VanDijck_01 Castells – 16zu9 Kopie

José van Dijck: Europe and responsible platform societies

The growing pains of digitisation involve intense struggles between competing ideological systems and contesting societal actors – market, government and civil society — raising important questions about responsibility and accountability. Two large ecosystems rule the global online world: a Chinese and an American-based ecosystem. The latter has overwhelmingly penetrated Western-European societies, disrupting markets and labor relations, circumventing institutions, transforming social and civic practices, and affecting democracies. Online platforms paradoxically bypass the institutional processes through which European democratic societies are organised, while at the same time they clash with local, national, and supra-national governments over who controls data-flows and algorithms.

Online architectures are governed by platform mechanisms (e.g. datafication and commodification) that dominate both private and public sectors. Public values and the common good are the very stakes in the struggle over the platformisation of societies around the globe. This lecture concentrates on the position of European (private and public) interests vis-à-vis the interests of an American-based online ecosystem, driven by a handful of high-tech corporations. At the heart of the online media industry’s surge is the battle over information control: Who owns the data generated by online social activities? Who is responsible for anchoring public values in an online world? Particularly in the European context, governments and civil society organisations can be proactive in negotiating public values on behalf of citizens and consumers.
 

 

José van Dijck: Europe and responsible platform societies
5 June 2019 | 7 pm | doors open 6.30 pm
Säälchen am Holzmarkt | Holzmarktstraße 25 | 10243 Berlin

 

José van Dijck’s keynote (PDF)

 

José van Dijck is a distinguished university professor at the University of Utrecht (The Netherlands); she was the president of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences from 2015 until 2018. She was a visiting professor at MIT (USA), University of Toronto (CAN), Stockholm University (SWE) and University of Technology, Sydney (AUS). She received an honorary doctorate from Lund University (SWE).

Van Dijck’s academic field is media studies and digital society. Her work covers a wide range of topics in media theory, media and communication technologies, social media, and digital culture. She is the (co-)author and (co-editor of ten books and over one hundred journal articles and book chapters. Van Dijck’s book The Culture of Connectivity. A Critical History of Social Media (Oxford UP, 2013) was distributed worldwide and was translated into Spanish, Chinese and Farsi. Her latest book, co-authored by Thomas Poell & Martijn de Waal is titled The Platform Society. Public values in a connective world (Oxford University Press, 2018).
 

 

Agenda

18:30  Doors open
19:00 – 19:15  Welcome and introduction
19:15 – 20:00  Europe and responsible platform societies
  José van Dijck (University of Utrecht)
20:00 – 21:00  Moderated discussion and questions from the audience
21:00 – 22:00  Get-together

 

The event will be held in English and simultaneously translated into German.

For press accreditation, please contact Florian Lüdtke.

This event will be recorded and broadcasted live. By signing up you consent to be photographed, filmed and/or otherwise recorded during the event and to the use of the content in connection with the promotion and public relations of the event.

 

Making Sense of the Digital Society

The current rapid pace of technological change creates enormous uncertainties – and thus the need for explanations that help us better understand our situation and shape the future. The Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG) and the Federal Agency for Civic Education (bpb) are therefore continuing the Lecture Series Making Sense of the Digital Society that was launched in 2017. The aim of the format is to develop a European perspective on the current processes of transformation and its societal impact. The first speaker of this year’s series was sociologist Eva Illouz, followed by Dirk Baecker. Louise Amoore will be the upcoming speaker on 1 July.

Registration

Anmeldung

Eine Anmeldung ist für diese Veranstaltung nicht mehr möglich.

Event date

5 Jun 2019 | 6.30 pm – 10.00 pm ical | gcal

 

Location

Säälchen – Holzmarkt,  Holzmarktstraße 25,  10243 Berlin

Contact

Christian Grauvogel

Events and Knowledge Transfer

Upcoming

VanDijck_01 Castells – 16zu9 Kopie

José van Dijck: Europa und Plattform-Gesellschaften

Die zunehmenden Schwierigkeiten der Digitalisierung führen zu intensiven Kämpfen zwischen konkurrierenden ideologischen Systemen und sich widerstreitenden gesellschaftlichen Akteuren – Markt, Regierung und Zivilgesellschaft – und werfen wichtige Fragen nach Verantwortlichkeit auf. Zwei große Ökosysteme beherrschen die globale Online-Welt: ein chinesisches und ein amerikanisches. Letzteres hat die westeuropäischen Gesellschaften mit überwältigender Mehrheit durchdrungen, Märkte und Arbeitsbeziehungen gestört, Institutionen umgangen, soziale und zivile Praktiken verändert und Demokratien beeinflusst. Online-Plattformen umgehen paradoxerweise die institutionellen Prozesse, durch die die europäischen demokratischen Gesellschaften organisiert sind, während sie gleichzeitig mit lokalen, nationalen und supranationalen Regierungen in Konflikt geraten, die darüber entscheiden, wer Datenflüsse und Algorithmen kontrolliert.

Online-Architekturen werden durch Plattformmechanismen (z.B. Datenerfassung und Kommodifizierung) gesteuert, die sowohl den privaten als auch den öffentlichen Sektor dominieren. Öffentliche Werte und das Gemeinwohl stehen im Mittelpunkt des Kampfes um die Plattformisierung von Gesellschaften auf der ganzen Welt. Der Vortrag konzentriert sich auf die Position der europäischen (privaten und öffentlichen) Interessen gegenüber den Interessen eines in den USA ansässigen Online-Ökosystems, das von einer Handvoll High-Tech-Unternehmen betrieben wird. Im Mittelpunkt des Booms der Online-Medienbranche steht der Kampf um die Informationskontrolle: Wem gehören die Daten, die durch soziale Online-Aktivitäten generiert werden? Wer ist dafür verantwortlich, öffentliche Werte in einer Online-Welt zu verankern? Insbesondere im europäischen Kontext können Regierungen und zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen proaktiv an der Verhandlung öffentlicher Werte im Namen der Bürger und Verbraucher mitwirken.

José van Dijck: Europa und Plattform-Gesellschaften
5 June 2019 | 7 pm | doors open 6.30 pm
Säälchen am Holzmarkt | Holzmarktstraße 25 | 10243 Berlin

 

José van Dijck’s keynote (PDF)

 

José van Dijck ist eine renommierte Universitätsprofessorin an der Utrecht University in den Niederlanden; von 2015 bis 2018 war sie Präsidentin der Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences. Sie war Gastprofessorin am MIT (USA), University of Toronto, Stockholm University und University of Technology, Sydney. Sie erhielt die Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Lund.

Van Dijcks akademisches Fachgebiet sind Forschungen zu Medien und der digitalen Gesellschaft. Ihre Arbeit umfasst ein breites Themenspektrum in den Bereichen Medientheorie, Medien- und Kommunikationstechnologien, Social Media und digitale Kultur. Sie ist die (Mit-)Autorin und (Mit-)Herausgeberin von zehn Büchern und über hundert Zeitschriftenartikel und Buchkapitel. Van Dijcks Buch „The Culture of Connectivity. A Critical History of Social Media“ (Oxford UP, 2013) wurde weltweit verbreitet und ins Spanische, Chinesische und Farsi übersetzt. Ihr neuestes Buch, das gemeinsam mit Thomas Poell und Martijn de Waal verfasst wurde, trägt den Titel „The Platform Society. Public values in a connective world“ (Oxford University Press, 2018).

 

Agenda

18:30 Einlass
19:00 – 19:15 Begrüßung und Einführung
19:15 – 20:00 Europa und Plattform-Gesellschaften
 José van Dijck (University of Utrecht)
20:00 – 21:00 Moderiertes Gespräch und Fragen aus dem Publikum
21:00 – 22:00 Get-together

 

Die Veranstaltung ist auf Englisch und wird simultan auf Deutsch übersetzt.

Um sich als PressevertreterIn akkreditieren zu lassen, richten Sie sich bitte an Florian Lüdtke.

Die Veranstaltung wird aufgezeichnet und live gestreamt. Mit Ihrer Anmeldung erklären Sie Ihr Einverständnis zur Erstellung von Bild- und Videoaufnahmen Ihrer Person im Rahmen der Veranstaltung sowie zur Verwendung und Veröffentlichung solcher Aufnahmen zum Zweck der öffentlichen Berichterstattung über die Veranstaltung.

 

Making sense of the digital society

Der derzeit rapide voranschreitende technologische Wandel ruft enorme Ungewissheiten hervor. Umfassende Erklärungen werden notwendig, um die Veränderungen besser verstehen und eine gemeinsame Zukunft gestalten zu können. Das Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG) und die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb) führen daher auch in diesem Jahr die 2017 ins Leben gerufene Redenreihe Making sense of the digital society fort. Ziel ist es, eine europäische Perspektive auf den gegenwärtigen Transformationsprozess unserer Zeit und dessen gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen zu entwickeln. Die erste Rednerin in diesem Jahr war die Soziologin Eva Illouz, gefolgt von Dirk Baecker. Die nächste Speakerin wird Louise Amoore am 1. Juli sein.

Anmeldung

Eine Anmeldung ist für diese Veranstaltung nicht mehr möglich.

Veranstaltungsdatum

5. Jun 2019 | 18:30 – 22:00 ical | gcal

 

Ort

Säälchen – Holzmarkt,  Holzmarktstraße 25,  10243 Berlin

Kontakt

Christian Grauvogel

Veranstaltungen und Wissenstransfer

Bleiben Sie in Kontakt

Melden Sie sich für unsere Newsletter an. So erfahren Sie als Erstes über neue Events und spannende Forschungsergebnisse.

Zukünftige Veranstaltungen

Über das HIIG

Das HIIG erforscht die Entwicklung des Internets aus einer gesellschaftlichen Perspektive mit dem Ziel, die damit einhergehende Digitalisierung aller Lebensbereiche besser zu verstehen.

Schon unseren Podcast entdeckt?

Hören Sie den Wissenschaftspodcast Exploring digital spheres auf hiig.de, iTunes und Spotify.