Skip to content

Laura Liebig

Laura Liebig is part of the international research project Shaping 21st Century AI – Controversies  and Closure in Media, Policy, and Research“. Her research interest and promotion topic is focused  on the interdependency between the media discourse and policy decisions. 

After her bachelor studies in the subjects media and communications as well as political science,  Laura studied in the English-language master’s program „Digital Media and Society“ at the  University of Bremen. During her studies, she focused on several theoretical concepts, for  instance, the mediatization theory, datafication, algorithms, and the construction of social reality,  and wrote her thesis on the topic of „Pandemic Conspiracies“.  

Previously, Laura was able to gain work experience and perceived the digitalization of agencies,  start-ups, and editorial offices in practice. Besides her work at HIIG, she teaches seminars on the  topics „Media System and Media Change“ at the University of Bremen. 

dummy

Position

Researcher: The evolving digital society

Zum Inhalt springen

Laura Liebig

Laura Liebig arbeitet als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im internationalen  Forschungsprojekt „Shaping 21st Century AI – Konflikte und Entwicklungspfade in Medien, Politik  und Forschung“. Ihr Forschungsinteresse und Promotionsthema liegt dabei auf den  Wechselwirkungen, die zwischen Medien(-diskurs) und politischen Entscheidungen auftreten. 

Nach ihrem Bachelorstudium in den Fächern Kommunikations- und Medienwissenschaft sowie  Politikwissenschaft studierte Laura im englischsprachigen Master „Digital Media and Society“ an  der Universität Bremen. Während ihres Studiums setzte sie sich mit verschiedenen theoretischen  Konzepten wie der Mediatisierungstheorie, Datafizierung, Algorithmen und der Konstruktion der sozialen Realität auseinander und schrieb ihre Abschlussarbeit zum Thema  „Pandemic Conspiracies“.  

Zuvor konnte Laura Arbeitserfahrung sammeln und die Digitalisierung von Agenturen, Start-ups und Redaktionen in der Praxis erleben. Neben ihrer Arbeit am HIIG  unterrichtet sie außerdem Seminare zum Thema „Mediensystem und Medienwandel“ an der  Universität Bremen. 

 

staff dummy

Position

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin: Entwicklung der digitalen Gesellschaft