (2019). How much magic lies behind German AI production? Digital Society Blog. Publication details

Schmeiss, J. (2019). Demystifying AI – Jessica Schmeiss on AI startups in Germany, [Audio Podcast] Exploring digital spheres – a podcast by HIIG. Retrieved from: hiig.de/podcast. Publication details

Schmeiss, J., & Friederici, N. (2019). Ein Autopilot für Online-Marketing. Digital Society Blog. Publication details

Schmeiss, J., & Pirlich, M. (2019). Advertising: Just statistics? Marcel Pirlich on AI in online marketing, [Audio Podcast] Exploring digital spheres – a podcast by HIIG. Retrieved from: hiig.de/podcast. Publication details

Schmeiss, J. (2019). The German AI startup landscape: trends and challenges – interview with Fabian Westerheide. Digital Society Blog. Publication details

Schmeiss, J., & Friederici, N. (2019). Quo vadis – what types of AI are produced in Germany? Digital Society Blog. Publication details

Dewmystifying AI

Die KI-Produktion entzaubern

Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) hat das Potential, die Wertschöpfung in allen Branchen nachhaltig zu verändern. Um dieses Potenzial am Standort Deutschland zu nutzen, ist es essentiell zu verstehen, welche Arten von KI in Deutschland produziert werden und was deren tatsächlicher Beitrag zur Wertschöpfung ist. Zum einen kann KI zur Unterstützung und Optimierung von bestehenden Wertschöpfungsprozessen eingesetzt werden, zum anderen kann auch zusätzliche Wertschöpfung in Form neuer Produkte und Dienstleistungen geschaffen werden. KI-Startups spielen in beiden Bereichen eine wichtige Rolle, insbesondere haben sie jedoch das Potential, neue Produkte und Dienstleistungen mit Hilfe von innovativen Geschäftsmodellen zu vermarkten.

Der Produktionsprozess von KI ist vor diesem Hintergrund keine Zauberei, sondern ein unternehmerischer Prozess der von AkteurInnen, wie beispielsweise UnternehmensgründerInnen, mit einer bestimmten Motivation gestaltet und durchgeführt wird. Vor diesem Hintergrund beleuchten ForscherInnen des HIIG im Rahmen des Pilotprojekts „Demystifying AI in entrepreneurship – What’s behind German AI production?“ den unternehmerischen Prozess der KI-Entstehung in Deutschland.  Zunächst verdeutlichen wir das Potenzial und den Nachholbedarf für den Standort Deutschland durch eine Analyse bestehender Datenbanken und Experteninterviews. Dabei zeigen wir verschiedene Arten von Geschäftsmodellen von KI-Startups in Deutschland und deren Charakteristika auf. Anschließend stellen wir anhand von Fallstudien von drei deutschen KI-Startups deren GründerInnen und Geschäftsmodelle im Detail vor. Unsere Ergebnisse werden wir über eine Blog-Serie, mehrere Podcasts und ein White Paper veröffentlichen. Dadurch soll Demystifying AI in entrepreneurship zu einer zugänglichen Wissensressource für die interessierte Öffentlichkeit werden, aber auch für die immer größer werdenden Gruppe an EntscheiderInnen in Politik und Wirtschaft, die sich mit dem Thema „KI – Made in Germany“ konfrontiert sehen.

Beginn01.01.2019

Kontakt

Jessica Schmeiss

Assoziierte Forscherin: Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Unterstützen Sie unsere Forschung

Hier erhalten Sie mehr Informationen, wie Sie uns fördern können.

Andere Publikationen

Schmeiss, J., & Friederici, N. (2019). How much magic lies behind German AI production? Digital Society Blog. Weitere Informationen

Schmeiss, J. (2019). Demystifying AI – Jessica Schmeiss on AI startups in Germany, [Audio Podcast] Exploring digital spheres – a podcast by HIIG. Retrieved from: hiig.de/podcast. Weitere Informationen

Schmeiss, J., & Friederici, N. (2019). Ein Autopilot für Online-Marketing. Digital Society Blog. Weitere Informationen

Schmeiss, J., & Pirlich, M. (2019). Advertising: Just statistics? Marcel Pirlich on AI in online marketing, [Audio Podcast] Exploring digital spheres – a podcast by HIIG. Retrieved from: hiig.de/podcast. Weitere Informationen

Schmeiss, J. (2019). The German AI startup landscape: trends and challenges – interview with Fabian Westerheide. Digital Society Blog. Weitere Informationen

Schmeiss, J., & Friederici, N. (2019). Quo vadis – what types of AI are produced in Germany? Digital Society Blog. Weitere Informationen