Data protection as a service | HIIG

Data Protection as a Service

The EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) requires website and blog owners to comply with data protection law. In order to be able to achieve this at all, operators must have both comprehensive technical and legal knowledge: they must be able to understand the technology they operate with in order to identify risks to fundamental rights, and they must be able to select, configure and operate the technology competently in order to prevent violations of data subjects’ rights.

In the past, knowledge uncertainties have led to small websites and blogs being shut down on a massive scale. This became known as “website dying”. The consequences are serious, not only for the website owners themselves. If websites are not set up in accordance with data protection regulations the fundamental rights of data subjects will be at risk, mainly due to a lack of competence on the part of data controllers. 

In this research project we are developing, together with several research partners, solutions that help website owners to overcome their knowledge uncertainties. By specifying GDPR provisions regarding the operation of websites, we create certification criteria that determine how website owners should operate their website or blog in accordance with the GDPR. 

Taking off from here, this basic research project will be extended to other areas relevant to data protection law beyond website hosting. In parallel, the economic implications of these mechanisms will be researched, with the project ultimately contributing to the standardisation in the data protection field und push the state of the art in technical and organisational protection measures.

Contact

Jörg Pohle, Dr.

Head of Research Programme: Actors, Data and Infrastructures

Support us

Via the Internet & Society Foundation or with a donation.

Data protection as a service | HIIG

Data Protection as a Service

Die Allgemeine Datenschutzverordnung der EU (DS-GVO) verpflichtet Webseiten-und Blogbetreiber zur Einhaltung des Datenschutzrechts. Um dies überhaupt erreichen zu können, müssen die Betreiber über umfassende technische und rechtliche Kenntnisse verfügen: Sie müssen die Technologie, mit der sie arbeiten, verstehen, um Risiken für die Grundrechte der Nutzer zu erkennen. Zudem müssen sie in der Lage sein, die Technologie kompetent auszuwählen, zu konfigurieren und zu betreiben, um Verletzungen der Rechte der betroffenen Personen zu verhindern.

In der Vergangenheit haben Wissensunsicherheiten dazu geführt, dass kleine Websites und Blogs in großem Umfang geschlossen wurden. Dies wurde als „Webseiten-Sterben“ bekannt. Die Folgen sind gravierend, nicht nur für die Betreiber der Website selbst. Wenn Websites nicht in Übereinstimmung mit den Datenschutzbestimmungen eingerichtet werden, sind die Grundrechte der betroffenen Personen gefährdet, vor allem aufgrund mangelnder Kompetenz der für die Verantwortlichen der Datenverarbeitung.

In diesem Forschungsprojekt entwickeln wir gemeinsam mit mehreren Forschungspartnern Lösungen, die Webseitenbetreibern helfen, ihre Wissensunsicherheiten zu überwinden. Durch die Festlegung von Bestimmungen der DS-GVO für den Betrieb von Webseiten schaffen wir Kriterien, die festlegen, wie Website-Owner ihren Blog in Übereinstimmung mit der DS-GVO betreiben sollen.

Dieses Grundlagenforschungsprojekt soll im Anschluss auf andere datenschutzrechtlich relevante Bereiche – über das Webhosting hinaus – ausgedehnt werden. Parallel dazu werden die wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen dieser Mechanismen untersucht, wobei das Projekt letztendlich zur Standardisierung im Bereich des Datenschutzes beiträgt und den Stand der Technik bei technischen und organisatorischen Schutzmaßnahmen vorantreibt.

 

Kontakt

Kevin Klug

Assoziierter Forscher: Daten, Akteure, Infrastrukturen

Maximilian von Grafenstein, Prof. Dr.

Assoziierter Forscher, Co-Forschungsprogrammleiter

Jörg Pohle, Dr.

Forschungsprogrammleiter: Daten, Akteure, Infrastrukturen

Nuri Khadem

Assoziierter Forscher: Daten, Akteure, Infrastrukturen

Unterstützen Sie unsere Forschung

Hier erhalten Sie mehr Informationen, wie Sie uns fördern können.