Deniz Erden

Deniz is a Research Fellow in HIIG’s Research Program II: Data, Actors, and Infrastructures. She is currently studying for her third master’s degree at the Information and Technology Law Institute of Istanbul Bilgi University. Previously she studied Gender and Women Studies at the Middle East Technical University in Ankara, followed by Public International Law at the University of Kent, Brussels Campus. She received her bachelor’s degree from Ankara University Law Faculty and worked as a legal consultant at a large Bank mostly focusing on reconciling the tension between the efforts of regulatory compliance and introduction of new technologies, e-commerce, payments, consumer law and data protection law. She also took a leading role in the relation of the Banks Association of Turkey with the national Data Protection Authority. She is a member of the Istanbul Bar Association and the International Association of Privacy Professionals.

Her current research brings together gender theory, European data protection law, anti-discrimination law and human rights law, focusing on chilling effects on online political behavior of marginalized others that corporate surveillance, profiling and automated decision making in interconnected application domains may cause. Deniz is planning her PhD on the“right to the city” within the smart city context.

Deniz Erden | HIIG

Position

Fellow: data, actors, infrastructures

Panels

Leibniz Media Lunch Talk: Der Corona-Effekt: Pandemiebekämpfung durch digitale Medien in China und Europa. Leibniz-Institut für Medienforschung | Hans-Bredow-Institut (HBI). Leibniz-Institut für Medienforschung | Hans-Bredow-Institut (HBI), Hamburg, Germany: 28.04.2020 Further information

Jörg Pohle, Tina Krell, Deniz Erden

DIGITALE CORONABEKÄMPFUNG IN CHINA UND EUROPA. LEIBNIZ MEDIA LUNCH TALK AUF ZOOM. Hans-Bredow-Institut, Hamburg (online), Germany: 28.04.2020 Further information

Tina Krell, Jörg Pohle, Deniz Erden, Wolfgang Schulz

Deniz Erden

Deniz ist Fellow im Forschungsprogramm II des HIIG: Daten, Akteure und Infrastrukturen. Derzeit studiert sie für ihren dritten Master Abschluss am Institut für Informations- und Technologierecht der Istanbuler Bilgi Universität. Zuvor studierte sie Gender and Women Studies an der Middle East Technical University in Ankara, gefolgt von Völkerrecht an der Universität Kent, Campus Brüssel. Sie erhielt ihren Bachelor Abschluss an der juristischen Fakultät der Universität Ankara und arbeitete als Rechtsberaterin bei einer großen Bank, wobei sie sich vor allem darauf konzentrierte, die Spannung zwischen den Bemühungen um die Einhaltung von Vorschriften und der Einführung neuer Technologien, dem elektronischen Handel, dem Zahlungsverkehr, dem Verbraucherrecht und dem Datenschutzrecht in Einklang zu bringen. Sie übernahm auch eine führende Rolle in den Beziehungen des türkischen Bankenverbandes zur nationalen Datenschutzbehörde. Sie ist Mitglied der Anwaltskammer von Istanbul und der Internationalen Vereinigung von Datenschutzexperten.

Ihre aktuelle Forschung verbindet Gender-Theorie, europäisches Datenschutzrecht, Antidiskriminierungsrecht und Menschenrechtsgesetzgebung und konzentriert sich auf die abschreckenden Auswirkungen auf das politische Online-Verhalten marginalisierter Personen, die durch Unternehmensüberwachung, Profilerstellung und automatisierte Entscheidungsfindung in miteinander verbundenen Anwendungsbereichen entstehen können. Deniz plant ihre Doktorarbeit über das “Recht auf die Stadt” im Kontext der Smart City.

Deniz Erden | HIIG

Position

Fellow: Daten, Akteure, Infrastrukturen

Panels

Leibniz Media Lunch Talk: Der Corona-Effekt: Pandemiebekämpfung durch digitale Medien in China und Europa. Leibniz-Institut für Medienforschung | Hans-Bredow-Institut (HBI). Leibniz-Institut für Medienforschung | Hans-Bredow-Institut (HBI), Hamburg, Germany: 28.04.2020 Weitere Informationen

Jörg Pohle, Tina Krell, Deniz Erden

DIGITALE CORONABEKÄMPFUNG IN CHINA UND EUROPA. LEIBNIZ MEDIA LUNCH TALK AUF ZOOM. Hans-Bredow-Institut, Hamburg (online), Germany: 28.04.2020 Weitere Informationen

Tina Krell, Jörg Pohle, Deniz Erden, Wolfgang Schulz

Organisation von Veranstaltungen

1st Pop-Up Lab: Inclusive AI? The challenges of automated tools in HR
From 24.08.2020 to 26.08.2020. Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft, Berlin, Germany (International) Weitere Informationen

Shlomi Hod, Georg von Richthofen, Daniela Dicks, Deniz Erden, Juliane Henn, Sonja Köhne, Alexander Pirang, Matthias Spielkamp, Marcel Hebing, Kai Gärtner, Wolfgang Schulz, Theresa Züger

Teilnahme als ExpertIn

Input and discussion: Feminist perspectives on AI and inclusion
Inclusive AI? The challenges of automated tools in HR Pop-Up Lab: Inclusive AI? The challenges of automated tools in HR Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft. Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft, Berlin, Germany: 24.08.2020 Weitere Informationen

Deniz Erden