3668196408_1a66cd902d_o

Seizing the Moment – Is Our Understanding of Open Access Too Shortsighted?

Two weeks ago, the entire editorial board of the journal Lingua quit and announced they would launch a new journal named Glossa. Lingua’s executive editor Johan Rooryck said the reason for the resignation was that Elsevier, which publishes Lingua, did not comply with the editors’ request to turn the journal into an open access publication. Lingua has existed since 1949 and is among the top-3 linguistic journals on Google Scholar. The Lingua/Glossa case is a good opportunity to reflect upon our understanding of open access.

Open access in a nutshell

Broadly speaking, open access means that research outputs, such as articles and data, are free of restrictions on access and free of restrictions on use.

The call for open access for articles is often justified with the fact that essential parts of the scientific publishing process, for example writing an article and reviewing it, are completed by the scientific community. Nonetheless, most of the research—that is to large degree financed by public funds—is hidden behind paywalls. This situation is aggravated by the fact that libraries are increasingly struggling with high license fees for journals and debatable package deals, while publishing houses like Elsevier, Wiley or Springer are highly profitable. To put it provocatively: The costs to access research outputs is being paid twice by the taxpayers, for the researchers who produce articles and the libraries that purchase the articles. The discussion about open access is understandably heated.

Publishers argue, on the other hand, that revising articles and organising the publication process costs money. Moreover, their journals fulfill an important curation task in an increasingly confusing publication landscape. The latest report by the STM association counted 28,000 peer reviewed journals that publish more than 2.5 million articles per year. The report also states that the number of articles has continuously increased for more than two centuries. For researchers, it becomes more and more difficult to identify quality in the jungle of articles. Established journals provide orientation. This is certainly right.

Research funders, research associations, institutes and universities alike have developed open access strategies, proving that the demand for open access is no longer an idealistic one. Just this month, representatives from the leading Austrian research organizations announced that all publications financed with public funds will be available online without restrictions by 2025. It is common sense by now that scientific output should be freely available online. With new online distribution channels, the traditional mediator role of scientific publishers has come under scrutiny as the Lingua/Glossa case shows.

Does we think open access far enough?

Looking at the mindset of many academic researchers and at initiatives undertaken by research organizations, one could question if our understanding of open access in the academic community goes far enough.

Often researchers believe that open access publications are of lower quality– a belief that is of course not justified but frequently perpetuated by established publishers. This is slightly paradoxical, since many publishing houses offer the golden road to open access. Here journals make their articles openly accessible immediately upon publication for a ransom, the so-called article processing charge, or APC. Some communities also offer renowned working paper series that are published under open access licenses online and without the traditional peer review. The belief that publishing under an open access license is still a less prestigious way of publishing may be owed to the high number of dubious open access journals that have been mushrooming in the recent years. These »predatory journals« charge high publication fees to authors without providing the editorial and publishing services of legitimate journals. Researchers that do not deal with this topic are having troubles separating the wheat from the chaff. They stick with their well-known journals.

Looking at the open access initiatives undertaken by many research funders, one could get the impression that the job is done by establishing publishing funds. These funds can be used to cover the costs of golden open access. As an illustration: for Lingua, this opt-in for open access costs $1,800, which is average. Many golden open access models represent a redistribution of costs that is still to the detriment of academia. Publishing funds are indeed useful to make single articles from relevant journals available to everyone. They are, however, an insufficient response to the urging question of how the scientific community should manage the access to its outputs in an increasingly digitized society.

It is for the researchers’ conservatism on the one hand and the research organizations’ passivity on the other hand that open access is rather a business model than a sustainable strategy to organize knowledge in the 21st century. Our understanding of open access in the scientific community is too short-sighted.

Open access and innovation

With increasing digitization, the way research is conducted, communicated and critiqued has changed. Open access also means rethinking the way the publishing process is organized and how quality can be identified.

One vivid example for a more digitally savvy way of publishing are mega journals such as PLOS ONE. PLOS ONE is more of a platform than a single journal. It is multidisciplinary, open access and has no limit for the number of articles it publishes. In fact, by number of articles, PLOS ONE is by far the biggest journal worldwide. Articles on PLOS ONE are published after a basic review for scientific soundness. The scientific community then evaluates an article through citations, but also through shares on Twitter and Facebook. Furthermore, PLOS ONE has a far-reaching data availability policy and shows how often data has been used on figshare, an online data repository. Even though PLOS ONE has no limit for the number of articles it publishes in a month and is rather focused on article-based metrics, it has quite an impressive impact factor. PLOS ONE is financed by article processing charges. Established publishing houses are also investing in the mega journal model, for example O’Reilly with PeerJ or Macmillan with Scientific Reports.

Mega journals take a form of research into account that is faster moving, increasingly multidisciplinary and whose impact is not necessarily accessible prior to a publication. The trimmed-down review allows for articles to be published faster than with the traditional review model. When it takes several years from the submission of an article to its publication, one can indeed question if the old review model is still »zeitgeisty« enough. In comparison to the established journal models, the review process at mega journals fulfills more of a scrutinizing than a curating role. One can indeed also look critically at the mega journal model; however, they do at least try to shake the dust off of the book age by implementing new and faster mechanisms to identify quality. They are furthermore a home for research that cannot be fit into a single discipline, which is important in times when research problems are increasingly multidisciplinary and require collaborative effort.

PLOS ONE and the other mega journals do not understand open access solely as the access to articles; they understand open access also as a way publishing can be organized and presented in a digital age.

Open access and infrastructure

The market for scientific publishing is undergoing a similar process as other industries did with digitization, such as the newspaper or music industry. Old players position themselves anew (e.g., newspapers test new content formats and payment models), new players emerge (e.g., clickbait-journalism) and less strong players disappear (e.g., »print crisis«). In the realignment of market players for scientific publishing, academia has to be careful not to come out empty-handed.

Looking at the innovative players in online publishing, one can see that many have a commercial background. In an interview with irightsLambert Heller from the Open Science Lab of the German National Library of Science and Technology pointed to the market power of startups and traditional publishers that invest cleverly in digital information infrastructure. This, according to Heller, applies not only to online journals but also to social networks for researchers, such as Researchgate and academia.edu, reference managers such as Mendeley, and code and data repositories such as figshare and github. The historian Philip Mirowski even sees a »neoliberal project« in the overall development. With respect to the formation of new players in the market for scientific publishing, Lambert Heller poses the question: how free does academia want its operation system to be?

One does not have to go as far as to describe the development in online publishing as a purely neoliberal project. What is true, however, is that many critical nodes in the digital information infrastructure are already occupied by commercial players. Of course, this is not necessarily a bad thing. However, past experiences, including the unhealthy dependence on publishers such as Elsevier, should make academics take an even more critical stance. In this regard, open access is also a question of who owns the critical information infrastructure for online publishing or—put differently—which parts of its value creation academia wants to outsource this time. If there is a reorganization of the market for scientific publishing, why should academia not play a more prominent role?

Lingua/Glossa as a role model for others?

This is where the case Lingua/Glossa comes into play again. The resignation of Lingua’s editorial board and its reorganization in the to-be-founded journal Glossa could get the ball rolling, and other journals could follow the example.

The outlook for Glossa is good. For the first five years, the journal will be completely free for readers and authors thanks to funding from the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research and the Association of Dutch Universities (btw: the German Research Association also supports the launch of open access journals). According to Rooryck, the article processing charge for golden open access will then be not higher than 400€. If that holds true, the APCs will be reduced significantly compared to the $1,800 at Lingua. The organization of content—from the production of articles, to the peer review, to the publication—remains in the hands of academia. Perhaps equally important is the fact that the former editorial board of Lingua will regroup in the new journal Glossa. One of the biggest issues for new journals is to build up a reputation. At Glossa, the good reputation is there from the outset.

This combination of public funding, low APCs, self-organization and community backing already seems as a promising model for open access. If not a call for rebellion, the Lingua/Glossa case shows at least quite plainly that the negotiations about the costs of access are reopened. It also reminds us that open access means more than just the access to an article; it means rethinking the whole process of publishing. The scientific community now has the chance to (at least to some extent) free itself from its path dependence and to rethink publishing in a digital society. Glossa could lead by example.

Btw, »Lingua« means tongue in Latin. »Glossa« means tongue in ancient Greek. In Glossa’s case, one could say the naming is meant symbolically.

Many thanks to Sascha FriesikeSönke BartlingJonas KaiserJana Schudrowitz, Lies van Roessel and Lorraine Sugar.

Photo: User:Dave Wild / FlickrCC BY-NC 2.0

This post is part of a weekly series of articles by doctoral canditates of the Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society. It does not necessarily represent the view of the Institute itself. For more information about the topics of these articles and asssociated research projects, please contact info|a|hiig.de.

Hinterlassen Sie eine Antwort.

Ihre E-Mail Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

3668196408_1a66cd902d_o

Das Momentum nutzen – Denken wir bei Open Access weit genug?

Letzte Woche trat das Editorial Board der linguistischen Fachzeitschrift Lingua geschlossen zurück. Die Gruppe um den Chefredakteur Johan Rooryck, Sprachwissenschaftler an der Universität Leiden, kündigte an, ein neues Journal unter dem Namen Glossa zu gründen. Rooryck begründet den Rücktritt des Editorial Board damit, dass das Verlagshaus Elsevier, bei dem Lingua erscheint, nicht auf deren Open-Access-Bedingungen eingehen will. Lingua existiert seit 1949 und ist auf Google-Scholar immerhin unter den wichtigsten drei sprachwissenschaftlichen Fachzeitschriftenzu finden.

Der Fall Lingua/Glossa ist interessant, da er Vorbild für andere Fachzeitschriften werden könnte. Er ist außerdem ein guter Anlass, um unser Verständnis von Open Access und wie wir in Zukunft publizieren möchten, zu hinterfragen.  

Die Spannungen um Open Access

Vereinfacht gesagt, bedeutet Open Access, dass der Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Artikeln und anderen Materialien (z. B. Forschungsdaten) im Internet kostenfrei möglich ist.

Die Forderung nach dem freien Zugang zu Artikeln begründet sich darin, dass der wesentliche Teil des Publizierens, etwa die Verschriftlichung und Einreichung eines Artikels, die Auswahl von Artikeln und die Peer-Review, von Wissenschaftlern selbst getragen wird. Die Befürworter von Open Access kritisieren daher (zurecht), dass ein Großteil der, meist steuermittelfinanzierten, Forschung nicht kostenfrei online zugänglich ist. Hinzu kommt, dass die hohen Lizenzgebühren für Fachzeitschriften und Paketdeals den Universitäts- und Forschungsbibliotheken zu schaffen machen (auch hier); Wissenschaftsverlage wie Elsevier, Wiley oder Springer aber seit Jahren auf Kosten der akademischen Wissenschaft stattliche Gewinne einfahren. Der Steuerzahler bezahlt so quasi doppelt: Einmal für die Artikel und einmal dafür, dass die Bibliotheken sich wieder den Zugang zu den Artikeln erkaufen müssen. Die Diskussion um freien Zugang ist verständlicherweise auch eine emotionale.

Die Verlage halten dagegen, dass die Organisation des Peer-Review-Prozesses, die redaktionelle Bearbeitung eines Textes und dessen Veröffentlichung Geld kosten. Zudem erfüllen ihre Fachzeitschriften eine wichtige kuratierende Funktion in einer zunehmend unübersichtlichen Publikationslandschaft. Der neueste Bericht der STM Association zählte mehr als 28.000 peer-reviewed Fachzeitschriften, die jährlich mehr als 2.5 Millionen Artikel veröffentlichen. Der Bericht stellt fest, dass die Anzahl der Artikel seit zwei Jahrhunderten stetig wächst. Für Forscher ist es schwer, in dem Wust an Informationen Qualität zu identifizieren. Etablierte Fachzeitschriften bieten hier eine Orientierung. Auch das ist sicherlich richtig.

Die Forderung nach dem freien Zugang zu Artikeln aus akademischer Forschung ist längst keine ideologische mehr. Forschungsförderer, Forschungsverbünde, Institute und Universitäten haben längst Open-Access-Strategien ausgearbeitet. Das Land Berlin etwa hat letzten Monat eine eigene Open-Access-Strategie  vorgestellt. Österreich will bis 2025 komplett auf Open Access umstellen. Es tut sich was beim akademischen Publizieren. Mit den neuen Online-Distributionswegen für wissenschaftliche Ergebnisse steht die traditionelle Vermittlerfunktion von wissenschaftlichen Verlagen zumindest zur Disposition.

Verständnis von Open Access

Es ist viel dran am Argument, dass Ergebnisse aus öffentlich finanzierter Forschung grundsätzlich jedermann offen stehen sollten. Das beflügelt die Forschung, bereichert die Lehre und entlastet die Bibliotheken. Das Verständnis von Open Access innerhalb der wissenschaftlichen Community ist bisweilen allerdings krude.

Viele Forschende glauben, dass Open-Access-Publikationen per se einen geringeren Stellenwert haben—eine Ansicht, die so natürlich nicht stimmt, von etablierten Verlagen aber gern angeführt wird. Leicht schizophren, bieten etablierte Fachzeitschriften doch selbst häufig das goldene Open-Access-Modell an, bei dem Artikel gegen eine Gebühr, die sogenannte Article Processing Charge, zugänglich gemacht werden. Einige Fachgemeinschaften führen zudem renommierte Working-Paper-Serien, die auf dem grünen Weg, also online und ohne klassische Review, publiziert werden. Die Ansicht, dass Open-Access-Publizieren trotzdem »schlechteres Publizieren« ist, ist der großen Zahl fragwürdiger Open-Access-Zeitschrift geschuldet, die seit einigen Jahren wie Pilze aus dem Boden schießen. Diese »predatory journals« verlangen hohe Publikationsgebühren, ohne die üblichen redaktionellen Leistungen seriöser Fachzeitschriften zu bieten. Artikel dieser Zeitschriften werden in der Community quasi nicht wahrgenommen. Wissenschaftlern, die sich mit dem Thema nicht weiter auseinandergesetzt haben, fällt es allerdings schwer die Spreu vom Weizen zu trennen. Um auf Nummer sicher zu gehen, setzen sie auf altbekannte Verlage.

Beim Blick auf viele Initiativen der Forschungsförderer, Universitäten, Institute und Fachgesellschaften entsteht bisweilen der Eindruck, die Sache wäre mit der Einrichtung von Publikationsfonds getan. Die Fonds dienen dazu, die Gebühren des Veröffentlichens auf dem goldenen Weg zu decken und einzelne Artikel »freizukaufen«. Bei Lingua beträgt diese »Opt-In-Gebühr« übrigens rund 1.600 Euro und ist im Vergleich zu den Gebühren anderen Fachzeitschriften sogar als gering einzustufen. Publikationsfonds sind zwar sinnvoll, um besonders relevante Artikel in relevanten Fachzeitschriften für jedermann zugänglich zu machen; sie allein sind jedoch eine unzureichende Antwort auf die dringende Frage, wie die wissenschaftliche Community den Zugang zu ihren Ergebnissen in der Zukunft am besten gestalten sollte.

Publizieren muss innovativ sein

Mit der Digitalisierung ändert sich die Art und Weise, wie Forschung betrieben und rezipiert wird. Open Access bedeutet auch, sich auf neue Arbeits- und Rezeptionsgewohnheiten im digitalen Zeitalter einzustellen.

Ein anschauliches Beispiel für eine neue, digital-affine Publikationsform sind etwa Mega-Journals wie PLOS ONE. PLOS ONE funktioniert eher wie eine Plattform als eine Zeitschrift. PLOS ONE ist multidisziplinär und hat keine Obergrenze für erscheinende Artikel. Diese werden nach einer grundsätzlichen Prüfung auf wissenschaftliche Güte online gestellt. Die wissenschaftliche Community bewertet im Anschluss einen Artikel vor allem über Zitationen, aber auch über Twitter- und Facebook-Shares. PLOS ONE verfügt zudem über eine weitreichende Richtlinie zur Veröffentlichung von Daten und zeigt, wie häufig diese auf figshare (einem Online-Daten-Archiv) betrachtet worden sind. Obwohl PLOS ONE die Beiträge nicht—wie klassische Journale—nach Relevanz vorsortiert und eher mit artikelbasierten Metriken arbeitet, hat das Journal einen beachtlichen Impact-Factor. Dieses Mega-Journal-Modell probieren mittlerweile auch etablierte Verlagshäuser wie O’Reilly mit PeerJ oder Macmillan mit Scientific Reports.

Mega Journals tragen damit einer Forschung Rechnung, die schnellebiger ist, zunehmend interdisziplinär und deren Impact sich nicht unbedingt vor der Publikation abschätzen lässt. Die abgespeckte Review ermöglicht es Artikel früher als klassische Journals zur Verfügung zu stellen. Wenn man bedenkt, dass die Zeit von der Einreichung bis zur Publikation eines Artikels in einem klassischen Journal gut und gerne mehrere Jahre dauert, darf man sich schon die Frage stellen, ob das noch dem Zeitgeist entspricht. Den Mega-Journals ist zudem gemein, dass sie weniger eine kuratierende, als eine prüfende Funktion erfüllen. Sie erproben neue Wege, um Qualität zu identifizieren. Außerdem sind sie ein Ort für Publikationen geworden, die disziplinär nur schwer zu verorten sind, was mit Hinblick auf eine zunehmend kollaborative und multidisziplinäre Forschung keinesfalls zu verachten ist.

PLOS ONE und die anderen Mega-Journals begreifen Open Access nicht nur als den freien Zugang zu einem Artikel. Sie begreifen Open Access auch als eine Art und Weise, Publikationen online zu organisieren.

Neuordnung des wissenschaftlichen Publizieren?

Der Markt des  wissenschaftlichen Publizierens erlebt derzeit einen ähnlichen Wandel, wie ihn auch andere Industrien durch die Digitalisierung erleb(t)en. Auch das wissenschaftliche Publizieren befindet sich im Wandel.

In der Musikbranche konkurrieren traditionelle Musiklabels mit Streaming-Diensten, auf dem Nachrichtenmarkt konkurrieren Zeitungen mit neuen Online-Portalen und auf dem Buchmarkt konkurrieren die Verlage mit Amazon. In vielen Branchen mit Kreativgütern lässt sich mit der Digitalisierung eine ähnliche Entwicklung beobachten: Etablierte Akteure erfinden sich neu, neue Akteure kommen hinzu und innovationsarme Akteure gehen unter. Auf dem Nachrichtenmarkt experimentieren etwa traditionelle Zeitungen online mit neuen Contentformen, Pay-Walls und Mikrotransaktionen. Neue, digital-affine Journalismus-Modelle wie Krautreporter aber auch Clickbait-Journalismus kommen dazu. Innovationsarme Printmedien sterben aus.

Auf dem Markt für das wissenschaftliche Publizieren sind solche Entwicklungen ebenfalls festzustellen: Traditionelle Verlage reagieren auf die Rufe nach Open Access und bieten mittlerweile auch den goldenen Weg an. Neue Akteure wie PLOS ONE, PeerJ, Scientific Reports, aber auch Repositorien wie figshare oder github kommen hinzu. Nur die »Predatory Journals« scheinen so schnell nicht zu verschwinden (wie übrigens auch der Clickbait-Journalismus). Eine ähnliche Balance zwischen alten und neuen Akteuren, also zwischen etablierten Fachzeitschriften, die ihre Artikel auch online vermarkten, und neuen Publikationsplattformen wie PLOS ONE, ist auch beim Markt für das wissenschaftliche Publizieren zu erwarten.

Blickt man auf die innovativen Akteure beim wissenschaftlichen Publizieren, fällt auf, dass viele einen kommerziellen Hintergrund haben. In einem kürzlich bei irights erschienen Interview wies Lambert Heller vom Open-Science-Lab der Technischen Informationsbibliothek Hannover auf die Marktmacht von Start-Ups und traditionellen Verlagen hin, die clever in die digitale Informationsinfrastruktur investieren. Der Politikwissenschaftler Philip Mirowski erkennt in dieser Entwicklung gar ein »neoliberales Projekt«. In jedem Fall ist Open Access auch ein lukratives Geschäftsmodell, wie die oft hohen Publikationsgebühren beim goldenen Weg zeigen. Mit Bezug auf diese Entwicklung, stellt Heller die berechtigte Frage, wie frei das Betriebssystem der Wissenschaft sein sollte und ob man allein kommerziellen Unternehmen die Verwaltung wissenschaftlicher Inhalte überlassen sollte.

Glossa kann zum Vorbild werden

Der Fall des Rücktritts des Redaktionsteams von Lingua und die Re-Organisation zu Glossa ist gerade vor diesem Hintergrund interessant. Das neue Journal Glossa wird durch öffentliche Förderer wie die niederländische Forschungsgemeinschaft getragen (im Übrigen fördert auch die DFG die Gründung von Open-Access-Journalen). Die Organisation der Inhalte und deren Vermarktung findet somit allein durch die wissenschaftliche Community statt. Rooryck zufolge soll eine Publikation in Glossa nicht mehr als 400 Euro kosten (im Vergleich zu den 1.600 Euro bei Lingua). Wenn sich Roorycks Ankündigung bewahrheitet, reduziert sich durch die Re-Organisation die Publikationsgebühr gegenüber Lingua um ein vielfaches. Ein weiterer Punkt klingt vielversprechend für Glossa: In den neuen Editorial Board gehen renommierte Wissenschaftler, die über Jahre an Redaktionserfahrung und Ansehen in der wissenschaftlichen Community verfügen. Die wahrscheinlich größte Hürde für ein neugegründetes Journal ist es nämlich, Renommé aufzubauen und Qualität sichtbar zu machen. Das Renommé stimmt bei Glossa von Anfang an!

Wir befinden uns an einem kritischen und wahrscheinlich entscheidenden Moment, in dem sich der Markt für das wissenschaftliche Veröffentlichen neusortiert. Der Fall Lingua/Glossa zeigt auch, dass Open Access weitergedacht werden kann als allein der Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Artikeln. Open Access bedeutet auch, die Infrastruktur der wissenschaftlichen Kommunikation im digitalen Zeitalter zu hinterfragen. Warum sollte bei einer neuen Balance zwischen etablierten und neuen Akteure auf dem Markt für das wissenschaftliche Publizieren nicht auch die akademische Wissenschaft selbst eine stärkere Rolle spielen? Die Zeitschrift Glossa könnte in dieser Hinsicht ein Vorbild für andere sein, es ihr nachzutun. Für die wissenschaftliche Community bietet sich die Gelegenheit sich von ihrer Pfadabhängigkeit ein Stück weit zu befreien und über die Bedingungen des Publizierens neu zu verhandeln. Glossa kann man nur viel Erfolg wünschen.

»Lingua« heißt im Übrigen Zunge auf Latein. »Glossa« heißt Zunge auf altgriechisch. Bei Glossa kann man die Namenswahl auch sinnbildlich begreifen.

Danke an Gert Wagner, Sascha Friesike, Sönke Bartling, Jonas Kaiser, Jana Schudrowitz und Lies van Roessel für die wertvollen Kommentare zu dem Artikel.

Foto: User:Dave Wild / FlickrCC BY-NC 2.0

Dieser Beitrag ist Teil der regelmäßig erscheinenden Blogartikel der Doktoranden des Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft. Er spiegelt weder notwendigerweise noch ausschließlich die Meinung des Institutes wieder. Für mehr Informationen zu den Inhalten dieser Beiträge und den assoziierten Forschungsprojekten kontaktieren Sie bitte info|a|hiig.de.

Share

Ein Gedanke zu “Das Momentum nutzen – Denken wir bei Open Access weit genug?

  1. Pingback: Links vom 16.11.2015 bis 04.01.2016 | Offene Wissenschaft

Hinterlassen Sie eine Antwort.

Ihre E-Mail Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht

Du kannst folgende HTML-Tags benutzen: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>