Call for Papers

12 July 2012

Berlin Colloquium for Internet and Society 2012 – 25./26. October 2012

The Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society (HIIG) invites early stage researchers to a colloquium in Berlin. Within transdisciplinary discussion forums, post-docs and Ph.D. candidates are offered the opportunity to discuss and further develop their research in the field of Internet and society with other experts. The focus of the Berlin Colloquium for Internet and Society 2012 are the following topics:

  • • Patterns of Participation
  • • Global Rules and Regulation
  • • Transformation of the Public Sphere
  • • Open Science
  • • Business Models and Internet-enabled Innovation

Apart from intense workshops and presentation rounds with the directors of the Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society, the participants have the opportunity to discuss and further develop the research theses within an Open Space Format in exchange with a broader circle of Internet users and interested people in a practice-oriented approach. It is planned that selected papers will be published after consultation with the authors. The colloquium aims at PhD students and Post-docs, in exceptional cases also at students in their final stages of their Master Thesis, who also deal within the field of Internet and society.

For the application, the following documents are required:

  • • exposé including the intended research (2 pages)
  • • short CV (2 pages)

The official language of the event is German. However, English papers and presentations will also be accepted. The best papers will be selected for a presentation at the colloquium. Further the invited participants are asked to prepare the draft of a poster (A0), which shows the own research. The final posters will be shown and awarded at a poster session. Depending on the submissions further candidates of the applicants will be selected to take part in the discussion. Please send your application and further questions to: kolloquium@hiig.de

Application deadline is August 12th, 2012.

We are looking forward to inspiring days driven by the idea of innovative and interdisciplinary research within the field of Internet and society!

Dieser Beitrag spiegelt die Meinung des Autors und weder notwendigerweise noch ausschließlich die Meinung des Institutes wider. Für mehr Informationen zu den Inhalten dieser Beiträge und den assoziierten Forschungsprojekten kontaktieren Sie bitte info@hiig.de

Weitere Artikel

coworking

Employee empowerment or workers’ control? The use case of enterprise social networks

In the context of the digitization of the workplace, numerous companies are introducing digital platforms that are intended to strengthen employee participation. The implications of social media for the meaning...
fb-constitution

A constitution for social media?

To comply with the impending GDPR rules, social media platforms are asking users to accept their new privacy policies. In light of the recent scandal involving Facebook and Cambridge Analytica,...
dream_g38bukj7r32

Artificial intelligence art – who owns the copyright?

If your pet dog Hans takes a selfie, does he own the copyright? A recent decision by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit (“Ninth Circuit”) is instructive....

Leave a Comment

Kolloquium 2012 – Call for Papers

11 Juli 2012

Berliner Kolloquium für Internet und Gesellschaft 2012 – 25. und 26. Oktober 2012

Das Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG) lädt Nachwuchsforscher_innen zu einem gemeinsamen Kolloquium in Berlin ein. In transdisziplinären Diskussionsrunden können dabei die eigenen Forschungsarbeiten im Themenfeld Internet & Gesellschaft vorgestellt und im engen Austausch mit anderen Experten diskutiert werden. Den Schwerpunkt des Berliner Internet & Gesellschaft Kolloquiums 2012 bilden insbesondere die folgenden Themen:

  • Patterns of Participation
  • Global Rules and Regulation
  • Transformation of the Public Sphere
  • Open Science
  • Business Models and Internet-enabled Innovation

Neben intensiven Workshops und Präsentationsrunden mit den Direktoren des Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft besteht die Möglichkeit, die eigenen Forschungsthesen in einem Open Space Format mit einem breiteren Kreis von Internetnutzern und Interessierten praxisorientiert zu diskutieren. Eine abschließende Veröffentlichung ausgewählter Paper ist nach Rücksprache mit den Autoren geplant. Das Kolloquium richtet sich an Promovierende und PostDocs, in Ausnahmefällen auch an Studierende, die sich in der Abschlussphase ihrer Masterarbeit befinden und sich mit dem Themenfeld Internet und Gesellschaft befassen.

Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme war eine Bewerbung mit folgenden Unterlagen:

  • Exposé mit dem Titel und einer kurzen Beschreibung des Forschungsvorhaben (2 Seiten)
  • Kurzer Lebenslauf (2 Seiten)

Die offizielle Sprache der Veranstaltung ist Deutsch, aber auch englische Paper und Präsentationen wurden angenommen. Aus allen Einsendungen werden die besten Paper für eine Präsentation im Rahmen des Kolloquiums ausgewählt. Außerdem werden die eingeladenen Teilnehmer_innen gebeten, vorab ein Poster (A0) vorzubereiten und in digitaler Form einzusenden, auf dem kurz das eigene Forschungsprojekt dargestellt wird. Die finalen Poster werden bei der Veranstaltung ausgestellt und prämiert. Abhängig von den Einsendungen werden die weiteren Teilnehmer_innen aus dem Kreis der Bewerber_innen ausgewählt und eingeladen, sich an der Diskussion zu beteiligen.

Für weitere Fragen:  kolloquium@hiig.de

Einsendeschluss war der 12. August 2012.

Wir freuen uns auf zwei inspirierende Tage im Zeichen der innovativen, interdisziplinären Forschung im Bereich Internet und Gesellschaft!


Dieser Beitrag spiegelt die Meinung des Autors und weder notwendigerweise noch ausschließlich die Meinung des Institutes wider. Für mehr Informationen zu den Inhalten dieser Beiträge und den assoziierten Forschungsprojekten kontaktieren Sie bitte info@hiig.de

Weitere Artikel

coworking

Enterprise Social Networks: Empowerment oder Kontrolle?

Im Zuge der Digitalisierung des Arbeitsplatzes führen zahlreiche Unternehmen digitale Plattformen ein, die die MitarbeiterInnenbeteiligung stärken sollen. Die Implikationen von Social Media für die Bedeutung von politischem Engagement und Partizipation...
fb-constitution

Eine Verfassung für Social Media?

Um die Vorschriften der bevorstehenden EU-Datenschutz-Grundverordnung (DSGVO) einzuhalten, werden Social-Media-NutzerInnen nun gebeten, die neuen Datenschutzerklärungen zu akzeptieren. Nach dem Datenskandal um Facebook und Cambridge Analytica stellen sich viele UserInnen jedoch...
dream_g38bukj7r32

Künstliche Intelligenz und Copyright

Wenn dein Hund Hans ein Selfie macht, besitzt er dann das Copyright? Eine aktuelle Entscheidung des U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit besagt, dass ein Affe nicht das...

Hinterlassen Sie einen Kommentar