Skip to content

Gijs van Maanen

Gijs van Maanen is a postdoctoral researcher working at the Faculty of Law, Economics, and Governance, Utrecht University, the Netherlands. His postdoc is situated within Nadya Purtova’s INFO-LEG project, which aims to explore various different data governance models, with a focus on economic ones, and their capacity to protect ourselves against data-driven harms.

As a Fellow at HIIG, he will look specifically into the concept of data commons, within three domains: smart cities, smart grids, and online advertisement. Please get in touch if you are interested in the relationship between any of these domains, and that of the data common!

Next to his work on conceptualizing data as an economic resource, and the interrelated governance models, he has papers under review on AI ethics washing, algorithmic representation, and methodologies to study data in practice. Together with Jonathan Gray, he is composing a Field Guide to Public Data, as part of the Public Data Lab.

He is involved in a research project on the effects of private funding on academic research and academic freedom, funded by the Young Academy, under supervision of Prof. dr. Linnet Taylor. Research report to be published in the beginning of 2022.

Van Maanen has a background in history and political philosophy, and for his PhD conducted ethnographic research on open government and open data practices in the Netherlands. His PhD will be submitted in the beginning of 2022. In 2019, he was a visiting scholar at the Centre of Interdisciplinary Methodologies of the University of Warwick (UK), where he worked together with Prof. Dr. Noortje Marres on, among other things, the relationship between philosophy and empirical research (or: ‘empirical philosophy’).

Gijs

Position

Fellow: Data, actors, infrastructures

Zum Inhalt springen

Gijs van Maanen

Gijs van Maanen arbeitet als Postdoktorand an der Fakultät für Recht, Wirtschaft und Governance der Universität Utrecht in den Niederlanden. Sein Postdoktorat erfolgt im Rahmen des INFO-LEG Projekts von Nadya Purtova, das sich mit verschiedenen Data-Governance-Modellen befasst

Als Fellow am HIIG wird er insbesondere das Konzept der Data Commons in drei Bereichen untersuchen: intelligente Städte, intelligente Netze und Online-Werbung.

Neben seiner Arbeit an der Konzeptualisierung von Daten als wirtschaftliche Ressource und den entsprechenden Governance-Modellen arbeitet Gijs an KI-Ethik, algorithmischen Darstellungen und Methoden zur Untersuchung von Daten in der Praxis. Zusammen mit Jonathan Gray verfasst er im Rahmen des Public Data Lab einen “Field Guide to Public Data”.

Gijs ist Teil eines Forschungsprojekts über die Auswirkungen privater Finanzierung auf die akademische Forschung und Freiheit, das von der Young Academy unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Linnet Taylor gefördert wird. Der Forschungsbericht soll Anfang 2022 veröffentlicht werden.

Gijs hat einen Hintergrund in Geschichte und politischer Philosophie und führte für seine Doktorarbeit ethnografische Forschungen über Open-Government- und Open-Data-Praktiken in den Niederlanden durch. Seine Dissertation beendet er Anfang 2022. Im Jahr 2019 war er Gastwissenschaftler am Centre of Interdisciplinary Methodologies der University of Warwick (UK), wo er zusammen mit Prof. Dr. Noortje Marres unter anderem an der Beziehung zwischen Philosophie und empirischer Forschung (oder: “empirischer Philosophie”) gearbeitet hat.

Porträt von Gijs van Maanen

Position

Fellow: Daten, Akteure, Infrastrukturen