Skip to content

Josefa Francke

Josefa Francke is research associate at the Leibniz Institute for Media Research | Hans Bredow Institute (HBI) in the research programme “Regulatory Structures and the Emergence of Rules in Online Spaces”.

She is an associated researcher at the Humboldt-Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG) and part of
the research group “Global Constitutionalism and the Internet”. Her research focus lies on participative-democratic social structures and human rights globally and in the digital space. Josefa Francke is currently working on the project “Platform://Democracy – Global Best Practice Models for the Democratic Design of Hybrid Online Orders” and is investigating ways of rendering commercially oriented, global online platforms accountable to public values.

While studying law at the Friedrich Schiller University in Jena, she specialized in public international law and internet law. She also worked as a student assistant at the chair of Prof. Dr. Achim Seifert for civil law, German and European labor law and comparative law, and took part in the Philip C. Jessup Mootcourt on public international law.

In addition, Josefa Francke studied as a DAAD fellow at the Centre for Human Rights at the University of Pretoria, South Africa, where she concentrated on the democratization of authoritarian systems, transformative constitutionalism, and human rights in Africa and globally. As part of the LLM Multidisciplinary Human Rights, she is conducting research for her master’s thesis on the viability of participatory-democratic global governance and innovative transnational decision-making
procedures rooted in the Internet.

staff dummy

Position

Associated Researcher: Global Constitutionalism and the Internet

Zum Inhalt springen

Josefa Francke

Josefa Francke ist seit April 2022 als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Leibniz-Institut für Medienforschung | Hans-Bredow-Institut (HBI) im Forschungsprogramm 2 – „Regelungsstrukturen und Regelbildung in digitalen Kommunikationsräumen“ tätig.

Sie ist assoziierte Forscherin am Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG) und Teil der Forschungsgruppe „Globaler Konstitutionalismus und das Internet“. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt bei partizipativ-demokratischen gesellschaftlichen Strukturen und Menschenrechten global und im digitalen Raum. Gegenwärtig arbeitet Josefa Francke im Projekt „Plattform://Demokratie – Globale Best Practice Modelle für das demokratische Design hybrider Online-Ordnungen“ und untersucht dabei Wege gesellschaftlicher Rückbindung von kommerziell ausgerichteten, global agierenden Online-Plattformen.

Im Rahmen ihres rechtswissenschaftlichen Studiums an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena spezialisierte sie sich auf das Völkerrecht und Internetrecht. Außerdem arbeitete sie als studentische Hilfskraft am Lehrstuhl von Prof. Dr. Achim Seifert für Bürgerliches Recht, deutsches und europäisches Arbeitsrecht und Rechtsvergleichung und nahm am völkerrechtlichen Philip C. Jessup Mootcourt teil.

Außerdem studierte Josefa Francke als DAAD-Stipendiatin ein Jahr lang am Centre for Human Rights an der University of Pretoria, Südafrika und beschäftigte sich mit der Demokratisierung autoritärer Systeme, transformativem Konstitutionalismus sowie Menschenrechten in Afrika und global. Im Rahmen des LLM Multidisciplinary Human Rights forscht sie in ihrer Masterarbeit zur Viabilität partizipativ-demokratischer Global Governance und innovativen transnationalen Deliberations- und Entscheidungsmechanismen auf Basis des Internets.

Profilbild_Josefa-Francke

Position

Assoziierte Forscherin: Globaler Konstitutionalismus und das Internet

Andere Publikationen

Kettemann, M. C., Fertmann, M., & Francke, J. (2022). Faire Regulierung für Online-Kommunikationsräume. Evangelischer Pressedienst. Weitere Informationen

Francke, J. (2022). Plattformräte: Können sie digitale Plattformen zur Verantwortung drängen? Digital society blog. Weitere Informationen

Kettemann, M.C., Francke, J., Fertmann, M. (2022). Parlamente für Plattformen: Faire Regulierung für Online-Kommunikationsräume. turi2. Weitere Informationen

Medienauftritte

Debatte über Meinungsfreiheit: Brauchen soziale Medien Parlamente? (09.05.2022). Tiroler Tageszeitung
Weitere Informationen