Skip to content

Hadi Asghari, Dr.

Hadi Asghari is a postdoctoral researcher in the Public Interest AI research group. His research  focuses on safeguarding public values in AI systems.

Hadi employs a mix of empirical, computational, and design methods to make sense of the digital ecosystem, and subsequently to propose technical and institutional mechanisms to better safeguard values. Example values include privacy, access, freedom, and transparency. Hadi has published on a number of these topics, including a series of studies on the impact of privacy laws worldwide.

Hadi collaborates closely with researchers and experts from various disciplines and backgrounds, including civil society, industry, and government. He is a member of the AI & Society Lab (at HIIG), the Access Request Advocacy & Research Network (at VU Brussels), and the Open Tech Fund advisory council, among others.

Previously, Hadi worked at TU Delft, where he also received his PhD degree on the topic of “Analyzing Security Metrics for Public Policy”. In 2016, he was a visiting researcher at Princeton University’s Center for IT Policy. Prior to his research career, he worked as a software engineer and entrepreneur in Tehran.

staff dummy

Position

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter: AI & Society Lab

Zum Inhalt springen

Hadi Asghari, Dr.

Hadi Asghari ist Postdoc in der Forschungsgruppe Public Interest AI. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf den Schutz öffentlicher Werte in KI-Systemen.

Hadi verwendet eine Mischung aus empirischen, computergestützten und Design Methoden, um das digitale Ökosystem zu verstehen und anschließend technische und institutionelle Mechanismen zu entwickeln, um Werte besser schützen zu können. Beispiele für solche Werte sind Privatsphäre, Zugang, Freiheit und Transparenz. Hadi hat zu vielen dieser Themen veröffentlicht, darunter eine Reihe von Studien über die Auswirkungen von Datenschutzgesetzen weltweit.

Hadi arbeitet eng mit Forschenden und Fachleuten aus verschiedenen Disziplinen und mit unterschiedlichen Hintergründen zusammen, darunter Zivilgesellschaft, Industrie und Regierungsvertreter*innen. Er ist u.a. Mitglied des AI & Society Lab (am HIIG), des Access Request Advocacy & Research Network (an der VU Brüssel) und des Open Tech Fund Advisory Council.

Zuvor arbeitete Hadi an der TU Delft, wo er auch seinen Doktortitel zum Thema “Analyzing Security Metrics for Public Policy” erhielt. Im Jahr 2016 war er Gastforscher am Center for IT Policy der Princeton University. Vor seiner Forschungskarriere arbeitete er als Software Ingenieur und Unternehmer in Teheran.

staff dummy

Position

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter: AI & Society Lab

Zeitschriftenartikel und Konferenzbeiträge

Ashgari, H., van Biemen, Thomas, & Warnier, Martijn (2021). Amplifying Privacy: Scaling Up Transparency Research Through Delegated Access Requests. 5th Workshop on Technology and Consumer Protection (ConPro ’21). Weitere Informationen