twentyforty-dirk_16-9

twentyforty talks – A drink with Dirk Baecker

Following the digital launch of the twentyforty anthology at the beginning of April, we are pleased to invite you to the twentyforty talks. Each digital live event will feature a conversation between a twentyforty author and one of our researchers at HIIG. The discussion will provide you with interesting background information on the author’s story and their academic context. You are warmly invited to ask questions directly via Slido. The first event on 15 April will be held in German – more info below.

 

twentyforty talks – A Drink with Dirk Baecker
15 April 2020 | 6pm | livestream | hiig.de

Dirk Baecker’s text „Academic Complexity: A Sketch of the Next University“ focuses on the current and possible future state of the university. The university is in a state of crisis because nobody knows how to answer the complex problems of nature, culture, and society by means of specialized academic disciplines. In conversation with Benedikt Fecher (HIIG) Dirk Baecker will expand on where het got the idea to his story and what his utopia can teach us about the current circumstances we are living in.

 

Upcoming twentyforty talks

22 April,
5pm
 Preeti Mudliar (“In Mangal’s New World”) in conversation with Bronwen Deacon (HIIG)
(ENG)
19 May,
6pm
Burkhard Schafer (“Digital Pharaohs”) in conversation with Bronwen Deacon (HIIG)
(ENG)

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

“twentyforty” is an anthology, consisting of thirteen visionary stories written by researchers in various disciplines, addressing the opportunities and challenges that digital technologies present for our future society in 2040. It started as an essay competition and is an exceptional experiment in science communication. Besides the anthology, other formats have emerged in the context of twentyforty. We have set up the website twentyforty.hiig.de which features background information on the texts, as well as discursive resources.

Event date

15 Apr 2020 | 6.00 pm – 7.00 pm ical | gcal

 

Location

Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society,  Französische Straße 9,  10117 Berlin

Contact

Stay tuned for more events

Sign up for our newsletters and be the first to learn about new events and exciting research results.

About HIIG

The HIIG researches the development of the internet from a societal perspective with the aim to better understand the digitalisation of all spheres of life.

Discovered our podcast yet?

Find our science podcast Exploring digital spheres on hiig.de, iTunes and Spotify.

twentyforty-dirk_16-9

twentyforty talks – Auf einen Drink mit Dirk Baecker

Im Anschluss an den digitalen Launch des Sammelbandes twentyforty Anfang April freuen wir uns, Sie zu den twentyforty talks einzuladen. Die Gespräche finden zwischen den twentyforty Autor*innen und unseren Forscher*innen statt. Im Livestream erfahren Sie interessante Hintergrundinformationen zu den twentyforty Geschichten und ihrem wissenschaftlichen Kontext. Sie sind herzlich dazu eingeladen, direkt Fragen an die Autor*innen über Slido zu stellen.

 

twentyforty talks – Auf einen Drink mit Dirk Baecker
15.04.2020 | 18.00 Uhr | Livestream | hiig.de

 
Dirk Baeckers Text „Academic Complexity: A Sketch of the Next University“ beschäftigt sich mit der gegenwärtigen und möglichen zukünftigen Lage der Universität. Er argumentiert, dass sich die Universität in einer Krise befindet, weil niemand weiß, wie die komplexen Probleme von Natur, Kultur und Gesellschaft innerhalb spezialisierter akademischer Disziplinen gelöst werden können. Im Gespräch mit Benedikt Fecher (HIIG) erläutert Dirk Baecker die Hintergründe zu seiner Geschichte und zeigt auf, was wir von seiner Utopie für die gegenwärtige Situation lernen können.

 

Anschließende twentyforty talks

22. April,
17.00
 Preeti Mudliar (“In Mangal’s New World”) im Gespräch mit Bronwen Deacon (HIIG)
(ENG)
19. Mai,
18.00
Burkhard Schafer (“Digital Pharaohs”) im Gespräch mit Bronwen Deacon (HIIG)
(ENG)

 

ÜBER DAS BUCH

„twentyforty“ ist ein Sammelband, bestehend aus dreizehn zukunftsweiseden Geschichten, die von Forscher*innen verschiedener Disziplinen geschrieben wurden und sich mit den Chancen und Herausforderungen auseinander setzen, die digitale Technologien für unsere zukünftige Gesellschaft im Jahr 2040 darstellen. Twentyforty begann als Essaywettbewerb und ist ein Experiment der Wissenschaftskommunikation. Neben dem Sammelband haben sich im Kontext von twentyforty weitere Formate entwickelt. Die Website twentyforty.hiig.de beinhaltet Hintergrundinformationen zu den Texten sowie Lehr- und Lernmaterial.

Veranstaltungsdatum

15. Apr 2020 | 18:00 – 19:00 ical | gcal

 

Ort

Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft,  Französische Straße 9,  10117 Berlin

Kontakt

Bleiben Sie in Kontakt

Melden Sie sich für unsere Newsletter an. So erfahren Sie als Erstes über neue Events und spannende Forschungsergebnisse.

Über das HIIG

Das HIIG erforscht die Entwicklung des Internets aus einer gesellschaftlichen Perspektive mit dem Ziel, die damit einhergehende Digitalisierung aller Lebensbereiche besser zu verstehen.

Schon unseren Podcast entdeckt?

Hören Sie den Wissenschaftspodcast Exploring digital spheres auf hiig.de, iTunes und Spotify.