Skip to content

Maurice Jones

Maurice Jones is a curator, producer, and AI policy researcher based in Tokyo, Japan. Following ventures into journalism and business consultancy, he has been producing, curating and communicating the electronic music and digital arts festival MUTEK.JP following its arrival in Tokyo in 2016. As MUTEK.JP’s Artistic & Communications Director, he is committed to the promotion of electronic music and digital art in Japan within a global context.

As curator and producer Maurice explores the application of new technologies, such as Artificial Intelligence or Virtual Reality in initiatives that investigate these in a cross-cultural context. Most recently this manifested in him curating and facilitating the MUTEK.JP VR Salon (January 2019), the MUTEK.JP AI Music Lab (November 2019) and the MUTEK AI Art Lab (March 2020). These endeavours directly resulted in new performances, artworks, and releases presented around the world.

His professional activities combined with his academic background in Cultural Studies and International Relations guide his interdisciplinary research interest in exploring cross-cultural visions of Artificial Intelligence and their impact on governance efforts. By investigating the diversity of cultural perspectives on AI Maurice ultimately seeks to foster intercultural understanding by inspiring an open and inclusive discourse around this novel technology.

 

Maurice Jones | HIIG

Position

Fellow: The Evolving Digital Society

Zum Inhalt springen

Maurice Jones

Maurice Jones ist Kurator, Produzent und Forscher für KI-Politik mit Sitz in Tokio, Japan. Nach Abstechern in den Journalismus und die Unternehmensberatung produziert, kuratiert und kommuniziert er das Festival für elektronische Musik und digitale Kunst MUTEK.JP, das seit 2016 in Tokio stattfindet. Als künstlerischer und kommunikativer Leiter von MUTEK.JP setzt er sich für die Förderung von elektronischer Musik und digitaler Kunst in Japan in einem globalen Kontext ein.

Als Kurator und Produzent erforscht Maurice die Anwendung neuer Technologien, wie Künstliche Intelligenz oder Virtual Reality in Initiativen, die diese in einem kulturübergreifenden Kontext untersuchen. Zuletzt manifestierte sich dies darin, dass er den MUTEK.JP VR Salon (Januar 2019), das MUTEK.JP AI Music Lab (November 2019) und das MUTEK AI Art Lab (März 2020) kuratierte und moderierte. Diese Bemühungen führten direkt zu neuen Performances, Kunstwerken und Veröffentlichungen, die auf der ganzen Welt präsentiert wurden.

Seine beruflichen Aktivitäten in Kombination mit seinem akademischen Hintergrund in Kulturwissenschaften und internationalen Beziehungen leiten sein interdisziplinäres Forschungsinteresse an der Erforschung kulturübergreifender Visionen von Künstlicher Intelligenz und deren Auswirkungen auf Governance-Bemühungen. Durch die Erforschung der Vielfalt kultureller Perspektiven auf KI möchte Maurice letztlich das interkulturelle Verständnis fördern, indem er einen offenen und inklusiven Diskurs über diese neuartige Technologie anregt.

Maurice Jones | HIIG

Position

Fellow: Entwicklung der digitalen Gesellschaft