Open Science at HIIG

Open Science at HIIG

Opening up academia

Open science is an umbrella term for initiatives that aim to make academic research more accessible, inclusive, and transparent using digital technology. At the HIIG we are committed to open science since the very beginning – in research and in practice.

Our own in-house journals and blogs – the Internet Policy Review, Elephant in the Lab and Digital Society Blog – follow open science principles. As an institutional policy, we cover the costs for open access publications – accessible online free of charge and as free of technical and legal barriers as possible. Within our research program “Knowledge & society”, we conduct research on open infrastructures, open access business models and research integrity.

By open science, we also mean open to society. We therefore engage productively with stakeholders for our research through various outreach and event formats. Below we listed our current projects.

Contact

Benedikt Fecher, Dr.

Head of Research Programme: Knowledge & Society

About HIIG

The HIIG researches the development of the internet from a societal perspective with the aim to better understand the digitalisation of all spheres of life.

Keep in touch

Sign up for our newsletters.

Future events

Open Science research

OPEN SCIENCE RESEARCH PROJECTS AT HIIG

DREAM (Digital Research Mining)

As part of the DREAM project, a mobile application is being developed that simplifies the search for scientific open access…

Pelagios

Pelagios Network: Linking the places of your past

Being able to link one document to another — and move easily between them — is one of the enabling…

Opening Science

It seems as though the digitalisation of research is accompanied by a revision of established research practices and an opening of the research process. In the lead project Open Science we examine the mentioned changes.

OPEN SCIENCE IN PRACTICE

ENGAGING IN SCIENCE

DIGITAL SOCIETY BLOG

Making sense of our connected world.

ELEPHANT IN THE LAB

Discussing bold ideas and critical thoughts on science: a blog journal on research (mal-) practices.

INTERNET POLICY REVIEW

Open Access peer-reviewed online journal on internet policy and regulation.

MAKING SENSE OF DIGITAL SOCIETY

Academic lecture series by HIIG and BPB with lecturers like Manuel Castells and Eva Illouz.

IMPACT SCHOOL

Summer school teaching impact to researchers in order to increase the social impact of science.

DIGITALER SALON

Monthly panel discussion on our connected society.

OPEN SCIENCE IN PRACTICE

OPEN SCIENCE PUBLICATIONS AT THE INSTITUTE

Selected Publications

Open Access, Innovation and Research Infrastructure

In this article we argue that the current endeavors to achieve open access in scientific literature require a discussion about innovation in scholarly publishing and research infrastructure. Drawing on path dependence theory and addressing different open access (OA) models and recent political endeavors, we argue that academia is once again running the risk of outsourcing the organization of its content.

Teach young scientists the importance of societal impact for research

Degree theses and university classes in academic publishing are generally structured with bibliometric output in mind because that is the main driver of tenure and promotion. They rarely touch on the merits of societal impact. This monotheistic evaluation of academic pursuits means that few faculty members make time for public outreach. Even new journals for applied excellence address a symptom of insufficient societal impact in research, not the cause.

Teach young scientists the importance of societal impact for research

Open Science: One term, five schools of thought

Open Science is an umbrella term encompassing a multitude of assumptions about the future of knowledge creation and dissemination. Based on a literature review, this chapter aims at structuring the overall discourse by proposing five Open Science schools of thought: The infrastructure school (which is concerned with the technological architecture), the public school (which is concerned with the accessibility of knowledge creation), the measurement school (which is concerned with alternative impact measurement), the democratic school(which is concerned with access to knowledge) and the pragmatic school (which is concerned with collaborative research).

Open Access One Term Five Schools of Thought

HIIG Podcast

Podcast

Open Science at HIIG

Open Science am HIIG

Was ist Open Science?

Akademische Forschung und Praxis öffnen

Open Science ist ein Sammelbegriff für Initiativen, die akademische Forschung mittels digitaler Technologien zugänglicher, inklusiver und transparenter gestalten wollen. Am HIIG waren und sind wir von Beginn an Open Science verpflichtet - in unserer Forschung und unseren institutionellen Abläufen.

Unsere im Hause publizierten Journals und Blogs – Internet Policy Review, Elephant in the Lab und der Digital Society Blog – folgen den Prinzipien von Open Science. Als Grundsatz übernehmen wir als Institut die Kosten für frei zugängliche Publikationen. Innerhalb unseres Forschungsprogrammes „Wissen & Gesellschaft“ forschen wir an den Infrastrukturen hinter freier Zugänglichkeit, Open-Access-Geschäftsmodellen und der Integrität von Forschung.

Wenn wir „Open Science“ sagen, meinen wir auch „offen für die Gesellschaft“. Deswegen tauschen wir uns mit Stakeholdern aus der Wissenschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und den Medien auseinander. In zahlreichen Veranstaltungen und Formaten der Wissenschaftskommunikation präsentieren wir Forschungsergebnisse und treten in engen Austausch mit anderen AkteurInnen. Hier listen wir unsere derzeitigen Projekte und Open-Science-Formate.

Kontakt

Benedikt Fecher, Dr.

Forschungsprogrammleiter: Wissen & Gesellschaft

Über das HIIG

Das HIIG erforscht die Entwicklung des Internets aus einer gesellschaftlichen Perspektive mit dem Ziel, die damit einhergehende Digitalisierung aller Lebensbereiche besser zu verstehen.

Newsletter

Sie möchten aktuelle Nachrichten zu Internet- und Gesellschaftsforschung erhalten?

Dann melden Sie sich jetzt für den Newsletter an.

Zukünftige Veranstaltungen

Open Science in der Forschung

OPEN-SCIENCE-FORSCHUNGSPROJEKTE AM HIIG

DREAM (Digital Research Mining)

Im Rahmen des Projekts DREAM wird eine App entwickelt, welche bei der Recherche von frei verfügbaren wissenschaftlichen Inhalten unterstützt und…

Pelagios

Pelagios Network: Verbundene Vergangenheiten

Die Möglichkeit, ein Dokument mit einem anderen zu verknüpfen und sich leicht zwischen ihnen zu bewegen, ist eines der wichtigsten…

Opening Science

Im Projekt Opening Science untersuchen wir, wie sich Wissenschaft – und damit die Art und Weise, wie Wissenschaftler Wissen produzieren,…

Open-Science-Praxis

WISSENSCHAFT IN AKTION

DIGITAL SOCIETY BLOG

Wissen über unsere vernetzte Welt: Der Blog von Internetforschenden und digitalen Querdenkenden.

INTERNET POLICY REVIEW

Internet Policy Review ist eine vom HIIG herausgegebene Open-Access-Zeitschrift zum Thema Internetregulierung.

ELEPHANT IN THE LAB

Mutige Ideen und kritische Gedanken: In diesem Journal geht es um die Elefanten im Raum in der Wissenschaft.

MAKING SENSE OF THE DIGITAL SOCIETY

Akademische Redenreihe des HIIG und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb u.a. mit Manuel Castells und Eva Illouz.

IMPACT SCHOOL

Eine Summer School mit dem Ziel, ForscherInnen das Thema Impact näher zu bringen, um die soziale Relevanz ihrer Forschung zu erhöhen.

DIGITALER SALON

Auf Anwortsuche in der digitalen Gesellschaft: Das monatliche Talkformat am HIIG.

Open-Science-Praxis

OPEN ACCESS PUBLIKATIONEN AM INSTITUT

Ausgewählte Publikationen

Was gewinnen wir durch Open Science und Open Innovation?

Innovation und Wissenschaft haben in Deutschland einen hohen Stellenwert. Wirtschaft, private Wissenschaftsförderer und der Staat arbeiten bei der Förderung der beiden Bereiche eng zusammen. Gemeinsam haben sie ihre Aufwendungen für Forschung und Entwicklung in den letzten Jahren deutlich gesteigert. Der Erfolg lässt sich auch in verschiedenen aktuellen internationalen Vergleichsstudien ablesen, in denen Deutschland einen der führenden Plätze einnimmt.

Was gewinnen wir durch Open Science und Open Innovation?

Teach young scientists the importance of societal impact for research

Degree theses and university classes in academic publishing are generally structured with bibliometric output in mind because that is the main driver of tenure and promotion. They rarely touch on the merits of societal impact. This monotheistic evaluation of academic pursuits means that few faculty members make time for public outreach.

Teach young scientists the importance of societal impact for research

Open Science: One term, five schools of thought

Open Science is an umbrella term encompassing a multitude of assumptions about the future of knowledge. This chapter proposes five Open Science schools of thought: The infrastructure school (concerned with the technological architecture), the public school (concerned with the accessibility of knowledge creation), the measurement school (concerned with alternative impact measurement), the democratic school (concerned with access to knowledge) and the pragmatic school (concerned with collaborative research).

HIIG Podcast

Podcast

Open-Science-Praxis

OPEN ACCESS AM HIIG

Die wichtigsten Fragen und Antworten

Das Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft verpflichtet sich dem freien Zugang zu Wissen und ermutigt alle seine Mitarbeiter*innen, Assoziierten und Fellows, ihre Forschungsergebnisse (Publikationen; aber auch Forschungsdaten und Code) direkt offen zu publizieren oder nachträglich elektronisch zugänglich zu machen. Als unabhängiges Forschungsinstitut mit Projekten in öffentlicher oder privater Trägerschaft kommuniziert das HIIG seine Forschungsergebnisse in Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft; als Ort internationaler, europäischer und interdisziplinärer Forschung nimmt das HIIG seine Verantwortung zum Austausch ohne (Publikations-)Grenzen wahr. Vor diesem Hintergrund tritt das HIIG für Bibliodiversität ein, unterstützt Reformbestrebungen für das wissenschaftliche Publikations- wie Evaluationssystems und fördert inklusive, zielgruppengerechte Austauschformate (vgl. Jussieu Call). 

Die nachfolgenden Informationen sollen eine erste Orientierung bieten und praktisch bei der Konzeption und Finanzierung von Open-Access-Publikationen sowie Forschungsdaten unterstützen. Für Rückfragen steht der Open-Access-Officer des HIIG, Marcel Wrzesinski, jederzeit zur Verfügung. Darüber hinaus gibt es in regelmäßigen Abständen Workshops zu Open Access und Open Science am HIIG.

Open Access am HIIG

FAQs für Autor*innen

Open Access am HIIG

FAQs für Forschungsprogramme/-projekte/-gruppen

Weiterführende Quellen

FAQs zu Open Access der DFG
https://www.dfg.de/foerderung/faq/open_access_faq/index.html

Open-Access-Strategie des BMBF
https://www.bmbf.de/upload_filestore/pub/Open_Access_in_Deutschland.pdf

Allgemeine Informationen des deutschsprachigen Informationsportals zu Open Access
https://open-access.net/informationen-fuer-verschiedene-zielgruppen

Informationsseite des HIIG zum Thema Open Science
https://www.hiig.de/open-science/

Infoseite des Internet Policy Review zu Open access
https://policyreview.info/openaccess