Remake Remix Rip-Off

You know about Bollywood. You might be a fan of Nollywood. But what do you know about Turkish Fantastic Cinema?

The Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society is proud to be screening the documentary Remix, Remake, Rip-Off: About Copy Culture and Turkish Pop Cinema and hosting a Q&A with the director Cem Kaya after the screening.

Remake Remix

About the documentary:

Imagine an evil Spider-Man wearing Superman’s cape, car chases filmed with Matchbox cars or Star Wars with the Indiana Jones soundtrack…

In an age of intellectual property rights and billion-dollar studio budgets, only somewhere copyright couldn’t reach could create such a cinematic mash-up…

Turkey in the 1960s and ’70s was such a place. Here, filmmakers working with tight budgets and even tighter deadlines found creative ways to build one of the biggest film industries in the world. In order to keep up with the demand, they copied scripts, remixed and recut Hollywood productions and mixed original and locally produced footage into new films.

These movies were shown in Turkey and beyond, and Turkish communities in Germany were able to rent videos of their favourite Fantastic Turkish films. But with the arrival of satellite services, which allowed people to access Turkish television, many video stores closed down and most of the films were destroyed.

Director Cem Kaya grew up with these films, and has spent 12 years researching and interviewing people involved in the Turkish Fantastic Cinema industry. He will be joining us for a screening and a Q&A discussion, so join us for an evening of pop cinema, popcorn, and remix magic.

No entry fee, but space is limited, so arrive early!
Date: Thursday 24 November 2016
Doors open: 6:00pm Screening starts 6:30pm
Place: Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (map)

Watch the trailer here

With thanks to Cem Kaya, and Drop Out Cinema eG

 24.11.2016 | 18:00 - 22:00 ical | gcal

 Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society,  Französische Straße 9,  10117 Berlin

Contact

Larissa Wunderlich

Visual Communication

Upcoming

Datum/Zeit 24.11.2016 | 18:00 - 22:00

Location Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, Französische Straße 9, Berlin

Kategorie

Jeder kennt Bollywood. Und auch viele Nollywood-Fans mag es hierzulande geben. Wie aber steht es um eure Kenntnis des türkischen Fantastik Kinos?

Das Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft präsentiert ein Screening des Dokumentarfilms «Remix, Remake, Rip-Off» über Kopierpraxis und das türkische Pop Kino. Im Anschluss findet eine Q&A-Session mit Regisseur Cem Kaya statt.

Remake Remix

Über den Film:

Spider-Man im Superman-Cape, Verfolgungsjagden, die mit Streichholz-Autos gefilmt werden oder Star Wars mit Indiana Jones Soundtrack… Solche Kino Mash-ups konnten im Zeitalter des geistigen Eigentums und der milliarden-schweren Produktionsbudgets nur an Orten kreiert werden, den urheberrechtliche Regulierung nicht erreichte.

So ein Ort war die Türkei der 60er und 70er Jahre. Filmemacher arbeiteten mit kleinen Budgets und kurzen Deadlines. Sie fanden kreative Wege, um eine der größten Filmindustrien der Welt zu erschaffen. Um die große Nachfrage zu bedienen, kopietren sie Drehbücher, schnitten Hollywood-Produktionen zusammen und mixten sie mit lokal gedrehten Szenen in neue Filme.

Diese Fantastik-Filme wurden in der Türkei gezeigt, hatten aber auch in der türkischen Community in Deutschland viele Fans. Ihre Verbreitung in Deutschland lief vor allem über Videotheken. Dies nahm ein Ende, als Satellitenfernsehen Menschen direkten Zugriff auf das türkische Fernsehen ermöglichte. Viele Videotheken schlossen und fast alle Kopien der türkischen Remix-Filme wurden zerstört.

Regisseur Cem Kaya wuchs mit dem Fantastik Kino auf. Er verbrachte nun 12 Jahre damit, Menschen zu interviewen, die diese Filmindustrie prägten. Nach der Filmvorführung wird er eine Q&A-Session anbieten. Ihr könnt euch auf Pop Kino, Popcorn und die Magie des Remix-Films freuen.

Kein Eintritt, die Plätze sind aber begrenzt.
Datum: Donnerstag, 24. November 2016
Einlass: 18:00, Vorführung beginnt um 18:30
Ort: Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (Karte)

Hier  könnt ihr den Trailer ansehen.

Unser Dank gilt Cem Kaya und Drop Out Cinema eG