baecker_en-57

Dirk Baecker: Digitalisation and the next society

A new era in human society is beginning with digital media. While language, writing and book printing had been the hallmarks of this era, machines are now taking part in communication for the first time. Will society in the future be decisively determined by networks and artificial intelligences? At the heart of cognitive science is the observation of a complex synchronisation of organic, neuronal, mental, emotional and artificial intelligence. But how can we master the challenge of artificial intelligence? In his lecture, Dirk Baecker will draw a more precise picture of human as well as social intelligence, because only a more precise understanding of these will enable us to react appropriately to the new challenges.

 

Dirk Baecker: Digitalisation and the next society
16 April 2019 | 7 pm | doors open 6.30 pm
HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU 1) | Stresemannstraße 29 | 10963 Berlin

Dirk Baecker is Professor of Cultural Theory and Management at the University of Witten/Herdecke. As a theorist of systems, Dirk Baecker earned his doctorate and habilitated under Niklas Luhmann. He is the author of more than two dozen books in the field of cultural, organisational and economic sociology. His most recent book 4.0 oder Die Lücke die der Rechner lässt was published in 2018 by Merve.

 

Agenda

18:30  Doors open
19:00 – 19:15  Welcome and introduction
19:15 – 20:00  Digitalisation and the next society
  Dirk Baecker (University of Witten/Herdecke)
20:00 – 21:00  Moderated discussion and questions from the audience
21:00 – 22:00  Get-together

 

The event will be held in German and simultaneously translated into English.

For press accreditation, please contact Florian Lüdtke.

This event will be recorded and broadcasted live. By signing up you consent to be photographed, filmed and/or otherwise recorded during the event and to the use of the content in connection with the promotion and public relations of the event.

 

Making Sense of the Digital Society

The current rapid pace of technological change creates enormous uncertainties – and thus the need for explanations that help us better understand our situation and shape the future. The Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG) and the Federal Agency for Civic Education (bpb) are therefore continuing the Lecture Series Making Sense of the Digital Society that was launched in 2017. The aim of the format is to develop a European perspective on the current processes of transformation and its societal impact.

The first speaker this year is sociologist Eva Illouz. She will be followed by international experts such as Dirk Baecker, José van Dijck and Louise Amoore.

The event is fully booked. Please refrain from further inquiries.

Registration

Anmeldung

Die Veranstaltung ist ausgebucht.

Event date

16 Apr 2019 | 6.30 pm – 10.00 pm ical | gcal

 

Location

HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU 1),  Stresemannstraße 29,  10963 Berlin

Contact

Christian Grauvogel

Events and Knowledge Transfer

Upcoming

baecker_header-57

Dirk Baecker: Digitalisierung und die nächste Gesellschaft

Mit den digitalen Medien beginnt eine neue Epoche der menschlichen Gesellschaft. War diese bisher durch Sprache, Schrift und Buchdruck geprägt, so beteiligen sich erstmals Maschinen an der Kommunikation. Wird die Gesellschaft zukünftig maßgeblich von Netzwerken und künstlichen Intelligenzen bestimmt? Im Zentrum der Kognitionswissenschaften steht die Beobachtung einer komplexen Synchronisation von organischer, neuronaler, mentaler, emotionaler und künstlicher Intelligenz. Doch wie können wir die Herausforderung der Künstlichen Intelligenz meistern? Dirk Baecker wird in seinen Vortrag ein präziseres Bild menschlicher Intelligenz wie auch sozialer Intelligenz zeichnen, denn nur durch ein genaueres Verständnis dieser können wir auf die neuen Herausforderungen angemessen reagieren.

 

Dirk Baecker: Digitalisierung und die nächste Gesellschaft
16. April 2019 | 19.00 Uhr | Einlass ab 18.30 Uhr
HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU 1) | Stresemannstraße 29 | 10963 Berlin

Dirk Baecker ist Professor für Kulturtheorie und Management an der Universität Witten/Herdecke. Als ausgesprochener Systemtheoretiker promovierte und habilitierte er bei Niklas Luhmann und ist Verfasser von mehr als zwei Dutzend Büchern im Bereich der Kultur-, Organisations- und Wirtschaftssoziologie. Sein aktuellstes Buch 4.0 oder Die Lücke die der Rechner lässt erschien 2018 im Merve-Verlag.

 

Agenda

18:30 Einlass
19:00 – 19:15 Begrüßung und Einführung
19:15 – 20:00 Digitalisierung und die nächste Gesellschaft
 Dirk Baecker (Universität Witten/Herdecke)
20:00 – 21:00 Moderiertes Gespräch und Fragen aus dem Publikum
21:00 – 22:00 Get-together

 

Die Veranstaltung ist auf Deutsch und wird simultan auf Englisch übersetzt.

Um sich als PressevertreterIn akkreditieren zu lassen, richten Sie sich bitte an Florian Lüdtke.

Die Veranstaltung wird aufgezeichnet und live gestreamt. Mit Ihrer Anmeldung erklären Sie Ihr Einverständnis zur Erstellung von Bild- und Videoaufnahmen Ihrer Person im Rahmen der Veranstaltung sowie zur Verwendung und Veröffentlichung solcher Aufnahmen zum Zweck der öffentlichen Berichterstattung über die Veranstaltung.

 

Making sense of the digital society

Der derzeit rapide voranschreitende technologische Wandel ruft enorme Ungewissheiten hervor. Umfassende Erklärungen werden notwendig, um die Veränderungen besser verstehen und eine gemeinsame Zukunft gestalten zu können. Das Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG) und die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb) führen daher auch in diesem Jahr die 2017 ins Leben gerufene Redenreihe Making sense of the digital society fort. Ziel ist es, eine europäische Perspektive auf den gegenwärtigen Transformationsprozess unserer Zeit und dessen gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen zu entwickeln.

Die erste Rednerin in diesem Jahr ist die Soziologin Eva Illouz. Auf sie folgen internationale ExpertInnen wie Dirk Baecker, José van Dijck und Louise Amoore.

 

Die Veranstaltung ist vollkommen ausgebucht. Wir bitten Sie von weiteren Anfragen abzusehen.

Anmeldung

Die Veranstaltung ist ausgebucht.

Veranstaltungsdatum

16. Apr 2019 | 18:30 – 22:00 ical | gcal

 

Ort

HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU 1),  Stresemannstraße 29,  10963 Berlin

Kontakt

Christian Grauvogel

Veranstaltungen und Wissenstransfer

Zukünftige Veranstaltungen