MusicCopyrightReihe_04 Consumer – 16zu9 en

Workshop: From Spotify to YouTube – Legal Potentials and Challenges for Music Platforms

Online platforms have disrupted the music business. Users of streaming services such as Spotify enjoy the comfort and vast music selection, and streaming revenue has increased. At the same time, many musicians complain that they do not get a fair revenue share and some platforms struggle to be profitable. Is there need for regulation or will the problem fix itself? When platforms have the potential to connect music acts directly with music listeners, will they soon become a serious competitor for major labels and their distribution? What will the future of music content providers look like?

To address content uploaded by users and potential copyright infringement on open platforms such as SoundCloud or YouTube, the European Commission has launched legislative efforts in 2016 that are still ongoing. The controversial proposal seeks to make platforms liable for user uploads and obligate them to either filter or license the content. The hope is that this will lead to a fair remuneration for musicians – but will this goal be met? Many scholars and civil liberties organisations have criticized the potential collateral damage of filtering obligations that may lead to overblocking of legal content and less cultural diversity online. Others have proposed permitted-but-paid regimes for non-commercial user generated content. Is there a way to balance the interests of all parties involved?

Finally, the rise of platforms in the music business could have implications for our understanding of copyright regulation more generally. What problems arise when platforms or their algorithms decide copyright disputes? How have power relations changed? Is it necessary to adjust the focus from questions of copying to access regulation? What could fair conditions look like and do users have sufficient access to diverse cultural goods?

Workshop: From Spotify to YouTube – Legal Potentials and Challenges for Music Platforms
4 September 2018 | 12-4 PM | HIIG | Französische Straße 9 | 10117 Berlin

Several participants will give lightning talks on selected issues, but the workshop is designed so that everyone invited has enough time to present their ideas in the discussion. As we invite participants from different countries, the working language will be English.

In 2017 and 2018, the Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG) organises a workshop series in cooperation with the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) to discuss the most urgent issues around music and copyright law in the digital society.

Please note that the workshops are not open for public and address experts in the field of music and law. If you are interested in joining this or another upcoming workshop of the series, please get in touch with Jana Leusing and briefly describe your background and reason for joining the event.

Event Location

The workshop series Music and Copyright Law takes place at the Alexander von Humboldt Institut for Internet and Society (HIIG), Französische Straße 9, in the room KOSMOS.

 04.09.2018 | 14:00 - 18:00 ical | gcal

 Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society,  Französische Straße 9,  10117 Berlin

Contact

Henrike Maier, Dr.

Associated Researcher: Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Upcoming

MusicCopyrightReihe_04 Consumer – 16zu9 en

Möglichkeiten und Herausforderungen für Musikplattformen

Online-Plattformen haben die Musikindustrie in den letzten Jahren aufgerüttelt. NutzerInnen von Streaming-Diensten wie Spotify schätzen den Komfort und die große Auswahl an Musik und die Streaming-Einnahmen steigen zunehmend. Allerdings beklagen viele MusikerInnen, dass sie keinen fairen Anteil an diesen Einnahmen erhalten und einige Plattformen haben Probleme, überhaupt ein profitables Geschäftsmodell zu schaffen. Bedarf es in diesem Bereich der Regulierung oder wird das Problem vom Markt gelöst werden? Plattformen verbinden MusikerInnen direkt mit ihren Fans und ZuhörerInnen. Sind sie damit in einer Position, in der sie bald mit großen Musiklabels und deren Vertrieb konkurrieren werden? Wie sieht die Zukunft von Streaming-Diensten aus?

Die europäische Kommission hat 2016 eine Gesetzgebungsinitiative angestoßen, um das Problem möglicher Urheberrechtsverletzungen auf Plattformen mit von den NutzerInnen hochgeladenen Inhalten zu regeln. Der noch immer kontrovers diskutierte Entwurf zielt darauf ab, Plattformen für die Inhalte ihrer NutzerInnen haftbar zu machen und verpflichtet sie dazu, entweder Filter einzurichten oder Inhalte zu lizenzieren. Dadurch soll eine faire Vergütung der KünstlerInnen sichergestellt werden, doch wird dieses Ziel auch erreicht? Viele KritikerInnen befürchten durch die Filter-Verpflichtung der Plattformen ein “Overblocking” legaler Inhalte, das zu einer geringeren kulturellen Vielfalt des Angebots führen könnte. Gibt es einen Weg, die Interessen aller Akteure in Ausgleich zu bringen und eine faire Lösung zu finden?

Die zunehmende Bedeutung von Plattformen in der Musikindustrie wirft auch grundsätzlich Fragen nach unserem Verständnis von Urheberrecht und Plattformregulierung auf. Welche Probleme entstehen, wenn Plattformen ihre Algorithmen einsetzen, um Urheberrechtsstreitigkeiten zu klären? Wie können faire Zugangsbedingungen aussehen und haben NutzerInnen ausreichend Zugang zu vielfältigen kulturellen Gütern?

Workshop: Von Spotify bis YouTube – Rechtliche Möglichkeiten und Herausforderungen für Musikplattformen
04. September 2018 | 12.00-16.00 Uhr | HIIG | Französische Straße 9 | 10117 Berlin

In kurzen Impulsreferaten beziehen ExpertInnen zu diesem Thema Stellung. In der folgenden Workshop-Debatte werden Kunstschaffende, WissenschaftlerInnen und PraktikerInnen diese Fragen kontrovers und interdisziplinär diskutieren. Aufgrund der internationalen Teilnehmenden findet dieser Workshop auf Englisch statt.

In Kooperation mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) veranstaltet das Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG) zwischen 2017 und 2018 eine fünfteilige Workshopreihe zu den drängendsten Fragen des Musikurheberrechts im digitalen Zeitalter.

Der Workshop ist nicht öffentlich und richtet sich an Experten aus den genannten Themenbereichen. Bei Interesse an diesem Workshop oder einem weiteren aus der Workshopreihe bitten wir um eine Anfrage mit kurzer Information zum eigenen Hintergrund an Jana Leusing. Der Workshop findet auf Englisch statt.

Ort

Die Workshops der Reihe „Musik und Urheberrecht“ finden am Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG), Französische Straße 9, im Raum KOSMOS, statt.

 04.09.2018 | 12:00 - 16:00 ical | gcal

 Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft,  Französische Straße 9,  10117 Berlin

Kontakt

Henrike Maier, Dr.

Assoziierte Forscherin: Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Zukünftige Veranstaltungen