2040-PM-1

Digital utopias for the year 2040

08 April 2020

Berlin, 8 April 2020 – What will our digital society look like in 2040? How will we live and love, how will we teach and work, and how will our legal system change? Researchers from 10 countries took a look into the future as part of the “twentyforty” project. The Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG) is now publishing the results in an anthology and at twentyforty.hiig.de. The e-book is also available there on an open access basis.

The anthology’s authors engage with the question of what our everyday lives will look like in the year 2040 in various thematic areas: “Live”, “Love”, “Learn”, “Work” and “Rule”. For instance, in his essay “Academic Complexity”, Dirk Baecker, a sociologist at Witten/Herdecke University, describes the utopia of a new type of university that anticipates complexity. Mark Graham, a geographer from the Oxford Internet Institute, develops the idea of a post-capitalist platform society in his short story “Platform Socialism”. In her children’s story, Claire Bessant describes a divided society of privacy haves and privacy have-nots.

Free space for new thinking and knowledge transfer

The twentyforty project has set itself the task of thinking laterally outside of the conventions of scholarly work, looking to the future and testing the use of literary forms for academic research. This has given rise to knowledge-based projections of the future, written, among other things, as short stories, email dialogues and plays.

“Scientists are used to constructing meaning from the past or analysing the present. In our project, we have created a space for them to think and work on their own research topics in a completely new way”, explains Dr. Benedikt Fecher, initiator of the twentyforty project and head of the Knowledge & Society research programme at HIIG. 

The researchers have thus taken a step beyond academic papers and jargon and made an unconventional contribution to knowledge transfer.

Project website: twentyforty.hiig.de

Tanja Zagel

Leiterin Wissenschaftskommunikation | Projektleitung: Digitale Weiterbildung

News from the institute

this way to the pressroom

About HIIG

The HIIG researches the development of the internet from a societal perspective with the aim to better understand the digitalisation of all spheres of life.

Press distribution letter

To register for our press distribution list, please contact presse@hiig.de.

Downloads and Media

Looking for press pictures, our research agenda or reports of our activities?
More here

2040-PM-1

Digitale Utopien für das Jahr 2040

08 April 2020

Berlin, 8. April 2020 – Wie wird unsere digitale Gesellschaft im Jahr 2040 aussehen? Wie werden wir leben und lieben, wie werden wir Lehre und Arbeit gestalten und wie wird sich unser Rechtssystem verändern? Forscher*innen aus 10 Ländern warfen im Rahmen des Projekts „twentyforty“ einen Blick in die Zukunft. Die Ergebnisse veröffentlicht das Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG) jetzt in einem Sammelband und unter twentyforty.hiig.de. Auch das digitale Buch steht dort open access zur Verfügung. 

Die Autor*innen des Sammelbandes widmen sich der Frage, wie unser Alltag im Jahr 2040 in den Lebensbereichen „Live”, „Love”, „Learn”, „Work”, „Rule” aussehen wird. So entwirft Dirk Baecker, Soziologe an der Universität Witten/Herdecke, in seinem Essay „Academic Complexity“ die Utopie eines neuen Universitätstyps, der Komplexität antizipiert. Mark Graham, Geograph vom Oxford Internet Institute, entwickelt in seiner Kurzgeschichte „Platform Socialism“ die Idee einer postkapitalistischen Plattformgesellschaft. Claire Bessant beschreibt in ihrer Kindergeschichte eine dichotome Gesellschaft von Privacy-Haves und Privacy-Havenots.

Freiraum für neues Denken und Wissenstransfer

Das Projekt „twentyforty” hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, quer zu den Konventionen wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens zu denken, den Blick in die Zukunft zu richten und literarische Formen für wissenschaftliche Forschung zu erproben. Herausgekommen sind wissenschaftsbasierte Zukunftsprojektionen, verfasst unter anderem als Kurzgeschichte, E-Mail-Dialog und Theaterstück.

„Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sind es gewohnt, Sinn aus der Vergangenheit zu konstruieren oder die Gegenwart zu analysieren. Mit unserem Projekt haben wir für sie einen Raum geschaffen, ihre eigenen Forschungsthemen ganz neu zu denken und zu bearbeiten”, erklärt Dr. Benedikt Fecher, Initiator des Projekts „twentyforty” und Leiter des Forschungsprogramms „Wissen & Gesellschaft” am HIIG. 

Damit haben die Forscher*innen einen Schritt über wissenschaftliche Paper und den Fachjargon hinaus gewagt und einen unkonventionellen Beitrag zum Wissenstransfer geleistet.

Website des Projekts: twentyforty.hiig.de

Tanja Zagel

Leiterin Wissenschaftskommunikation | Projektleitung: Digitale Weiterbildung

Nachrichten vom institut

zum Pressebereich hier entlang

Über das HIIG

Das HIIG erforscht die Entwicklung des Internets aus einer gesellschaftlichen Perspektive mit dem Ziel, die damit einhergehende Digitalisierung aller Lebensbereiche besser zu verstehen.

Presseverteiler

Abonnieren Sie den Pressverteiler hier.

Downloads und Medien

Auf der Suche nach Pressefotos, Berichten zu unseren Aktivitäten oder Logos?
Mehr gibt's hier