European Perspective

Global network for internet research

The Global Network of Internet and Society Research Centers (NoC) is an initiative started in 2012, which aims to increase cooperation between participating centres in order to facilitate knowledge exchange, realise synergies and collectively confront transnational issues on a global level. In the process, they grapple with a variety of topics of both domestic and global importance: policy, regulation and governance, human behaviour and social impact, new markets and business models, intellectual property, privacy and security, and many other issues.  The Network initiates and facilitates joint research activities and events and thereby has added a global perspective on the current debates on internet and society.

European Hub for Internet and Society

The European perspective on global issues

In 2017, representatives of 15 European internet research institutes launched the European Hub for Internet and Society, a platform for scientific exchange and cooperation in Europe. The Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG) is developing the research platform and will be coordinating the cooperation for the first two years. The first common research focus is the topic of “artificial intelligence”.

Therefore, some first steps have already been taken to facilitate exchange between outstanding researchers on the effects of “artificial intelligence” on human rights: Most noteworthy, HIIG and the Hans-Bredow-Institute for Media Research (HBI) organised the workshop Algorithmic Decision Making and its Human Rights Implications.

“European research traditions and theories will be able to make an even bigger contribution to our understanding of the digital society. We at HIIG are pleased to support this process.”

Wolfgang Schulz, director of HIIG

Past events of the network

Date/TimeEvent
08.11.2017 - 10.11.2017
All Day
Artificial Intelligence and Inclusion Symposium
MUSEU DO AMANHÃ / Museum of Tomorrow, Rio de Janeiro Brazil
12.10.2017 - 13.10.2017
All Day
Algorithmic Decision Making and its Human Rights Implications
Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, Berlin
08.10.2016
16:00 - 18:00
NoC Working Meeting @AoIR 2016
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Berlin
27.11.2015
9:00 - 15:00
Internet & Society: Emerging topics and research communities
Hong Kong Country Club, Hong Kong Hong Kong
25.04.2014 - 26.04.2014
9:00 - 16:00
Multi-Stakeholder Internet Governance Models, Mechanisms and Issues
22.04.2014
15:00 - 19:00
International Seminar on Internet Governance – Preparatory to NETmundial
23.11.2013
9:00 - 13:30
NoC Regional Conference Germany 2013
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin | Room E25, Berlin
22.11.2013
8:30 - 19:30
Chances and Risks of Social Participation
Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung e.V., Berlin
23.05.2013
All Day
NoC Regional Con Turkey: ICT, Law, and Innovation
Hilton Convention Center, Istanbul, Turkey, Istanbul

European Perspective

Globales Netzwerk für Internetforschung

Das Global Network of Internet and Society Research Centers (NoC) ist eine 2012 gestartete Initiative wissenschaftlicher Institutionen im Bereich Internet und Gesellschaft mit dem Ziel, die Zusammenarbeit der teilnehmenden Institute zu stärken und globale Fragen gemeinsam anzugehen. Dabei setzt sich das Netzwerk mit Themen lokaler, nationaler und globaler Bedeutung auseinander: Policy, Regulierung und Governance, menschliches Verhalten, neue Märkte und Businessmodelle, Immaterialgüterrecht, Privacy, Sicherheit und vielen anderen mehr. Durch gemeinsame Forschungsaktivitäten, Veranstaltungen und den Austausch der einzelnen Forschungseinrichtungen wird der Diskurs zu digitaler Transformation um eine globale, interdisziplinäre Perspektive ergänzt.

European Hub für Internet und Gesellschaft

Europäische Perspektive auf globale Themen

2017 riefen VertreterInnen von 15 europäischen Forschungsinstituten einen Hub für wissenschaftlichen Austausch und Zusammenarbeit in Europa ins Leben. Das Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG) baut die Forschungsplattform auf und koordiniert die Zusammenarbeit. Ein gemeinsamer Forschungsschwerpunkt in der Anfangsphase ist das Thema künstliche Intelligenz. Das europäische Netzwerk umfasst aktuell 27 Institutionen aus ganz Europa. 

„Mit dem European Hub innerhalb des internationalen Network of Centers wollen wir die europäische Internetforschung stärken. Europäische Forschungstraditionen und Theorien können einen noch größeren Beitrag zum Verständnis der Digitalen Gesellschaft leisten.“

HIIG-Direktor Wolfgang Schulz

Vergangene Veranstaltungen des Netzwerks

Date/TimeEvent
08.11.2017 - 10.11.2017
All Day
Artificial Intelligence and Inclusion Symposium
MUSEU DO AMANHÃ / Museum of Tomorrow, Rio de Janeiro Brazil
12.10.2017 - 13.10.2017
All Day
Algorithmische Entscheidungen und deren menschenrechtliche Auswirkungen
Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft, Berlin
08.10.2016
16:00 - 18:00
NoC Arbeitstreffen @AoIR 2016
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Berlin
27.11.2015
9:00 - 15:00
Internet & Society: Emerging topics and research communities | Konferenz
Hong Kong Country Club, Hong Kong Hong Kong
25.04.2014 - 26.04.2014
9:00 - 16:00
Multi–Stakeholder Internet Governance Models, Mechanisms and Issues | Diskussion
22.04.2014
15:00 - 19:00
Internationales Seminar zu Internet Governance
22.11.2013
8:30 - 19:30
Chancen und Risiken der gesellschaftlichen Partizipation
Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung e.V., Berlin
23.05.2013
All Day
NoC Regional Con Turkey: ICT, Law, and Innovation
Hilton Convention Center, Istanbul, Turkey, Istanbul