Maria Gradl

Maria Gradl is a student assistant in the research group “Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Society” at the Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG). There she works in the research project “_Gemeinsam Digital”, which is part of the AI strategy of the German government. The initiative aims to support small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in their digital transformation.

In a podcast format, she regularly interviews SMEs and explores the question: How far has digitization progressed in SMEs? In the AI consultation Maria advises companies that pursue the goal of implementing AI or transforming themselves digitally.

After her Bachelor (B.A.) in Journalism, she worked in a digital agency to explore digitization and all its attendants at close quarters. In a subsequent professional station she worked in the field of press and public relations. 

Maria is currently studying Religious and Cultural Studies (M.A.) at the Humboldt University in Berlin. For her current research on “social credit rating systems” she completed a six-month research stay at the Shanghai International Studies University (SISU) in China in 2019. Besides her academic work at HIIG, she works as a journalist in the fields of digitization and digital policy. 

staff dummy

Position

Student Assistant: Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Society

Maria Gradl

Maria Gradl ist studentische Mitarbeiterin in der Forschungsgruppe „Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Gesellschaft“ am Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG). Dort arbeitet sie im Forschungsprojekt „_Gemeinsam Digital“, das Teil der KI-Strategie der Bundesregierung ist. Die Initiative verfolgt das Ziel, kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) bei der digitalen Transformation zu unterstützen.

In einem Podcast-Format interviewt sie regelmäßig Unternehmer*innen und verfolgt dabei die Frage: Wie weit ist die Digitalisierung im Mittelstand? In der KI-Sprechstunde berät Maria Unternehmen die das Ziel verfolgen, KI zu implementieren oder sich digital zu transformieren.

Nach ihrem Bachelor (B.A.) der Journalistik arbeitete sie in einer Digitalagentur, um die Digitalisierung mit all ihren Begleitern aus nächster Nähe zu erkunden. In einer darauffolgenden beruflichen Station arbeite sie in der Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit.

Derzeit studiert Maria Religions- und Kulturwissenschaft (M.A) an der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin. Für ihre derzeitige Forschung zum Thema „soziale Bonitätssysteme“ absolvierte sie 2019 einen sechs-monatigen Forschungsaufenthalt an der Shanghai International Studies University (SISU) in China. Neben ihrer wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit am HIIG arbeitet sie als Journalistin in den Bereichen Digitalisierung und Digitalpolitik.

staff dummy

Position

Studentische Mitarbeiterin: Innovation, Entrepreneurship & Gesellschaft