Posts by Uta Meier-Hahn

The secrets of de-peering

Handbooks, conferences, best practice documents – there are many resources to turn to in order to learn about Internet peering. But when it comes to de-peering, networkers are mostly left with their gut feeling. There is no “Beginner’s guide to de-peering”, no “De-peering 101”, no manual “How to de-peer respectfully in five easy steps”. This…

Read More

The internet was built on trust. But what does it run on?

One of the most noble narratives about the internet is that it is built on trust. This article sets out to check if that saying still holds true. One of the most noble narratives about the internet is that it is built on trust. This refers to the understanding that trust mitigates the basic uncertainties,…

Read More

Uncertainty is key

In order to manufacture internet connectivity, network operators around the globe make a joint effort. As of today, they have interconnected more than 55,000 Autonomous Systems. By the measure of existence, the Internet gives evidence of a remarkable degree of decentral coordination between networkers. But this evidence is vague. It does not tell us anything…

Read More

The internet infrastructure’s turn to content

One of the internet’s key features is that it keeps networking functions separate from the content and application services that use these functions. However, networking seems to become infused with content thinking. This might have implications for tomorrow’s internet. One of the internet’s key features is that it keeps networking functions separate from the applications…

Read More

What do network operators sell to each other?

Film without title

Since the commercial Internet began in 1995 network operators have explored ways to make internet interconnection work as a market. Yet, a central prerequisite of this market is still ambiguous: the object of exchange. Uta Meier-Hahn traces the difficulty in pinpointing what this market is actually about back to the internet’s architecture and examines solutions…

Read More

Beiträge von Uta Meier-Hahn

Die Geheimnisse des De-Peerings

Es gibt diverse Ratgeber für Internet-Peering. Aber wenn Netzwerker_innen eine Zusammenschaltung aufkündigen müssen, sind sie auf sich gestellt. Ein Artikel über die Dos und Don’ts des De-Peerings. There is no “Beginner’s guide to de-peering”, no “De-peering 101”, no manual “How to de-peer respectfully in five easy steps”. This absence of guidance exists for several reasons.…

Weiterlesen

Das Internet – eine Vertrauenssache?

Eine der schönsten Erzählungen über das Internet lautet, dass es auf Vertrauen errichtet wurde. Wegen der Unsicherheiten, die die Architektur des Internets schon damals für die Netzbetreiber mit sich brachte, mussten sie darauf vertrauen, dass jeder bestimmte Standards befolgt. Weil die ersten Netzbetreiber einander kannten, klappte das auch gut. Dieser Artikel geht der Frage nach,…

Weiterlesen

Unsicherheit ist der Schlüssel zum Internet

Netzbetreiber aus aller Welt ziehen an einem Strang, um Internet-Konnektivität herzustellen. Mehr als 55.000 sogenannte Autonome Systeme haben sie inzwischen miteinander verbunden. Allein die Existenz des Internets zeugt von einer beachtlichen, dezentralen Koordinationsleistung. Weniger sichtbar ist, wie Netzwerkingenieure diese Koordination praktisch erreichen und wie handlungsfähig die oft beschworene Community tatsächlich ist. Ein Weg in die…

Weiterlesen

Warum sich Netzbetreiber mehr und mehr für Inhalte interessieren

Eine der Besonderheiten der Internet-Architektur liegt darin, dass Netzwerkfunktionen unabhängig von den zu transportierenden Inhalten bereitgestellt werden. Dennoch gibt es Anzeichen dafür, dass sich Netzbetreiber zunehmend den Inhalten zuwenden. Das könnte sich auf das Internet von Morgen auswirken. One of the internet’s key features is that it keeps networking functions separate from the applications and…

Weiterlesen

Der Markt im Kern des Internets ist wie ein Film ohne Titel

Film without title

Vergleiche hinken. Nie passen sie richtig, fast immer führen sie vom Thema weg. Und die Aufmerksamkeit des Publikums verfängt sich in unwichtigen Details. Deshalb tut man sich mit Vergleichen als Stilmittel keinen Gefallen. Das habe ich in einem Buch über das Redenschreiben gelesen (Franz 2015). Es gibt aber eine Ausnahme: den abseitigen Vergleich. Je weiter…

Weiterlesen