Skip to content

Jakob Stolberg-Larsen

Jakob is a part of the Public Interest AI research group at Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG), which he joined in February 2021. His research is primarily focused on machine learning and artificial neural networks, particularly for computer vision.

Jakob graduated from the University of Copenhagen (UCPH) in 2020. He did both his bachelor and master in mathematics. The bachelor was primarily focused on theoretical mathematics, and he did his thesis on applications of groupoid theory in algebraic topology. During his Master’s, the focus pivoted to more applied mathematics in combination with a number of computer science courses, primarily in the areas of cryptography and machine learning. His thesis was on the latent space geometry of deep generative neural networks, investigating a manifold atlas interpretation of hybrid discrete-continuous latent spaces.

Prior to starting at HIIG, Jakob worked as a research assistant at UCPH, continuing the research of his Master thesis.

In his dissertation at HIIG, Jakob investigates the possibility of using machine learning and computer vision tools to map barrier-free accessibility of public spaces.

staff dummy

Position

Former Researcher: AI & Society Lab

Journal articles and conference proceedings

Asghari, H., Stolberg-Larsen, J., & Züger, T. (2022). Approximating Accessibility of Regions from Incomplete Volunteered Data. CHI EA '22: CHI Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems Extended Abstracts, 1-6. DOI: 10.1145/3491101.3519706 Publication details

Working paper

Asghari, H., Birner, N., Burchardt, A., Dicks, D., Fassbender, J., Feldhus, N., Hewett, F., Hofmann, V., Kettemann, M. C., Schulz, W., Simon, J., Stolberg-Larsen, J., & Züger, T. (2022). What to explain when explaining is difficult. An interdisciplinary primer on XAI and meaningful information in automated decision-making. Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society. DOI: 10.5281/zenodo.6375784 Publication details

Lectures and presentations

AI in the public interest: What does this mean and how can be build it?
Gesellschaft für Informatik: #KICamp21. Gesellschaft für Informatik e.V.. online, Berlin, Germany: 24.02.2022 Further information

Theresa Züger, Hadi Asghari, Freya Hewett, Judith Fassbender, Jakob Stolberg-Larsen

AI with Volunteering Communities
The 3rd Workshop on Artificial Intelligence for Social Good (Session: AI with Volunteering Communities). International Joint Conferences on Artificial Intelligence, Montreal, Canada: 21.08.2021 Further information

Stolberg-Larsen, J.

Participation as expert

Explainable AI
Explainable AI Research Clinic – Explainable AI Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society. Coconat Gutshof, Bad Belzig, Germany: 08.09.2021 Further information

Vincent Hofmann, Jakob Stolberg-Larsen, Freya Hewett, Matthias C. Kettemann, Wolfgang Schulz, Theresa Züger

Zum Inhalt springen

Jakob Stolberg-Larsen

Jakob ist Teil der Public Interest AI Forschungsgruppe am Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG), der er im Februar 2021 beigetreten ist. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich hauptsächlich auf maschinelles Lernen und künstliche neuronale Netze, insbesondere für Computer Vision.

Jakob schloss sein Studium an der Universität Kopenhagen (UCPH) im Jahr 2020 ab. Er hat sowohl seinen Bachelor als auch seinen Master in Mathematik gemacht. Der Bachelor konzentrierte sich hauptsächlich auf theoretische Mathematik. Seine Abschlussarbeit schrieb er über Anwendungen der Gruppoidentheorie in der algebraischen Topologie. Während seines Masterstudiums schwenkte der Fokus mehr auf angewandte Mathematik in Kombination mit einer Reihe von Informatik Kursen, hauptsächlich in den Bereichen Kryptographie und maschinellem Lernen. In seiner Masterarbeit beschäftigte er sich mit der Geometrie latenter Räume in deep generative neural networks und untersuchte eine Mannigfaltigkeiten-Atlas-Interpretation von latenten Räumen, die hybrid diskret-kontinuierlichen sind.

Bevor er am HIIG anfing, arbeitete Jakob als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der UCPH und führte die Forschung seiner Masterarbeit fort.

In seiner Dissertation am HIIG untersucht Jakob die Möglichkeit des Einsatzes von maschinellem Lernen und Computer-Vision-Tools, um die Barrierefreiheit von öffentlichen Räumen abzubilden.

staff dummy

Position

Ehem. Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter: AI & Society Lab

Zeitschriftenartikel und Konferenzbeiträge

Asghari, H., Stolberg-Larsen, J., & Züger, T. (2022). Approximating Accessibility of Regions from Incomplete Volunteered Data. CHI EA '22: CHI Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems Extended Abstracts, 1-6. DOI: 10.1145/3491101.3519706 Weitere Informationen

Vorträge

AI in the public interest: What does this mean and how can be build it?
Gesellschaft für Informatik: #KICamp21. Gesellschaft für Informatik e.V.. online, Berlin, Germany: 24.02.2022 Weitere Informationen

Theresa Züger, Hadi Asghari, Freya Hewett, Judith Fassbender, Jakob Stolberg-Larsen

AI with Volunteering Communities
The 3rd Workshop on Artificial Intelligence for Social Good (Session: AI with Volunteering Communities). International Joint Conferences on Artificial Intelligence, Montreal, Canada: 21.08.2021 Weitere Informationen

Stolberg-Larsen, J.

Teilnahme als ExpertIn

Explainable AI
Explainable AI Research Clinic – Explainable AI Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society. Coconat Gutshof, Bad Belzig, Germany: 08.09.2021 Weitere Informationen

Vincent Hofmann, Jakob Stolberg-Larsen, Freya Hewett, Matthias C. Kettemann, Wolfgang Schulz, Theresa Züger