The blog for internet scientists and digital mavericks

Understanding Platform Governance

More and more people and institutions communicate via Facebook, Youtube, Twitter and co. They allow us to share photos, news, opinions and status updates of all kinds with the whole world. Therefore its importance for political developments and moods is rising. The rules of platforms for sorting and blocking, for liking and sharing determine whose voices get heard, how content is being framed and who gets access to which data.

Articles in this Dossier

Why a view is not always a view

To measure the reach of online content on the different existing platforms you need a consistent standard. For example on Facebook three seconds count as a view while on YouTube...

The blame-game in a post-Trump world

Donald Trump’s victory came as a surprise and/or shock to most pollsters, journalists, scientists, and citizens all over the world. And ever since Trump became the president-elect one question seems...

Crowd Science

Online platforms offer a variety of opportunities for volunteers to engage in the process of knowledge generation. How are Crowd Science projects brought into being and how do they work? An insight....

The power of platforms

Platforms like Facebook, Twitter or Instagram structure public discussion and news perception. As their user numbers grow steadily their influence grows mutually. José van Dijck, professor at the department of...

The internet infrastructure’s turn to content

One of the internet’s key features is that it keeps networking functions separate from the content and application services that use these functions. However, networking seems to become infused with...

How “Leave” won Twitter: an analysis of 7.5m Brexit-related tweets

How did Eurosceptic (leave) and pro-European (remain) activity compare on social media in the run-up to the EU referendum, and was there a relationship between social media users and votes?...

professionelles Videostudio

Is this actually still user-generated content on Youtube?

The division between professional media and user-generated content on YouTube can hardly be maintained any more. Web videos are increasingly more professional, especially because amateurs are often supported by specialised companies....

5 questions to…

Max Hänska, Lecturer/Assistant Prof. at De Montfort Universitaet in Leicester, GB. His research topics are Social Media in political communication and grassroot journalism as well as the role of communication...

Axel Bruns

5 Questions to …

… Visiting Researcher Dr Axel Bruns, Australian Research Council Future Fellow and Professor in the Digital Media Research Centre at Queensland University of Technology in Brisbane, Australia. Interview by Kirsten...

Live-streaming on the web and its implications for the media landscape

Live streaming was a unique selling point for linear television for a long time. In the mean time more and more providers enable users to stream their videos online with...

When YouTubers Strike Back – DMCA and the case of YouTube’s failed dispute resolution system

When a CEO publicly states that the company is “listening” you know something’s up. So when YouTube’s CEO Susan Wojcicki was forced to tweet these very words this came as a...

Branded Content im TV und auf YouTube: Was sind die Unterschiede?

The mixture of editorial and advertising content in television and on platforms like YouTube is a phenomenon that can widely be observed. Acording to laws this seperation is obligatory at...

Like! Share! Log-in! Facebook-Buttons on websites of third party providers and data protection

In the online business (personal) data is considered a currency to pay for companies’ services. The pursuit of ever larger quantities of data concerning (potential) customers by private (online) companies...

Der Blog für Internetforschende und digitale Querdenker

Understanding Platform Governance

Immer mehr Menschen und Organisationen kommunizieren über Facebook, Youtube, Twitter und Co. Dank Social Media lassen sich Fotos, Nachrichten, Meinungen aller Art weltweit verbreiten. Das macht diese Plattformen immer wichtiger für politische Entwicklungen und gesellschaftliche Stimmungen. Aber ihre Regeln für die Priorisierung im News-Stream, das Blocken und Liken bestimmen auch, welche Inhalte gezeigt werden und was mit den entstehenden Daten passiert.

Artikel in diesem Dossier

Warum ein View nicht gleich ein View ist

Für die Reichweitenmessung von Online-Inhalten auf den verschiedenen Plattformen fehlt es an einheitlichen Standards. So zählen drei Sekunden bei Facebook als View, während es bei YouTube ca. 30 Sekunden sind....

Schuldzuweisungen in einer Welt nach Trump

Waren sogenannte fake news oder Big Data verantwortlich für den Wahlerfolg Donald Trumps? Verfolgte man die massenmediale Berichterstattung über die letzten Wochen, so konnte man diesen Eindruck gewinnen. Doch der...

Crowd Science

Online Plattformen eröffnen ein neues Spektrum an Möglichkeiten für die Beteiligung von Freiwilligen am Prozess der Wissensgenerierung. Wie werden Crowd Science Projekte ins Leben gerufen und wie funktionieren sie? Ein...

Die Macht der Plattformen

Plattformen wie Facebook, Twitter und Instagram strukturieren öffentlichen Meinungsaustausch und prägen die Medienrezeption. Mit steigenden Nutzerzahlen wächst auch ihr Einfluss. José van Dijck, Professorin für Medienwissenschaften an der Universität Amsterdam spricht bereits...

Warum sich Netzbetreiber mehr und mehr für Inhalte interessieren

Eine der Besonderheiten der Internet-Architektur liegt darin, dass Netzwerkfunktionen unabhängig von den zu transportierenden Inhalten bereitgestellt werden. Dennoch gibt es Anzeichen dafür, dass sich Netzbetreiber zunehmend den Inhalten zuwenden. Das...

Wie „Leave“ Twitter erobert hat: Eine Analyse von 7,5 Millionen Brexit-Tweets

Wie verhielten sich Twitter Nutzer während der Brexit Kampagne, und besteht ein Zusammenhang zwischen sozialen Medien und Wahlverhalten? HIIG Gastforscher Max Hänska sammelte zusammen mit Stefan Bauchowitz über 7.5 Millionen...
professionelles Videostudio

Ist das eigentlich noch user-generated content auf YouTube?

Die Trennung zwischen professionellen Medieninhalten und user-generated content auf YouTube lässt sich kaum noch aufrecht erhalten. Web-Videos werden dort immer professioneller, nicht zuletzt weil Amateure mitunter von Firmen unterstützt werden. Braucht...

5 Fragen an…

Max Hänska, Dozent (Lecturer/Assistant Prof.) an der De Montfort Universitaet in Leicester, GB. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind die sozialen Medien in der politischen Kommunikation und dem Graswurzel-Journalismus, und die Rolle von...
Axel Bruns

5 Fragen an …

… Gastforscher Dr Axel Bruns, Future Fellow am Australian Research Council und Professor am Digital Media Research Centre der Queensland University of Technology in Brisbane, Australien. Interview by Kirsten Gollatz, HIIG....

Live-streaming im Internet und seine Auswirkungen auf die Medienlandschaft

Live-streaming galt lange als Alleinstellungsmerkmal des linearen Fernsehens. Immer mehr Anbieter ermöglichen es den Nutzern, mit dem Smartphone Inhalte live und global zu verbreiten. Diese Entwicklung treibt den Medienwandel voran....

YouTuber können auch streiken – DMCA und das gescheiterte Streitbeilegungssystem

YouTube ist für die einen Unterhaltungsmedium und für andere Einnahmequelle. Als Anfang des Jahres einem Studio aufgrund mehrerer Copyright-Beschwerden von YouTube die Einnahmen gestrichen wurden, wendete es sich an die...

Branded Content im TV und auf YouTube: Was sind die Unterschiede?

Die Vermischung von werblichen und redaktionellen Inhalten, die laut §7 Absatz (7) Rundfunkstaatsvertrag grundsätzlich unzulässig, aber dennoch unter bestimmten Vorraussetzungen erlaubt ist, nimmt nicht nur im linearen Fernsehen, sondern auch...

Like! Share! Log-in! Facebook-Buttons auf Webseiten von Drittanbietern und Datenschutz

Womit verdient das für Nutzer kostenlose soziale Netzwerk Facebook Geld? Hauptsächlich mit Werbung! Facebooks Geschäftssystem beruht darauf, Unternehmen personalisierte Werbemöglichkeiten zu bieten. Dafür benötigt Facebook Informationen über die Vorlieben und...