Organisation

HIIG is a publicly and privately funded independent research institute whose work complies with scientific quality standards and transparency rules. The founding partners – the Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, the Berlin University of the Arts (UdK) and the WZB Berlin Social Science Center, along with its integrated cooperation partner the Hans-Bredow-Institut for Media Research in Hamburg – established the institute through a donor pledge by Google, in order to develop multifaceted perspectives that shed light on technological, legal, social, economic and creative issues regarding the internet.

HIIG ORGANIGRAMM EN

Governing body and supporters

The governing body of the institute is the Foundation Internet and Society comprised of the founding academic institutions as permanent members of the foundation board. Over time, the institute has been further funded and supported – next to the initial and ongoing financing by Google – by additional sponsors and partners (e.g. CISCO, KPMG, innogy foundation for energy and society or the VolkswagenStiftung) as well as by public third-party funding, e.g. the Federal Ministry for Education and Research and the Federal Ministry of Economy.

Foundation Board

The Foundation Board, comprising founding partners and well-known personalities from science and society, supervises the structural and strategic development of the Foundation Internet and Society. The Executive Board officially represents the Foundation Internet and Society. Two academic directors of the HIIG gGmbH form the current Executive Board: Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Schildhauer and Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schulz were appointed as chairmen.

Advisory Council & Ombudsperson

The Advisory Council advises the research agenda and critically evaluates the thematic focus of the institute and thereby helps to ensure the independence of the research. Next to the Advisory Council an ombudsperson has been elected, who is a contact person for employees and researchers of the HIIG based on the suggestions for safeguarding good scientific practice at HIIG.

Scientific lead

The scientific lead of the institute is determined by the academic directors, who represent the various scientific disciplines. They design the research agenda of the institute, arrange joint research projects and scientific events. The academic directors elect a speaker, who represents the institute on scientific matters to the wider public. They are supported by an administrative management team. Prof. Dr. Jeanette Hofmann is elected speaker of the HIIG. Managing director is Dr. Karina Preiß.

HIIG's Structure

Want to know more about how our institute works?

About the institute

Financing and Supporters

Contact

Karina Preiss, Dr.

Managing Director
info@hiig.de

Support us

Via the Internet & Society Foundation or with a donation.

About HIIG

The HIIG researches the development of the internet from a societal perspective with the aim to better understand the digitalisation of all spheres of life.

Keep in touch

Sign up for our newsletters.

Organisation

Das Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG) ist ein unabhängiges, privat und öffentlich finanziertes Forschungsinstitut, dessen Arbeit wissenschaftlichen Qualitätsstandards und Transparenzregeln folgt. Die Gründungsgesellschafter – die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die Universität der Künste Berlin und das Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung, ergänzt durch den integrierten Kooperationspartner Hans-Bredow-Institut für Medienforschung in Hamburg – haben das Institut durch eine Spende von Google errichtet, um die Entwicklung des Internets aus vielschichtigen Perspektiven zu erforschen.

Organigramm DE

Institutsträger und Förderer

Träger des Instituts ist die Stiftung Internet und Gesellschaft, mit den akademischen Gründungsinstitutionen als dauerhaften Mitgliedern des Stifterrates. Im Laufe der Jahre hat das Institut neben der initialen und fortlaufenden Finanzierung von der GFI GmbH (Fördergesellschaft von Google) viele weitere Förderer, Kooperationspartner und Mittelgeber gewonnen (z.B. CISCO, KPMG, innogy Stiftung für Energie und Gesellschaft, VolkswagenStiftung) und zudem öffentlich finanzierte Drittmittel (z.B. BMBF, BMWi).

Stifterrat & Vorstand

Der Stifterrat, bestehend aus Vertreterinnen und Vertretern der Gründungsgesellschaftern (HU, UdK und WZB), einem Vertreter der GFI GmbH (Fördergesellschaft von Google) und Persönlichkeiten aus Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft ist das Aufsichtsgremium der Stiftung Internet und Gesellschaft. Der Vorstand der Stiftung Internet und Gesellschaft vertritt diese nach außen. Den aktuellen Vorstand bilden zwei Forschungsdirektoren der HIIG gGmbH: Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Schildhauer und Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schulz.

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat & Ombudsperson

Der Wissenschaftliche Beirat begleitet und evaluiert die Forschungsagenda und inhaltliche Ausrichtung des Instituts und trägt damit zur Sicherung der Unabhängigkeit der Forschungsarbeit bei. Ergänzend zum Wissenschaftlichen Beirat wurde eine Ombudsperson gewählt, welche auf der Grundlage der Richtlinien zur Sicherung guter wissenschaftlichen Praxis des HIIG als Ansprechpartner für alle Beschäftigten und NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen des HIIG in Fragen guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis zur Verfügung steht.

Wissenschaftliche Leitung

Die wissenschaftliche Leitung des Instituts obliegt den Forschungsdirektorinnen und Forschungsdirektoren, die verschiedene wissenschaftliche Disziplinen vertreten. Sie entwerfen die Forschungsagenda des Instituts, führen gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte und wissenschaftliche Veranstaltungen durch. Sie wählen einen Sprecher oder eine Sprecherin, der oder die das Institut in wissenschaftlichen Fragen nach außen vertritt. Das Forschungsdirektorium wird durch eine administrative Geschäftsführung unterstützt. Diese vertritt das Institut in allen übrigen Angelegenheiten. Zur Sprecherin des HIIG wurde Prof. Dr. Jeanette Hofmann gewählt. Administrative Geschäftsführerin ist Dr. Karina Preiß.

Struktur des HIIG

Wollen Sie mehr darüber herausfinden, wie wir arbeiten?

Über das Institut

Finanzierung und Förderung

Kontakt

Karina Preiss, Dr.

Geschäftsführerin
info@hiig.de

Unterstützen Sie uns

Über die Stiftung für Internet und Gesellschaft oder mit einer Spende.

Über das HIIG

Das HIIG erforscht die Entwicklung des Internets aus einer gesellschaftlichen Perspektive mit dem Ziel, die damit einhergehende Digitalisierung aller Lebensbereiche besser zu verstehen.

Bleiben Sie in Kontakt

Melden Sie sich für unsere Newsletter an.