Skip to content
Facebook Post – Kanta Dihal

Kanta Dihal: How the world sees intelligent machines

The event will be held in English and simultaneously translated into German. In addition the lecture will be broadcasted live from 7 pm. The recorded video will be uploaded to this website a few days after the event.

People have been imagining intelligent machines for millennia, in ways that vary greatly across cultures. Yet as Artificial Intelligence (AI) begins to fulfil its potential as a technology, spreading across the globe from its origins in 1950s America, many of these non-Western perspectives are marginalised. These stories, films and visions matter: they are interwoven with broader cultural attitudes and approaches to intelligent machines. In her lecture, Kanta Dihal will introduce such visions from across the globe and elaborate on three main themes: the differences between ‘Eastern’ and ‘Western’ visions of AI, the ways AI is imagined in communist states and anti-colonialist narratives of AI. Why are these marginalised perspectives still of great relevance for today’s societies and what can they teach us about ourselves?

 

Kanta Dihal: How the world sees intelligent machines
Wednesday 11 May 2022 | 7 pm | Doors open 6:30 pm
Spreespeicher (030 Eventloft) –  Stralauer Allee 2A, 10245 Berlin
Livestream – hiig.de

 

 

Kanta Dihal is a Senior Research Fellow at the Leverhulme Centre for the Future of Intelligence, University of Cambridge. Her research focuses on science narratives, particularly those that emerge from conflict. She currently manages the Cambridge branch of ‘Desirable Digitalisation’, an international research collaboration that investigates intercultural perspectives on AI and fundamental rights and values. She is co-editor of the books AI Narratives: A History of Imaginative Thinking About Intelligent Machines (2020) and Imagining AI: How the World Sees Intelligent Machines (2022) and has advised the World Economic Forum, the UK House of Lords, and the United Nations. She obtained her DPhil on the communication of quantum physics at Oxford in 2018.

Corona note

Due to the continued high level of infection, the event will take place under the 3G rule. Admission will only be granted to registered persons who have been fully vaccinated, recovered or can provide a test result valid on the day of the event. Persons who have been boostered and those who have recently recovered are not required to bring an additional test. Fully vaccinated persons are also not required to submit a test if they were last vaccinated less than three months ago. FFP2 masks are still required. As the admission takes longer than usual due to the hygiene concept, we kindly ask you to be there in time.

Agenda

18:30  Doors open
19:00 – 19:10  Welcome and introduction
19:10 – 20:00  Kanta Dihal: How the world sees intelligent machines
20:00 – 20:45  Discussion and questions from the audience. Moderation: Tobi Müller

 

For press accreditation, please contact Frederik Efferenn.


Making Sense of the Digital Society

The current rapid pace of technological change creates enormous uncertainties – and thus the need for explanations that help us better understand our situation and shape the future. The Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG) and the Federal Agency for Civic Education (bpb) are therefore continuing the Lecture Series Making Sense of the Digital Society that was launched in 2017. The aim of the format is to develop a European perspective on the current processes of transformation and its societal impact.

Logos

 

Media partner:

 

 

 

Streaming partner:

 

Please note: You only have to register, if you want to attend the event at the venue in Berlin.  The event also will be live streamed on the HIIG website.

Registration

Eine Anmeldung ist für diese Veranstaltung aktuell nicht möglich.

Event date

11.05.2022 | 7.00 pm – 9.00 pm ical | gcal
 

Location

Spreespeicher (030 Eventloft),  Stralauer Allee 2A,  10245 Berlin

Contact

Lena Henkes

Researcher: The evolving digital society & Deputy Editor Internet Policy Review

Event Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletters and be the first to learn about new events and exciting research results.

Our event series

Lecture Series: Making sense of the digital society

This high-profile lecture series thrives to develop a European perspective on the processes of transformation that our societies are currently undergoing.

Digitaler Salon

Once a month we publicly discuss the impact of digitalisation on the society. Therefore we invite special guests and engage in a dialogue with the audience

Zum Inhalt springen
Facebook Post – Kanta Dihal

Kanta Dihal: Wie die Welt intelligente Maschinen wahrnimmt

Die Veranstaltung findet auf Englisch statt und wird simultan vor Ort auf Deutsch übersetzt. Die Vorträge werden zusätzlich ab 19:00 Uhr live gestreamt. Das aufgezeichnete Video sowie die deutsche Übersetzung werden ein paar Tage nach der Veranstaltung auf dieser Website hochgeladen.

Seit Jahrtausenden und über viele Kulturen hinweg haben Träume von intelligenten Maschinen unsere Hoffnungen, Ängste und Erwartungen an Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) geprägt. Während KI ihr Potenzial als Technologie entfaltet und sich von ihrem Ursprung im Amerika der 1950er Jahre über den ganzen Globus ausbreitet, werden nicht-westliche Perspektiven marginalisiert. Doch diese Erzählungen, Filme und Visionen sind von Bedeutung und zugleich immer eng mit unterschiedlichen kulturellen Einstellungen gegenüber intelligenten Maschinen verbunden. Kanta Dihal plädiert dafür, diesen marginalisierten Visionen von KI einen Raum zu geben und arbeitet in ihrem Vortrag drei thematische Schwerpunkte heraus: die Unterschiede zwischen „östlichen“ und „westlichen“ Darstellungen von KI, kommunistische Visionen von intelligenten Maschinen und anti-kolonialistische KI-Narrative. Warum haben diese marginalisierten Perspektiven auch heute noch eine hohe gesellschaftliche Relevanz und was können wir durch sie über uns lernen?


Kanta Dihal: Wie die Welt intelligente Maschinen wahrnimmt
Mittwoch, 11. Mai 2022 | Beginn 19 Uhr | Einlass 18:30 Uhr
Spreespeicher (030 Eventloft) – Stralauer Allee 2A, 10245 Berlin
Livestream – hiig.de

 

 

Kanta Dihal ist Senior Research Fellow am Leverhulme Centre for the Future of Intelligence der Universität Cambridge. Ihre Forschung konzentriert sich auf wissenschaftliche Narrative, insbesondere solche, die aus Konflikten hervorgehen. Derzeit leitet sie den Cambridge-Zweig von “Desirable Digitalisation”, einer internationalen Forschungskooperation, die interkulturelle Perspektiven zu KI und Grundrechten und -werten untersucht. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin der Bücher AI Narratives: A History of Imaginative Thinking About Intelligent Machines (2020) und Imagining AI: How the World Sees Intelligent Machines (2022) und hat das Weltwirtschaftsforum, das britische Oberhaus und die Vereinten Nationen beraten. Sie promovierte 2018 in Oxford zu Narrativen über Quantenphysik.

Hygienehinweis

Aufgrund des nach wie vor hohen Infektionsgeschehens findet die Veranstaltung unter der 3G Regel statt. Der Einlass erfolgt nur für angemeldete Personen, die vollständig geimpft sind, als genesen gelten oder ein tagesaktuelles Testergebnis vorweisen können. Geboosterte Personen und kürzlich Genesene müssen keinen zusätzlichen Test vorlegen. Vollständig geimpfte Personen sind ebenfalls von der Testpflicht befreit, wenn sie vor weniger als drei Monaten zuletzt geimpft wurden. Es gilt weiterhin FFP2-Maskenpflicht. Da der Einlass aufgrund des Hygienekonzepts länger als üblich dauert, bitten wir Sie, frühzeitig vor Ort zu sein.

 

Agenda

18:30  Einlass 
19:00 – 19:10  Begrüßung und Einführung
19:10 – 20:00  Kanta Dihal: Wie die Welt intelligente Maschinen wahrnimmt
20:00 – 20:45  Gespräch und Fragen aus dem Publikum. Moderation: Tobi Müller

 

Um sich als Pressevertreter*in akkreditieren zu lassen, richten Sie sich bitte an Frederik Efferenn


Making sense of the digital society

Der derzeit rapide voranschreitende technologische Wandel ruft enorme Ungewissheiten hervor. Umfassende Erklärungen werden notwendig, um die Veränderungen besser verstehen und eine gemeinsame Zukunft gestalten zu können. Das Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG) und die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb) führen daher auch in diesem Jahr die 2017 ins Leben gerufene Redenreihe Making sense of the digital society fort. Ziel ist es, eine europäische Perspektive auf den gegenwärtigen Transformationsprozess unserer Zeit und dessen gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen zu entwickeln.

Logos

 

Medienpartner:

 

 

 

Streaming-Partnerschaft:

 

Bitte melden Sie sich nur an, wenn Sie an der Veranstaltung in Berlin teilnehmen möchten.  Sie können die Veranstaltung auch hier auf dieser Website im Livestream verfolgen.

Anmeldung

Eine Anmeldung ist für diese Veranstaltung aktuell nicht möglich.

Veranstaltungsdatum

11.05.2022 | 19:00 – 21:00 ical | gcal
 

Ort

Spreespeicher (030 Eventloft),  Stralauer Allee 2A,  10245 Berlin

Kontakt

Lena Henkes

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin: Die Entwicklung der digitalen Gesellschaft

Event Newsletter

Melden Sie sich für unsere Newsletter an. So erfahren Sie als Erstes über neue Events und spannende Forschungsergebnisse.

Unsere Veranstaltungsreihen

Redenreihe: Making sense of the digital society

Diese exklusive Vorlesungsreihe entwickelt eine europäische Perspektive zu den aktuellen Transformationsprozessen innerhalb unserer Gesellschaft.

Digitaler Salon

Einmal im Monat erörtern wir bei uns im Hause die Auswirkungen der Digitalisierung auf die Gesellschaft. Deshalb laden wir ausgewählten Gästen dazu ein, in den Dialog mit dem Publikum zu treten.

Unser Forschungsansatz

Das HIIG erforscht die Entwicklung des Internets aus einer gesellschaftlichen Perspektive mit dem Ziel, die damit einhergehende Digitalisierung aller Lebensbereiche besser zu verstehen.