lecture series

Making Sense of the Digital Society

The current rapid social and technological change brings about enormous uncertainties – a great need for explanations and sense-making but also of shaping our common future. This high-profile lecture series thrives to develop a European perspective on the processes of transformation that our societies are currently undergoing. To this end, the Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG) and the German Federal Agency for Civic Education (bpb) are inviting great European thinkers to help us making sense of the digital society.

What is really changing in society beyond the hype of short-term excitement? What is power in the digital society, and how is it distributed? Do we witness the revival of democracy through increased participation and transparency, or rather its demise due to fragmentation and populism? Are services fueled by algorithms and artificial intelligence improving our private and business lives or do they enforce social inequalities? How does urban life change in times of digitization and what role do infrastructures take?

The series began in late 2017 with a kick-off event with Manuel Castells, author of the influential "Information Age" trilogy and professor at the University of Southern California. Other speakers included Elena Esposito, Professor of Sociology at Bielefeld University, Nick Couldry, Professor of Media, Communications and Social Theory at London LSE, and Andreas Reckwitz, Professor of Comparative Cultural Sociology at European University Viadrina. All speeches can be listened to in the playlist, further information on the events can be found below.

All events in the series will be moderated by Tobi Müller. They are held in English and translated simultaneously into German.

 

 

 

 

Upcoming events in this series

Date/TimeEvent
06.03.2019
18:30 - 22:00
Eva Illouz: Capitalist subjectivity and the internet
HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU 1), Berlin

 

Past events

Date/TimeEvent
11.12.2018
18:30 - 22:00
Andreas Reckwitz: Digitalisation and society of singularities
Georg-Neumann-Saal (Jazz-Institut Berlin), Berlin
20.11.2018
18:30 - 22:00
Nick Couldry: Colonised by data – the hollowing out of digital society
Auditorium Friedrichstraße, Berlin
16.10.2018
19:00 - 22:00
Cancelled - Shoshana Zuboff: Surveillance Capitalism and Democracy
Kino International, Berlin
24.09.2018
19:00 - 22:00
Stephen Graham: The politics of urban digital infrastructures
Säälchen – Holzmarkt, Berlin
07.05.2018
19:00 - 22:00
Marion Fourcade: Social order in the digital society
Langenbeck-Virchow-Haus, Berlin
12.03.2018
19:00 - 22:00
Elena Esposito: Future and uncertainty in the digital society
Auditorium Friedrichstraße, Berlin
30.01.2018
19:00 - 22:00
Christoph Neuberger: Democracy and public sphere in the digital society
Tagungswerk, Berlin
12.12.2017
19:00 - 22:00
Manuel Castells: Power and counter-power in the digital society
Kino International, Berlin

Contact

Christian Katzenbach, Prof. Dr.

Co-Research Programme Manager: The Development of the Digital Society

Past lectures

Keep in touch

Sign up for our newsletters.

Redenreihe digital society

Making Sense of the Digital Society

Der derzeit rapide voranschreitende technologische Wandel ruft enorme Ungewissheiten hervor – und damit die Notwendigkeit für Erklärungen, die uns dabei helfen unsere Situation besser zu verstehen und die Zukunft gestalten zu können. Diese hochklassige Redenreihe hat das Ziel eine europäische Perspektive auf den gegenwärtigen Transformationsprozess zu entwickeln. Dafür laden das Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG) und die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb) europäische Denkerinnen und Denker ein, die uns dabei helfen die digitale Gesellschaft besser zu verstehen.

Die folgenden grundlegenden Fragen werden im Verlauf der Redenreihe adressiert: Was ändert sich wirklich in unserer Gesellschaft, abgesehen von kurzfristigen Trends und Erregungswellen? Wie äußert sich Macht in der digitalen Gesellschaft und wie ist sie verteilt? Sind wir Zeugen einer Wiederbelebung der Demokratie durch verstärkte Transparenz und Partizipation, oder eher ihres Niedergangs aufgrund von fragmentierter Öffentlichkeit und Beschneidung der Privatsphäre? Verbessern Dienste, die mit Hilfe von Algorithmen und künstlicher Intelligenz operieren unser Leben, oder verstärken sie bestehende soziale Ungleichheiten? Wie verändern sich Städte im Zuge der Digitalisierung und welche Rolle nehmen Infrastrukturen dabei ein?

Ende 2017 begann die Redenreihe mit einer Auftaktveranstaltung mit Manuel Castells, dem Autor der einflussreichen "Information Age"-Trilogie und Professor an der University of Southern California. Weitere Vorträge hielten u.a. Elena Esposito, Professorin für Soziologie an der Universität Bielefeld, Nick Couldry, Professor of Media, Communications and Social Theory and der Londoner LSE und Eva Illouz, Professorin für Soziologie an der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem. Alle Reden finden Sie zum Nachhören in der Playlist, weitere Informationen zu den Veranstaltungen gibt es untenstehend.

Kommende bestätigte Rednerinnen sind José van Dijck, Professorin für Media and Digital Society an der Universität Utrecht, und Louise Amoore, Professorin für Politische Geografie an der Durham University.

Alle Veranstaltungen der Reihe werden von Tobi Müller moderiert.

 

 

 

Kommende Veranstaltungen der Redenreihe

Date/TimeEvent
05.06.2019
18:30 - 22:00
José van Dijck: Europa und Plattform-Gesellschaften
Säälchen – Holzmarkt, Berlin

 

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

Date/TimeEvent
16.04.2019
18:30 - 22:00
Dirk Baecker: Digitalisierung und die nächste Gesellschaft
HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU 1), Berlin
06.03.2019
18:30 - 22:00
Eva Illouz: Capitalist subjectivity and the internet
HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU 1), Berlin
11.12.2018
18:30 - 22:00
Andreas Reckwitz: Digitalisierung und Gesellschaft der Singularitäten
Georg-Neumann-Saal (Jazz-Institut Berlin), Berlin
20.11.2018
18:30 - 22:00
Nick Couldry: Datenkolonialismus – die Aushöhlung der digitalen Gesellschaft
Auditorium Friedrichstraße, Berlin
16.10.2018
19:00 - 22:00
Abgesagt - Shoshana Zuboff: Überwachungskapitalismus und Demokratie
Kino International, Berlin
24.09.2018
19:00 - 22:00
Stephen Graham: Die Politik der digitalen Infrastruktur in der Stadt
Säälchen – Holzmarkt, Berlin
07.05.2018
19:00 - 22:00
Marion Fourcade: Die Sozialordnung der digitalen Gesellschaft
Langenbeck-Virchow-Haus, Berlin
12.03.2018
19:00 - 22:00
Elena Esposito: Zukunft und Ungewissheit in der digitalen Gesellschaft
Auditorium Friedrichstraße, Berlin
30.01.2018
19:00 - 22:00
Christoph Neuberger: Demokratie und Öffentlichkeit in der digitalen Gesellschaft
Tagungswerk, Berlin
12.12.2017
19:00 - 22:00
Manuel Castells: Macht in der digitalen Gesellschaft
Kino International, Berlin

Kontakt

Christian Katzenbach, Dr.

Co-Forschungsprogrammleiter: Die Entwicklung der digitalen Gesellschaft

DOSSIER ZUR REDENREIHE

Die digitale Gesellschaft erkunden

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

Bleiben Sie in Kontakt

Melden Sie sich für unsere Newsletter an.