Skip to content

Freya Hewett

Freya Hewett joined the ‘Public Interest AI’ research project at the Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society in January 2021. Her research is focused primarily on AI related to language and linguistics.

During her Bachelor’s in Italian and English Philology at the Freie Universität Berlin, Freya specialised in sociolinguistics and wrote her thesis on conversation analysis in Italian WhatsApp messages. She then continued her studies at the University Potsdam, with the Master’s program Cognitive Systems, and completed modules on machine learning, computational linguistics and logical programming. Her thesis was on the automatic assessment of text complexity, with a specific focus on the conceptual complexity in German texts.

Prior to working at HIIG, Freya was a student assistant at the Department for Romance Languages at the University Potsdam and worked on projects related to Open Data and Digital Humanities.

Her dissertation examines how computational methods can be used in the context of text complexity, with the goal to make written texts more accessible using automated methods.

staff dummy

Position

Researcher: AI & Society Lab

Journal articles and conference proceedings

Hewett, F., & Stede, M. (2021). Automatically evaluating the conceptual complexity of German texts. Proceedings of the 17th Conference on Natural Language Processing (KONVENS 2021), 228–234. Publication details

Other publications

Hewett, F., & Stede, M. (2021). Lexica corpus, . Publication details

Participation as expert

Stakeholder-Dialog: Ethik der Digitalisierung
Stakeholder-Dialog: Ethik der Digitalisierung Stakeholder-Dialog: Ethik der Digitalisierung Berkman Klein Center, Digital Asia Hub. Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, Berlin, Germany: 06.10.2021 Further information

Vincent Hofmann, Freya Hewett, Georg von Richthofen, Adrian Kopps, Bronwen Deacon, Matthias C. Kettemann, Wolfgang Schulz

Explainable AI
Explainable AI Research Clinic: Explainable AI Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society. Coconat Gutshof, Bad Belzig, Germany: 08.09.2021 Further information

Vincent Hofmann, Jakob Stolberg-Larsen, Freya Hewett, Matthias C. Kettemann, Wolfgang Schulz, Theresa Züger

Zum Inhalt springen

Freya Hewett

Freya Hewett ist seit Januar 2021 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Forschungsprojekt ‘Public Interest AI’ am Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft. Ihre Forschung befasst sich primär mit KI im Hinblick auf Sprache und Linguistik.

Während ihres Bachelorstudiums der Italienischen und Englischen Philologie an der Freien Universität Berlin hat Freya sich auf Soziolinguistik spezialisiert und schrieb ihre Bachelorarbeit zur Konversationsanalyse in italienischen WhatsApp Nachrichten. Anschließend wechselte Freya für den Masterstudiengang Cognitive Systems an die Universität Potsdam und schloss Module in maschinellem Lernen, Computerlinguistik und logischem Programmieren ab. In ihrer Masterarbeit ging es um die automatische Analyse von Textkomplexität, insbesondere die konzeptuelle Komplexität von deutschsprachigen Texten.

Zuvor war Freya am Institut für Romanistik an der Universität Potsdam als studentische Hilfskraft tätig und hat an Projekten in den Bereichen Open Data und digitale Geisteswissenschaften gearbeitet.

Ihre Dissertation untersucht, wie computerlinguistische Methoden im Kontext der Textkomplexität angewendet werden können mit dem Ziel geschriebene Sprache mithilfe automatisierter Verfahren zugänglicher zu machen.

staff dummy

Position

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin: AI & Society Lab