amoore making sense of the digital society

Louise Amoore: Our lives with algorithms

From detecting anomalies in the landscape of medical images to drone footage to the influencing of elections, machine learning algorithms are transforming radically how we make sense in society. Deep neural net algorithms condense the features of a scene to an output of meaning – such as “a man is throwing a frisbee in a park”, “a woman is standing at the border fence with a crowd in the background”, “the protesters are gathering in the city square”. They reduce the intractable difficulties and the undecidability of what could be happening in a scene into a single meaning that is informing decisions and actions. Is that hate speech or freedom of speech, are people pickpocketing or cuddling, is this a protestor or a terrorist?

In order to learn how to make distinctions, however, today’s algorithms require interactions with us and our data. The training and adaptation of algorithms take place through the attributes of our lives and the lives of others. This is problematic because the meaning of our relationships with other beings, how they come to make sense, precisely cannot be condensed. How do we begin to locate these aspects within the algorithm’s programme of sense-making in the digital society? Are there counter-methods available to us that resist the clustering of human attributes via machine learning? What remains in the digital society of that which is unattributable, that which cannot be translated into a single numeric output?

 

Louise Amoore: Our lives with algorithms
1 July 2019 | 7 pm | doors open 6.30 pm
HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU 1) | Stresemannstraße 29 | 10963 Berlin

 

Louise Amoore is Professor of Geography at Durham University, UK;  she researches and teaches in the areas of global geopolitics and security. She has particular interests in how contemporary forms of data, analytics and risk management are changing the techniques of border control and security. Amoore has been awarded a Leverhulme Major Research Fellowship (2016-18) for her work on the ethics of algorithms. Her most recent book is The Politics of Possibility: Risk and Security Beyond Probability (Duke University Press, 2013).

Agenda

18:30 Doors open
19:00 – 19:15 Welcome and introduction
19:15 – 20:00 Our lives with algorithms
 Louise Amoore (Durham University)
20:00 – 21:00 Moderated discussion and questions from the audience
21:00 – 22:00 Get-together

 

The event will be held in English and simultaneously translated into German.

For press accreditation, please contact Florian Lüdtke.

This event will be recorded and broadcasted live. By signing up you consent to be photographed, filmed and/or otherwise recorded during the event and to the use of the content in connection with the promotion and public relations of the event.

 

Making Sense of the Digital Society

The current rapid pace of technological change creates enormous uncertainties – and thus the need for explanations that help us better understand our situation and shape the future. The Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG) and the Federal Agency for Civic Education (bpb) are therefore continuing the Lecture Series Making Sense of the Digital Society that was launched in 2017. The aim of the format is to develop a European perspective on the current processes of transformation and its societal impact. The first speaker of this year’s series was sociologist Eva Illouz, followed by Dirk Baecker and José van Dijck.

What our Twitter community said


 

 

Registration

Anmeldung

Eine Anmeldung ist für diese Veranstaltung nicht mehr möglich.

Event date

1 Jul 2019 | 6.30 pm – 10.00 pm ical | gcal

 

Location

HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU 1),  Stresemannstraße 29,  10963 Berlin

Contact

Christian Grauvogel

Events and Knowledge Transfer

Stay tuned for more events

Sign up for our newsletters and be the first to learn about new events and exciting research results.

Upcoming

About HIIG

The HIIG researches the development of the internet from a societal perspective with the aim to better understand the digitalisation of all spheres of life.

Discovered our podcast yet?

Find our science podcast Exploring digital spheres on hiig.de, iTunes and Spotify.

amoore making sense of the digital society

Louise Amoore: Unser Leben mit Algorithmen

Von der Erkennung von Anomalien in medizinischen Bildern über Drohnenaufnahmen bis hin zur Beeinflussung von Wahlen verändern maschinelle Lernalgorithmen radikal, wie wir in der Gesellschaft Sinn produzieren. Tiefenneuronale Netzalgorithmen verdichten die Merkmale einer Szene zu einem Output von Bedeutung wie – „ein Mann wirft ein Frisbee in einen Park“, „eine Frau steht am Grenzzaun mit einer Menge im Hintergrund“ oder „die Demonstranten versammeln sich auf dem Stadtplatz“. Sie reduzieren die Schwierigkeiten und die Unentschiedenheiten dessen, was in einer Szene passieren könnte, in eine einzige Bedeutung, die Entscheidungen und Handlungen beeinflusst. Ist das Hate Speech oder Redefreiheit? Sind die Menschen dabei zu klauen oder zu kuscheln? Ist das ein Demonstrant oder ein Terrorist?

Um jedoch zu lernen, wie man Unterscheidungen trifft, erfordern die Algorithmen Interaktionen mit uns und unseren Daten. Das Training und die Anpassung von Algorithmen erfolgt durch die Attribute unseres Lebens und des Lebens anderer. Das ist problematisch, denn die Bedeutung unserer Beziehungen zu anderen Wesen und wie sie ihren Sinn erlangen, lässt sich gerade nicht verdichten. Wie beginnen wir, diese Aspekte innerhalb der Sinnproduktion des Algorithmus in der digitalen Gesellschaft zu lokalisieren? Gibt es Gegenmaßnahmen, die sich dem Clustering menschlicher Attribute durch maschinelles Lernen widersetzen? Was bleibt in der digitalen Gesellschaft von dem, was nicht zuordenbar ist, was nicht in eine numerische Darstellung übersetzt werden kann?

 

Louise Amoore: Unser Leben mit Algorithmen
1 July 2019 | 7 pm | doors open 6.30 pm
HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU 1) | Stresemannstraße 29 | 10963 Berlin

 

Louise Amoore ist Professorin für Geographie an der Durham University, Großbritannien. Sie forscht und lehrt in den Bereichen globale Geopolitik und Sicherheit. Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt der Frage, wie zeitgenössische Formen von Daten, Analysemethoden und Risikomanagement die Techniken der Grenzkontrolle und -sicherheit verändern. Amoore erhielt das Leverhulme Major Research Fellowship (2016-18) für ihre Arbeit über die Ethik von Algorithmen. Ihr jüngstes Buch ist The Politics of Possibility: Risk and Security Beyond Probability (Duke University Press, 2013).

 

 

Agenda

18:30 Einlass 
19:00 – 19:15 Begrüßung und Einführung
19:15 – 20:00 Unser Leben mit Algorithmen
 Louise Amoore (Durham University)
20:00 – 21:00 Moderiertes Gespräch und Fragen aus dem Publikum
21:00 – 22:00 Get-together

 

Die Veranstaltung ist auf Englisch und wird simultan auf Deutsch übersetzt.

Um sich als PressevertreterIn akkreditieren zu lassen, richten Sie sich bitte an Florian Lüdtke.

Die Veranstaltung wird aufgezeichnet und live gestreamt. Mit Ihrer Anmeldung erklären Sie Ihr Einverständnis zur Erstellung von Bild- und Videoaufnahmen Ihrer Person im Rahmen der Veranstaltung sowie zur Verwendung und Veröffentlichung solcher Aufnahmen zum Zweck der öffentlichen Berichterstattung über die Veranstaltung.

 

Making sense of the digital society

Der derzeit rapide voranschreitende technologische Wandel ruft enorme Ungewissheiten hervor. Umfassende Erklärungen werden notwendig, um die Veränderungen besser verstehen und eine gemeinsame Zukunft gestalten zu können. Das Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG) und die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb) führen daher auch in diesem Jahr die 2017 ins Leben gerufene Redenreihe Making sense of the digital society fort. Ziel ist es, eine europäische Perspektive auf den gegenwärtigen Transformationsprozess unserer Zeit und dessen gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen zu entwickeln. Die erste Rednerin in diesem Jahr war die Soziologin Eva Illouz, gefolgt von Dirk Baecker und José van Dijck.

Aus der Twitter-Community


 

 

Anmeldung

Eine Anmeldung ist für diese Veranstaltung nicht mehr möglich.

Veranstaltungsdatum

1. Jul 2019 | 18:30 – 22:00 ical | gcal

 

Ort

HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU 1),  Stresemannstraße 29,  10963 Berlin

Kontakt

Christian Grauvogel

Veranstaltungen und Wissenstransfer

Zukünftige Veranstaltungen